STEEMIT HELP - Don't POST NOW!!! It's the wrong TIME..

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Looking at charts provided by http://catchawhale.com/ you can see visually the best time to Post your content, and if you reading this soon after I've posted this, now is not the time.

Quote from http://catchawhale.com/ -

Potential chance of currently catching a whale is low to mid level (The Whales could be close by but currently rarely seen.)

In fact, now is generally the worst time!! Here are charts from the past 2 days with GMT as the time scale...

The best time to post your content appears to be 6pm (GMT). This is because, with the payout cycle now being 12hrs, this gives you the longest period of time, with high levels of 'Whale' activity.

By all means, your content can still get noticed anytime of day, but posting around 6pm onwards gives you the best possible chance of being noticed by a user with lots of voting power, and many other users...

In addition to the above, looking at the top trending list, the closest article to have been posted to 'now' (time) is 6 hours ago...

Sort:  

Really useful information. People should post when it suits them.

The system is flawed if people need to post within a given timeframe to get upvotes. A feed-frenzy of posts at the 'optimal' time would make the platform a nightmare to visit.

It's for founders, whales and dophins to rectify this by ensuring we seek out and vote on all quality content, regardless of when it was posted. IT's in everyone's interest to do this and make this platform as global and inclusive as possible.

Quiet Right @nanzo-scoop Completely agree.

I would say that your vision will happen with time, (hopefully very soon) however with only 33,000 users currently, and these users concentrated in the US, I think this is something to bear in mind for the time being. I want new users to get noticed, and this gives them the best chance for now. It's clearly up to people like me and you to build up their voting power to readdress this imbalance as quickly as possible.

I will be sure to follow your content from now on. Thanks for the post

i post whenever i want to. i dont care if a post sometimes only makes Cents. that's fine with me !

on the other hand, it would be great if we could write posts and keep them as drafts, as i would like to write a couple and than post them later...

@knozaki2015 That is a good idea. You should do send @ned or @dan a slack message with the suggestion...

I usually draft my posts in an editor (I use macdown), then paste here when ready.

I think only checking the amounts of up votes is not reliable. There is a big chance that the amount of posts per time unit is moving paralel (because it is probably based on the amount of people online, and they are posting and up voting as well). When the amount of up votes is higher and the amounts of posts too, the final up votes per posts remains the same.

So you should add a graph with the amount of posts and divide the up votes by posts, then you have a clear view when it is the best timing.

But anyway it is an interesting investigation,

Upvote!

@michiel Certainly True, and I will go away and look for this. I think my general point is, there are not many users with the power to put you content to the top of the list, currently online. There are article at the top of the list, which were posted when Whales were online, and upvoting. There are also, as you rightly pointed out, less users online, and thus less competition to compete with.

I've personally found 4pm-6pm (GMT) the best time to post, however without looking into actually numbers, I already know America are Steemit's biggest user base, and 6pm (GMT) onwards is Morning/Early Afternoon in America...So you point is correct.

Thanks. I also thought timing matters but sometimes i just want to post whenever i feel like. Now, I'm also wondering if many post at the say 1800h GMT, my post will also be fighting will so many and the best time effect may also somewhat negated unless u are a celebrity/whale. :-)

@ace108 Completely valid point. Maybe worth going at a slightly earlier time when competition is slightly lower, and Whale count is increasing moving forward. I think it is important more for new users, who don't have any followers of their content, to post when there are maximum eyes on the screen. Generally, I have found posting late afternoon/early evening to be the best time, however accept this is not a fool proof plan.

Good article, but why it has a #cn tag? #cn is for Chinese posts.
Your post would be downvoted if the tags are not correct.

My thinking was that there are alot of new users in the #cn tag, and many of those users speak english. I thought any educational piece would be worthwhile tagging in #cn. If you believe this to be an incorrect practice, reply to me and I will happily remove it.

I don't have much time for people incorrectly tagging posts either, so if you say this is wrong, I will not continue to tag such posts in #cn

In fact @abit I can see it's questionable. I have removed it, and won't continue to do so..

Looking at the tool, some information which may be helpful:

  • You do not mention which timezone the charts are for
  • What does the whale catching score actually mean? (Is it a percentage?)

I mentioned twice GMT (Greenwhich Mean Time), however I believe the website may update time zone when you load it...You can see the first chart shows 9am, which was the time when I took the screen shot in London.

The number on the vertical axis is amount of Upvotes Whales have done against Horizonal axis, Time...

I mean the whale catching score on the site itself

I will look into it. I believe it is some function of;

Total Steem Power Held
Their Voting Power

But I will get back to you...

Thank you, that is a very useful tool!

No problem @nenad-ristic It's all based around the US time at the moment. This will change over time as the user base spreads throughout the world...

While nice, those chars tell little about when to post. Could you make a chart where X-axis shows when the an article/comment is posted, instead of when the vote was cast? That would provide more useful information.

@idealist, I will look into this..

(GMT)

am i crazy or is that information nowhere on the site.

I'm pretty sure the time adapts to your location. I was just emphasising that I was talking in GMT and my Charts are in GMT... :)

Good job man, helping is noble , thank you

Thank you for reviewing! A little insight.

Your welcome @always1success Worth bearing these things in mind...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02