2000 Followers... YEAH or NOT YEAH?

in #steemit7 years ago

Today I realized that I passed a so-called milestone: 2000 followers. Usually, like it's the case for so many Steemians, i should celebrate profusely but the fact is that I was not in the mood, because let's be honest... There is only a very tiny fraction of those 2000 who have recently opened my article, read them, let alone clicked on the upvote button, and so on. Those past three months, my posts barely reach double digit upvotes. And I'm pretty sure this one won't break the sky either. 

But don't get me wrong: I'm not bitter or sad, because it's never really been my plan either to have the highest number possible of followers. Also, I have not been publishing with the same rythm as last year, when I used to post daily. And considering the huge increase of users we have had lately, it's not surprise that my posts gets a bit drowned into the mass. 

                    

That's why i'm pretty sure that 95% of those two thousands can't really remember clicking on Following and did it purely out of habit, politeness for a nice comment, curiousness about what would come next or repetition. 

Fair enough. We all do! Me too. Which made me look at my own "following" number, which is slowly but surely ballooning towards the 1300s!

And there, there is definitely something on which I have power... Let me explain.

                                 

I spent most of 2017 publishing, publishing, publishing again and investing as much time and effort as possible into my account in order to make it grow. I managed to make a nice amount of Steem, transferred it on the market, played on the exchanges, won and lost, and I have now a little cash reserve of Bitcoins and altcoins which I intend to stash away.

However I was not brazen enough as to sell all my Steem, and since Christmas after pondering what I could do with my left-overs Steems, I decided that the best thing was simply to repatriate them into my Steem account, power them up and treat as many people as possible with the increased Steem Power which was conferred to me thanks to that transfer. 

But there was a catch: with (relative) big Steem power comes big responsibility... I just didn't see who to upvote anymore... I don't know if that happens as well for you, but due to the numbers of users currently on Steemit, and the haphazard quality of the articles you can find, I really didn't know WHO or WHAT to upvote anymore. So, lately, 75% of my upvotes go to new users and introduction post. 

So, to cut a long story short, I realized that the only sensible solution was to start a good old-fashioned diet and to prunce the numbers of people I was following in order to make my Feed more manageable and to keep in contact with the people about who I care. 

So, I was wondering if anyone here had the same idea and have you applied it successfully to your account? Since Steemit has not yet found a way to design and offer a more user-friendly and manageable main page, I guess this is what we have to do in order to stay ahead of the deluge of lazy posts and copy-paste which constitute  half of the feed right now.

Of course, I'm going to start by Unfollowing most of the users who have not published anything in the last... let's say... 2 months. That's the easiest target and probably the biggest haul, because I imagine a lot of people simply abandonned Steemit, or lost their password or moved on to fresher pastures. 

                                                                          

But for the rest... How would you proceed? Have you trimmed your Following list already? How did it feel? Did it help with your access to fresh and authentic content  about relevant topics? Or are you just happy to let it grow and grow without control?

Sort:  

I know one quite nice app, where you can find out how many you have "dead followers" and "ghost followers". Also who's give you upvote and its power. http://www.steemspectacles.com/ I hope it'll help you somehow :)

Oooooh thank you very much! That sounds like sthg which will save me hours! :) Much appreciated!

No problem, so pleased to have helped You :)

I'm waiting for "communities" before I spend any time pruning. I'm hoping that will sort everything out.

I have the additional issue that I post on very different things which interest (or not!) different groups. So I probably just annoy half my followers with each article. Any kind of filtering improvements can't come fast enough!

Must be a hell of a development to be so slowly in coming! We'll see...

But for the rest... How would you proceed? Have you trimmed your Following list already? How did it feel? Did it help with your access to fresh and authentic content about relevant topics? Or are you just happy to let it grow and grow without control?

When I joined Steemit in 2017 I made the same mistake all newbies do - followed everybody. Sometime later I became more selective.
But as a reminder of the mistake at the beginning - now I have a huge and variegated feed. I would like to shrink it and to leave only authors I'm interested in. But it is really time-consuming and inconvenient to perform.

Yeah... I just started and could not even finish the letter "A" ^^ At this rhythm, i guess it will take me months! haha

I'm just starting to build a following, haven;t thought about trimming the accounts I follow yet lol I probably should unfollow some accounts that haven;t posted in a long time, but it's time consuming to go do that so for now I'll probably leave it as it is lol

Whoa, 1300 follower is a lot. I would even feel overwhelmed with like..100 I guess?
I don‘t have any tipps though, but at least I can promise that having a small amount of followings really helps with finding high quality content.

My plan is to focus on the best quality content of course. For the time being, I'll try to cut off all the people I follow and who have not published for the last 3 months at least... We'll see how it goes :)

And I'm pretty sure this one won't break the sky either.

How much is "the sky"?

You are already in double digits!

Thanks to you I presume! :)

Have you trimmed your Following list already?

I have decided from the start that I will never follow more than 50 Steemians.
As I am now at exactly 50, each time I add a new Steemian to follow, I have to drop one.

You are still in my list of 50, so you better behave or else ... 😈

haha much appreciated! :) I'll do my best to justify the confidence :)

Its important to cull the people you follow every once in a while, or otherwise manual curation doesnt make sense as your votes will be spread too thinly and it will take you all day to trawl through your feed!

As for followers, this number really means very little. I've noticed that even accounts with 1000s of followers get comparatively few actual views. As a metric, it is a bit of vanity!

Exact, I want to be able to curate a bit more efficiently and not to forget content with real value.

Hi, I am new on Steemit, and I came to connect with people who are writing about topics that seem interested to me. I am really surprised seeing that some people are asking for upvotes and following in return ( I said am new here, lol) , but they actually don't even follow. That is so rude..and kind of pathetic.
I believe that one can have good quality page only if he cares what he writes about, and also only if he pay attention on what really interests him. I might be rude not returning the upvotes every time, but also, I am generous to authors of posts that I truly find interesting, and I don't ask anyone to return the favour. True upvotes give us directions.
The point is: I am going to try to revise my following list every now and then, if I notice that my connections are not posting what I find interesting. Why feel guilty? They will find their followers on some other side, anyway

Yeah, it's a good idea to keep an eye on your follower list frequently, because if not it can grow and become unmanageable like mine. I'm already down below 900 (from 1250!) and the good thing is that it enabled me to re-discover some people I could barely see in my Feed anymore :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59