My first week at Steemit - What I learned?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

My first post at Steemit was of me and my friend with Sheesha, it was taken one BBQ night with my friends. I came to know about Steemit by @jerrybanfield , I saw his post on facebook and later realized that many people came to Steemit because of his video. Okay the thing that distinguishes Steemit from other social media is it's nature of involvement of visible money where we know that our addiction to social media can give us money..

So after signing up stuff and alot of wait now it was time to post and get rich! (..with time, I knew it will take time but I didn't knew that I had to work until my eyes go blind to get a single upvote)
All I knew was

1. look around

2. make a post

3. wait for the upvotes and comments to flow

4. take your money

5. buy alot of burgers

after making several attempts on steemit, I was getting quick followers but wasn't getting that much upvotes. I was curious why this was happening so I went to the journey of finding the reasons. I was prepared, my pen and notepad ready, some snacks by my side and my laptop 85% charged in case and after a 2 minutes of struggle and efforts I found out that many posts which are getting upvotes and comments are of either of these of two categories

  1. Bitcoins, their ups and downs or anything about it which can rise the blood pressure of the reader for a moment. try the heading Bitcoins crashed - bye bye cryptocurrency and see the views rising (do it on your own risk cz some might flag you for the mini heart attack you gave them)
  2. Guides and tutorials,
    @jerrybanfield is loved and followed due to his nature of helping people rise high by deep studying things and sharing them.

these were the things I noticed. Now I am doing my electrical engineering currently ("current"-ley :D , you saw what I did there?) and I've been in digital graphics business too (I am right now dealing in Solar Power Systems). So there was alot I could share with people on my experience so I decided that I would work on it.
so I made posts like

Why Money is just a joke

https://steemit.com/money/@iamzainshahbaz/why-money-is-just-a-joke

Why Money is just a joke - 2

https://steemit.com/money/@iamzainshahbaz/why-money-is-just-a-joke-2

What is Bitcoin? How it works?

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@iamzainshahbaz/6hfgvg-what-is-bitcoin-how-it-works-explained

BITCOINS ARE NOT REAL - IS IT GOING TO SURVIVE - some 'Whys' and 'Hows' about Bitcoins every investor should think of...

https://steemit.com/bitcoins/@iamzainshahbaz/bitcoins-are-not-real-is-it-going-to-survive-some-whys-and-hows-about-bitcoins-every-investor-should-think-of
and the most legit one

Bitcoin has a fundamental design flaw - like all bubbles it will POP! - Dont Treat Bitcoin as a Stable Long Term Investment.

https://steemit.com/bitcoins/@iamzainshahbaz/bitcoin-has-a-fundamental-design-flaw-like-all-bubbles-it-will-pop-dont-treat-bitcoin-as-a-stable-long-term-investment

these all posts that took almost 70% of my brain power but I didn't got more than 5 Upvotes max and 2 Upvotes on average.. I thought Okay,

that will take time.. I should be consistent and wait for the time to change.. than while scrolling on the internet I came across some memes.. I collected the best ones and posted them on Steemit as

15 Rich People Problems No One Understand

https://steemit.com/rich/@iamzainshahbaz/15-rich-people-problems-no-one-understands

I didn't expected much from it, the effort I made on previous posts was more than 50% than this one.. but wait, in minutes the Post got 6 upvotes and I made my fucking first $1 post..

I was happy and shocked at the same time
It was not adding up.. what I saw out there and what am I experiencing on my blogs was totally different.. It was a happy moment so I also made a quick video as posted it. Check that out at

My First Dollar at Steemit - Thank you so much

https://steemit.com/dtube/@iamzainshahbaz/uwrdgivz

That was I happy moment and I considered as a coincidence and decided to move on.. I made couple of other posts and this time I did double the research and double the makeup.. like

How to Decide Which Programming Language to Learn - Complete guide to Programming Languages with famous implemented examples

https://steemit.com/programming-languages/@iamzainshahbaz/how-to-decide-which-programming-language-to-learn-complete-guide-to-programming-languages-with-famous-implemented-examples

and

6 Best Free Video editors out there - A Complete guide

https://steemit.com/editors/@iamzainshahbaz/6-best-free-video-editors-out-there-a-complete-guide

NOT A SINGLE UPVOTE... I said to my self : Okay no problem, I might not getting much views, I need to figure out the way to share my blogs to more places to get the viewers
I want to mention here that I watch "Family guy" too much, its my favorite show so I decided to post some jokes from that show and I did exactly that.. Again I didn't expected that much from it.. So I posted it as

15 Family Guy Jokes can make you Laughing out loud


https://steemit.com/funny/@iamzainshahbaz/15-family-guy-jokes-can-make-you-laughing-out-loud

AND IN 5 MINUTES, FUCKING FIVE MINUTES I GOT 4 UPVOTES ON THAT

I slaped myself 3 times and watched the upvotes again if I am dreaming or something...
these people don't want me to work hard and post only jokes and memes??
I fucked my own ass reading and researching on those tutorial and guide content and no one gives a shittt,,
Okay I got it..

Lesson learned

Now this is my routine these days

1. wake up

2. Check Steemit

3. post something important

4. witnessing less upvotes

5. posting a meme

6. witnessing flowing upvotes

download.jpg

7. Watch Family guy

8. Sleep

and cycle continous every day..

I don't know how this will go further but I will keep playing my part in this society by sharing the stuff that may or may not be usefull for you and ofcorse give you some extra funny meme to keep my account moving (I think I am good at it)..

Well.. I hope you learn something from me.. Just recognize in what you are best at and people want to see ...

thats all for my first week at Steemit.. I am off to watch Family guy

asdfasdfsdf.jpg

U5duHYTny6g75Dg8YDQjSmZRjLEfJAP.gif

Sort:  

Awesome observation more more

you also have the same story?

@jerrybanfield has posts detailing how to make a good following that results in rewards. But patience is a virtue in any case.

Jerry Banfield aslo has 47000 steem power, which means in addition to followers there for his content, (which is good) there will be a lot of other people flock around him just hoping for a weighty upvote.

you are right...
its hard to find real when money is involved...

Okay I'll check that out..
but as I mentioned what I observed and what I experienced is totally different...
but however, its just a start

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68526.92
ETH 3726.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73