Discussing Bots: Are They Good Or Bad For The Steemit Community?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Watch On DTube

The Great Divide

If you are familiar with bots then you are probably also familiar with the back and forth debates about them as well. Honestly I agree with points from both sides of the bot fence. There are those who say bots are harmful and those who say they should remain. But like I said I agree with some of the arguments from both sides. This discussion is obviously one that can be highly controversial but my intent with this video is to simply share my opinion about them. I have no hard feelings for those against bots and I have nothing against those who are adamant about them staying around. It's simply a community conversation piece. 

I want Steemit and all the other steem based apps to do well. Most of us do I believe. I hope we as a community can work out our differences about the bots and hopefully come to a solution and consensus about this topic. If you have any suggestions on how bots can help the community please share your thoughts. Also if you have suggestions on getting rid of bots or seeing Steemit less ruled by bots then go ahead and talk to me about it as I would love to hear your thoughts. Much love to everybody.

How do you feel about the use of bots?

Have you joined the OneLoveDtube discord group HERE?

Image 1


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@humanearl,
The most important thing of this discussion you didn't take a side and it's like a review from an independent party! But personally I will remain at the side of "The Community Needs Bots"!
Coz a lot of whales are greedy and won't share their small volume of income with minnows!

Cheers~

I tried my best to share both perspectives. I think bots can help for sure. But I just disagree with the abuse of them.

It's a complicated discussion, for sure. They do help some people. They also highly benefit others. If I had the technical skills to set one up, I would have a hard time saying no to it. After all, you can make a lot of money doing it. Doesn't mean you have to keep it all, you can give back to the community too, but there's a lot of money to be made with them.

You can make some serious dough by running a bot. But yea you have to have the know how first. I looked into running my own before but man I'm so lost. I said pass. But you never know though.

Some bots do have blacklists so there is already some regulation.

Some. I just hate how nasty these bot wars have gotten. It's gotten out of hand.

@humanearl, Yep..That's seriously controversial conversation. Someone agree with bots activities and someone disagree with bots tasks. But my opinion is bots help some people to growing up their reputation and earn rewards. Bots technically set up, so bot don't see what's trending comments as mentioned every post. I've got bots vote and it more helpful my teen age in steemit journey before 04 months. Those days those vote more valuable and more powerful to my mind. Also I used promo bots already. I know have some problems with bots usage. But I don't mind it.

I have used them too. I think it helps a ton of people for various reasons but I also understand people who are against them as well. So idk. Hopefully this will all be sorted out in a much more beneficial way for everyone.

That's a tough thing to decide though. But everybody has opinion and we all should respect other's opinion.
Using bots up to a limit is a good thing in my opinion as it will motivate and encourage the minnows but using on such a large scale that humans will become barely visible is a matter of concern.

Yea I'm totally not with the abuse of them as in using bots on every post.

i never tried them yet but seems like it has some great disadvantages too if used in a wrong way

Yea you're right. They have to be used well. But then again most people have no clue about how to use them in the best way that is not abusive.

That would be best needed to talking discussion. For me bots are not great task do in steemit platform. I have seen bots voted some un-valuable comment over $1 value. It's not better to blockchain. Also someone used bit-bots increase their worth of post and increase their reputation. That's not best again. But someone disagree with me. I tell only my vision. Thanks.

I believe bots should be used on content that is truly helpful to people. That's my take on it.

@humanearl - Sir bots are not always useful... If Steem rise, bots are useful... You get most votes from DTube is a bot account too Sir... But it's rewarding good contents...

+W+

Yepp you're right on that. When the price goes up then you can benefit but you will lose money if the price goes down. I love the Dtube upvotes. I'm thankful for that but that's different because you don;t have to pay to get a DTube upvote unlike the coting bots.

I think that bots really can be useful. If you do not have time to do something on social networks, and you definitely need to do it, you can trust this bot. Although nothing will replace the human factor, I think that everyone agrees with this.

You have a good point.

To me, bots are not all that good but am not against it. People bid for bots upvote and seems its the only way to make the post visible. Some persons uses over 15 bots on a post that doesn't worth $1 and abuses it.

Exactly. Using bots all the time on every post is what I consider abuse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66899.66
ETH 3464.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80