[catchawhale.com] Steemit Tool that uses the power of activity analytics to potentially get you more upvotes from Whales!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

http://catchawhale.com

The Script bases itself on the Top 60 Steemit Active Users (better known as 'Whales'). It analyses the amount of posts within past hour (pwh) and the weight of that Whales potential up vote power. realup = (Vesting Shares*(Voting Power/100))

  • Script excludes whales that don't upvote

The Script then determines potential chance of catching a Whale (Getting an Upvote) for the upcoming 5 minutes.

The Script outputs a number (Whale Catching Score) which starts at 0 (no activity) and increases depending on, you guessed it, Whale activity. wcs = realup * (1+(pwh/10));

  • wcs is still in 'Beta' or 'pre analytics version 1' as I call it. Essentially I need to figure out the right formula or even a combination of formulas that will give the best representation of the data.

Most of the data that is pulled and organized from steem is displayed on the page and using this data proves very helpful when determining when best to post!

Enjoy & feedback is more then welcome.
Blue

> Ps. Please Take a Moment to UpVote My Recent Post. Don't Let A Beautiful Opportunity Pass Us By!
Post is here: https://steem.ly/stjudePost !
Thank You!

Sort:  

Sweet! Do you think most of the whales are using bots to vote for them? Or do you think they do it manually? I just put up a great post but no whales or even dolphins yet. I just made a post about this. Please consider upvoting me. I just upvoted you! https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/linux-distributions-aren-t-confusing-but-crypto-forks-are-why-is-that

I think that you are not right accusing every whale for botting.
Im sure 90% of whales got it to their stage thanks to their brain: they were doing hard work to get here right?

And you are saying like magically they just went whale without any effort made? Or money invested?

I dont like people who are saying that whales are bad just because they are big here.do your shit , work hard and maybe one day you will get on their level.

Whales got to be whales by buying in early. It's easy to hold 100k of something when it's less than a penny. @stellabelle is the only exception that I know of and she's more of a dolphin really.

whales are using bots

I think when I get a solid amount of data from my tool I will have some great insight into this question.

I like the idea behind this, but I also want to say that for most of us, we shouldn't be focused on "chasing that whale," but rather on consistent informative articles and postings, or other creative content. This to me would be the best way to catch a whale; maybe it sees a bunch of minnows in one spot and comes over for a look.

I agree. "consistent informative articles and postings, or other creative content" is defiantly the way to go and should be the goal of every blogger. However knowing the right time to post your great article can really help get it noticed by those whales ;). I am personal extremely interested in the analytics and will be getting those up by next week

Wow! This tool is awesome! I can't even make it justice!

It says 0 upvote in the last hour but it also says he vote 33 minutes ago. What does it mean?

@steemed Last Upvote: Monday, Jul 25, 2016 7:07 PM (33 minutes ago)
WCS: 0 | 0 Upvote(s) within past hour

Thanks I'll look into this! Could be a bug ;)

Everything looks good to me hmm, displays 1 Upvote

I completely agree, creating awesome content and knowing when to post said content are NOT mutually exclusive. Passion for the content is important, that said a proper launch is really, really, really important. Ask any business owner. Timing is everything. Thanks so much for the post and creating this tool. I was really hoping someone would!!!

This is a great tool!
I want to try this out, not because I want to be noticed by the whales. I'm actually conceptualizing something for another design that I will make for #steem and would really love to see the analytics on when people are mostly active here :)

Very Good Point.

Yes you are on point Sir

I agree, I also feel that it's logical most users will do this. I think some things will need to change, especially how much SP whales earn for curating. I mean we shouldn't discourage curation at any level but sometimes it's clearly a "the rich get richer" situation.

Whale <3

I would agree with you if curation rewards were paid after the first payout. Right now, the inventives are stacked against whales looking for older articles that were "missed" on their first payday; you can write good stuff for a long time and suffer a decent chance that you never get paid for it if you don't get whale attention early on.

Have to agree - consistent, quality content over relying on whales is the way to go - sooner or later if your posts are informative and a great addition to SteemIt you will be rewarded - power is in the numbers, in that case Steemians - it might not happen over night, but sooner or later we could all get a chance.

PS. That domain is just to catchy to not upvote this post :) - to bad RideAWhale.com isn't available anymore :D

https://steemit.com/steemit/@minion/youtube-vs-steemit-enemies-or-siblings

[IMPORTANT] This post covers the Similarity between YouTube and Steemit as well on How to use Steemit and It's OFFICIAL CONTENT RULES.

I completely agree @streetstyle .
Ideally @blueorgy, if i am not mistaken, in order to increase your chances of "catching a whale" one would need to keep firing away at the prime directive. That is to generate new, genuine content while simultaneously aiming to do so in a way that brings value to yourself and others in SteemEcosystem, or winning a whale over by providing content or a solution that specifically caters to a whale's interests and investments. Timing is important, but generating genuine value would increase your chances much more I would think.

Things often do get buried and even with 100's of votes can't manage any traction

Exactly the point of my #minnowcodeofconduct post. Focus on the value not on the whale. That said it may be difficult for minnows to school if no whale is present. Wonder what the best performing post (upvote count) that DID NOT get a top-500 user was.

I agree with streetstyle, in that I like the concept but also want it to work out with just posting good content consistently and hoping for the best. I hope I'm not being naive.

Wow I missed that one, this is amazing. Great job!

Thanks man! I will be adding a ton of functionality and analytics to the site soon. I will also be making some very cool info graphics based on my findings , do you mind If I use some of your data ? I will reference you and your posts of course! More data the better

You can use my data of course! Can't wait to see the new version.

Speaking of whales, which ones are powering down? Found out with my new #steemapp SteemDown. https://steemit.com/steem/@bitcoiner/steemdown-com-which-whales-are-powering-down

@bitcoiner

To catch a Whale: Blueorgy edition

while this post is trying to catch a whale, all its caught is 225 tiny bacteria

I actually posted this while my app told me I had a low chance to catch one ;) thought to myself, why not! Also Whales aren't out to catch a Whale, you guys are! Good Luck!

Ok, seem like you did caught a whale, lol, congrat

Ok, now this is something we should add on the steemtools! go and request to be added!

I'm happy that people are getting inspired by Steemit to create but I'm more happy that over the past week the user-base is spending more and more time here taking part in the comment section of submissions.

Haha, this is awesome. Clever and funny, both. Perhaps you can track history and work out trends when whales are most active across time of day and day of week?

Already ahead of you ;) will collect a week or so of data then get some good analytics to share right on the site

Nice! Looking forward to it. Disappointed but not surprised to see no whales voting for this thread.

Well... my app did tell me not to post ;)
Potential chance of currently catching a whale is low (Consider waiting a while longer for more Whale activity!)

Haha. Perhaps you should have trusted your app. ;)

Really feel helpless, I think your post deserves to be trending! It's not just useful, but made me laugh.

Ill put it to the test, when it says a high chance and ill get back to you ;)

nice one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43