Venice @ Midnight

in #photography8 years ago (edited)


Paris is like looking at a painting, but Venice is like being within the painting. The day we arrived there was a soft sheen that settled over the entire area. The city came alive after the rain, giving buildings and cobblestone saturated vibrancy.

Nights in Venice are magic. And magic always leaves you with more questions. Magic alows you to be wowed without knowing the answers. With no love interests in the most romantic location in the world, it was up to me to make the most of my visit: to write, to think, to eat, and to photograph; all the while trying not to get lost. Putting pneumonic devices to work, I memorized my entire way back to my 400 year old hotel; over 20 turns to be exact. Getting lost in Venice at night is to be royally fucked. Even Google Maps can't help. This only served to increase the allure of getting further and further away.

A rainy night in venice







I enjoy the following two images due to the same subject matter, but different camera settings. Both images were taken with a canon 5d mark iii @ an ISO 25,600. The first was taken with 1/5 sec exposure @ f/9. The second 1/40. While I would generally never use an ISO that high, my tripod was misplaced at the time.

Gondola parking lot

Where is your favorite place to photograph at night?

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I love Venezia!

Love the photos with the reflections from the water. Stunning images and love your insight on your trip!

One of my faveourite spots is Millenium Bridge overlooking St. Paul's Cathedral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48