How To Write A Quality Steemit Post

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

It's time for me to switch things up. I know a lot of the new users to Steemit are trying to figure out how to make it to the top of that trending page. That winning spot that gives others a twinge of jealousy. I want to give you all some tips and things to think about when you write a post. These are things I've learned from my time majoring in English at Purdue University and I think they can be applied to any subject matter you choose to write about.

I'm not saying that the content being posted on Steemit is subpar, but it's always good to try and improve yourself and thus the platform itself- especially since this improvement could drastically boost your bank account ;)

1. Take Your Time

I spend an average of 3 or more hours planning out and typing up my posts. Most of the time I have a general idea what I want to write about, usually it's a crazy thing that happened, a realization that changed my perspective, or education about a specific topic. It's good to explore your thoughts and challenge yourself to get critical about how or why things have happened, and most importantly: you need to convey how it affected you and what you plan on doing about it.

2. Write It All Out

Rarely, if ever, do I write a post without editing it. I write everything that comes to mind. Most of it is NOT what I want to say, but when I get a good train of thought going I find that I stumble upon a great thought or phrasing that pleases me and I do my best to expand on that thought. Expand, expand, expand. Write it all out. Then you can easily go back and take out unnecessary words, repetitive phrases and pointless statements. Hint: the word "that" is usually not needed

3.Organize it

You need to figure out what you want to accomplish with the post and stick with it the whole way through. This will keep your writing focused and prevent it from trailing off topic which can be confusing for readers and make them feel like they're wasting their time by reading it.
I begin with a general timeline, since I like to write about my own travel experiences, this type of organization makes the most sense. I think about the events leading up to the occasion, the thing that happened, then how I reacted and felt about it. I like to make comparisons whenever possible. They help the reader better understand what I'm talking about and it can give them a better visual, so they feel like they have experienced it also.

If you aren't writing about travel or telling a story, these are two other ways to organize your writing- specifically if you're writing about a technical subject. You can either begin with the Big Picture and go further into detail with the specifics, this gives the reader a heads up on what they will be learning about. Or you can write it in a crescendo type fashion and begin with the smaller details and tie them all together at the end by linking them into the Big Picture. This gives your reader a sense of deeper understanding on how everything is connected that way.

4. Use A Language That's Relatable Yet Knowledgeable

Try to have a slightly casual tone with your writing. You want your readers to feel comfortable reading the material, you don't want them to struggle to understand what you're trying to say because your writing makes you sound like a robot. It's great to write in a way that conveys your own personality. You can do this by including phrases you often use everyday. It's also good to practice recognizing how your inner voice sounds when you talk to yourself. If you can tap into that and convey it in the right way it's a great way for your readers to feel connected to you and they'll be more invested and interested in reading the entirety of your post. Also, I try to be as descriptive as possible. I choose one or two things to really describe in detail, not every single thing but a few key details will really bring your reader closer to your writing. They'll feel more connected and interested.

5. Be Your Own Harshest Critic

Again, be very critical of your writing. Really think about what you are trying to say and if you're using the absolute best phrasing. I like to go over my writing and think of different ways to organize the words to form shorter, more to the point sentences. No one likes to read material that's really wordy, it's boring and ultimately you'll lose the readers focus. On a platform where content is king, keeping your readers attention should be first on your list. You should have a clear and concise objective to your post.

I know this post doesn't exactly warrant photos but here's a few from Portugal, a trip I'll be writing about in the future:)

Go ahead and go over my next post or any of my pasts blogs and see if you can recognize the tips I told you about here!

Add me on SnapChat: heidi_travels

& Twitter: @steemitgirl

Sort:  

You have been very successful congrats! I hope to use this article and become the next @heiditravels !!!!

Starting with this shameless plug haha :) Thanks Heidi

https://steemit.com/photography/@ryanjohnson/midnight-in-venice-italy-8-images

Great post @ryanjohnson :) You've got quite an eye for photography. I'm a bit envious!

He is your granfather, is not he?)

Mark Twain i meen.

"Do the thing you fear most and the death of fear is certain." -Mark Twain

My favorite quote, written by one helluva man.

my favorite is "A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes."
Have a good travel, truth Heidi!) it is interesting to travel with you.

An awesome awesome man, Mark Twain. :0)

I think that the language of the content also significantly affect. I am Spanish. Do not know English, reason by which, using translator. Do I let me write a comment using the translator but an article of quality? So I doubt much. I've written two or three items of quality, and they have not obtained the prize expected to be in Spanish. We are very few Spanish-speaking users, and it shows. I hope that someday, the balance to be balanced and have the same success the posts in Spanish. Advice would I give in my case? THX

Exactamente ! Creo que es un problema, y aun mas buscar de escribir un buen articulo en ambos idiomas y que sea congruente y no errar en absolutamente nada al momento de emplear las sintaxis por ser diferentes lenguajes. Hay muy poco contenido en español

the Spanish-speaking people should be aware of the importance of writing in our language

Hi Kirtash, sure! is very important, because is very very easy to learn and write. But some people only speak spanish and is a problem :(

I will agree with this girl completely. I was posting all kinds of crap on steemit for days after I joined. I took a break yesterday and thought about a real passion and took time to brainstorm, write, and actually design the end result.

It probably took between 4-5 hours of passionate work. I made sure it was me coming out in the post and not a treasure hunter. Anyway, it's paying off.

Happy to hear you're getting traction with your post!

It is good to see that there is some support for posting things other than fluff. I tend to think we need to have a long term view about our content and participation. The more people participate the more equity they get just because the effect of accumulation. I tend to think that it will take persistence for most of us. https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamwne/persistence-approach-to-steemit-a-practical-guide

Dang. I wish I had fly steemit skills like you girl. One day, can you teach me how to dougie? So all the steemies love me?

A little secret about me, I CAN"T DOUGIE. But I really want to. Can you teach me how to dougie???

Been following your content and it seems like you care about others well being by commenting as much as you do, and that's sooo sweet:) I really appreciate the tips and will be implementing all that I learn from you wonderful people!

Glad to hear you're enjoying the fellow steemers :) Of course I care!! :)

This is excellent advice. Lots of people need it. Thanks!

HI @heiditravels
Just letting you know, I referenced you in a post here about "good bloggers"
https://steemit.com/steemit/@condra/who-are-you-in-the-steemit-economy

Thanks for the shout out! I really appreciate it :)

Good advice, it seems steemit has become a writers bootcamp. I'll leave this here.

Thanks Heidi. Love your Twitter Handle haha, you're owning it!
Yeah, I've been slowly coming to the same conclusions as you about the writing for Steemit. Quality over gimmicky all the way.

I mean hey, it was available! Quality over quantity is one of those universal truths that people always forget.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85