400+ followers, 1000 posts, What I Learned On Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Three months on Steemit this is how I feel about it.
It all started a few months ago when my friends @theywillkillyou and @world5list told me about the platform, they are both you tubers and live as digital nomads, I myself travelled for four years and was always telling them I would love to travel more. They told me Steemit was a great platform for sharing my stories and maybe make some money doing so. Today I reached my 1000th post, time for a small recap.
Here is my list about what I like and dislike on the platform

Steemit posts.png

Work and Steemit no match
I love finding new travel minded people on Steemit and try to read as much as I can in order to get inspired. Especially all the people that travel give me energy to work hard so I can get on the road again myself.
I even wrote a blog about my favorite travelers on the platform, and still finding more great blogs every day.
https://steemit.com/travel/@heyitshaas/my-travel-dream-team-introduction

the main reason it’s hard for me to stay active and post relevant content is that I work long days and therefore can’t put in the work I would like to. So if you expect your account to do great make sure you have the time, even though I still believe that my account can generate some small money to use for a nice trip to blog about.

Not handy enough
Soon I will look into making my blog more attractive for my followers. I am very impressed by some of the people I follow, they always make their posts super nice and therefore great to read.
So I do apologize for the lack of creative moving images but believe that my posts are still worth the time because of the topics

Just look at how nice the posts off @joythewanderer are.
https://steemit.com/kr/@joythewanderer/folklorissimo-2017-ft-korean-giant-bibimbap-and-cultural-events-2017

Don’t follow for follow
Biggest dislike on Steemit is people that follow for follow, how can you follow several thousands of accounts, are you sure you like them all? I really don’t know what people brings to the platform.
What I like best is that there are many people that make this platform great they really add something.
So please don’t ask to be followed make your content the reason people would like to follow you.

Steemit posts 2.png

People don’t upvote
Myself I follow 39 people, so everytime I open my account and look at my feed I see content by like mined people. Hopefully as mentioned one day I can earn just a bit of money on steemit but for now all I do is create and upvote. All the people I follow get upvotes when I like there post. There are even people I upvote everytime because I love the work the put in.

I notice that a lot of people only try to make money and hardly ever upvote. Isn’t the purpose of Steemit to reward nice content? So make sure to upvote and help people to build their accounts.

Steemit posts 3.png

People quit fast
A other problem on the platform is that people think they can make easy money and if they don’t they quit very fast.
Maybe because people dont upvote that fast or just because they are disappointed with the reward they get on the work they put in.
I am here to stay and strongly believe that if you are genuine on this platform you will do fine.
Even I follow some people with great stories that just seems like they quit.
@aperezvoyages @freelancestories @pausetoroam you have great stories to tell don’t give up!

Steemit posts 4.png

Genuine interest
Steemit has so many great people blogging, people with genuine interest in helping people and sharing great stories.
So even though my first three months here are bumpy I won’t give up and look forward to the growth of the platform and the people I can and will still meet here.

Conclusion
put in time
don’t expect miracles to happen overnight
follow the people you want to follow
upvote content you like
stick to your own unique content

Happy blogging everybody! And thanks to the people that I met so far and on your great stories.
And to the new Steemers hope you find this post helpful on finding your way here.

And thanks again that upvoted for Sint Maarten, donated yesterday!
https://steemit.com/travel/@heyitshaas/eur-100-donation-for-sint-maarten-thanks-to-your-support

Sort:  

I agree with your post require patience, dedication, happyness and passion.

love your posts, travel minded! keep up the good work yourself to, fun blog name to

Thanks a lot man for your reply as well as your useful post

Hey @heyitshaas, your post really helped me a lot. I just started last week with building my travel and adventure blog and it's very helpful to hear your story. I think I have a lot to tell about my 4 times working at a wildlife farm in Africa and living as backpacker, but you never know...

As you said: maybe people don't upvote or just follow me because they want me to follow back. I will try not to become too upset too early but to give this concept a chance - and time.
Cheers from Cologne to Amsterdam :)

Really liked your introduction post, upvoted, decided to follow, keep them coming! fellow taveller would love to see more strories

Well done Hass. I agree with everything you wrote. I came here to create content, put out my info, and I'm glad you and others enjoy it. Like you I have leaned a lot since joining, part of that is to be more of a team player and I see you as part of my team, to support my teamates the least I can do is up-vote and read their content. So I'm stopping by to do just that! Again, great post, and you have a great attitude for success on this platform. Congratulations on 400+ followers.- Dan

Thanks my friend, upvoted your new posts just now. Love it that you decided you are here to sray, i still believe in a year or less we build strong accounts and can have some more output. Be safe and enjoy your travels, working 50-60 hours a week now to save to travel again, want to start an new adventure in a few months

Nice. I'm happy you have a plan and are looking to do some traveling. That's awesome. Agreed a year from now, things will only be better on here for. I think we joined right around the same time.

Lets see, hope i can stay interesting on the platform, need to travel more in order to have the stories ready

I think you're doing great. But I do know what you mean!

@heyitshaas Thank you for the post. I just joined yesterday based on my good friend @hardikv recommendation. I have been a food and travel blogger for a while now and steemit definitely seems like a platform where you get tangible value for your blogs.

Writing about food is a passion for me, and I do not do it for any monetary benefits. But if there is a way to benefit from this, why not :)

Meeting like minded people and reading high quality content not only enriches the mind, but also helps improve one's own talents.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts.

--

@baconbaba
Foodie. Carnovire. Couch Potato.

--

Website: https://baconbaba.com
Instagram: https://instagram.com/baconbaba
Twitter: https://twitter.com/thebaconbaba
Facebook: https://facebook.com/thebaconbaba
Zomato: https://www.zomato.com/rahulthegreatest

--

Thanks, welcome to the platform! will keep an eye out for your post

keep it on! ;)

great achievements his friend. congratulations..

Thanks, will continue with posting about travel and Amsterdam

Thanks for sharing your experience of Steemit! Although I just started and haven't even found a theme for my page, I found your post very helpful and motivating for my future on this platform. Thanksss!

you are welcome, goodluck and enjoy the platform ,let me know what theme you will write about, will keep an eye out for your post

Thanks! We'll see what my page molds to become.👍🏻👍🏻

Phew, @heyitshaas, I got in under the 7 day barrier (just) at least to resteem you post! I don't think the upvote worked, though.

Appreciated your observations on Steemit. I agree with you on the PFM spammers. I hope you manage to get to a stage when you can work less hours and have more downtime (that includes NOT spending time on Steemit ;-)).

haha dont worry about me, Steemit i really enoy and enjoy posting.
I travelled for four years, loved it, so dont mind to work hard here in Amsterdam for my next move. thanks for reading

Wow, I think a lot of people on Steemit would love to know how you travelled for four years. For young South Africans, getting into cruise liner work is a great option. Cheers!

I was woking with a lot off South Africans, was much fun, when i first joined Steemit I blogged about woh to travel for so long and how to get a job on Cruiseships. maybe i will write a follow up, because when i wrote those poste i had hardly any followers

@heyitshass Thank you for this post. I’ve only been on Steemit for a few days, and I found your advice to be helpful. I have a habit of pretty much automatically following back people who follow me as a “thanks”. But as you said, it’s the quality of their content I should be concerned about. However, I often discover some really interesting stuff when I follow people whose content I am not familiar with. Sometimes I even learn something new. I don’t have any posts yet in the blog, but I plan on putting something out on a regular basis once I figure out what people may be interested in. It’s also frustrating to not be able to embed images directly in the posts. I guess that’s because of server limitations. That’s understandable, as Steemit is still in Beta. Thank you again for sharing your experience and giving great advice!

Your welcome! have fun on the platform ,hope you enjoy it. make sure to intoduce yourself with a blog with the right tags, will keep an eye out

This was awesome thankyou for sharing ! I've had similar trials and tribulations on here in the past month and a half but I do really enjoy it here :)

looked at your blog looks fun! enoy it here! will keep an eye out for your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66057.55
ETH 2576.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65