You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leaving Steemit Is Not The Solution Of Your Problems !!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hi @thecrytotrader,

I only recently joined Steemit on recommendation of a good friend.

While still finding out how Steemit actually works, what it tries to become, whether bots are useful and okay to use or counter productive to Steemit's mission, and what that means for the kind of posts I publish, I regularly find myself thinking that for the main stream of potential steemians an easy, down-to-earth manual of the basic do's and don'ts would come in very handy.

From what I notice most people join because someone told them "it's like FB but you're making money!" So, no wonder lots of rubbish and spam is being published: they think it's FB!

I was so eager to publish (1. I saw posts making money and wanted the same, 2. I wanted to have a 'portfolio', 3. I wanted to reach people in different communities fast) that I saw myself posting just a picture and a meaningless sentence.

But I am learning fast (I hope) and day by day I get a clearer view of what I think this platform wants to be(come) and try act accordingly.

I guess, what I am trying to say is, that I agree with your post and in addition to it: I think a lot of spam can be prevented if aspiring new members know better what they're actually joining and what the rules are, maybe in some sort of two trap registering procedure.

At least an extensive do's and dont's manual would have helped me out a lot. And, no, it would not have stopped me from joining ;-)

Of course you can let new members find it out all by themselves but the consequence of it will always be: bad content for at least the first few months.

Sort:  

Well thanks for writing a detailed and well framed Comment @hatsekidee i am agree with your point and thank god we have Steemcleaners and cheetah bot to take care of these spammers and copy-pasters but the main point is we have to find the people who are really dedicated to this platform not join just for Earning quick money and right now we have just 400000 Accounts on steemit and once this site got the attention of the bigger part of the population then we are going to see the real evolution of steemit and the early adopters are going to proud on their decision to join steemit at early stages and gain Reputation in less competitive environment.

I hear you @crytotrader,

I think the task will be: getting dedicated people to join a platform that does at first sight look like an unclear version of FB (I am talking from the perspective of an aspiring member who checks out Steemit for the first time now). It's hard to immediately see the pearl hidden in that vast ugly shell (not talking about the design, that's fine!).

You're right, it takes time and effort and above all good content to really get involved, but it must also be possible, somehow, to stop some of the 'copy-pasters' from joining Steemit in the first place, and to keep new members safe from making the same rooky mistakes we all made by supplying them with an easy to-do-and-don't-list before they can enter their first post.

Or something like that. I am just thinking out loud here.

Good content providers are not neccessarily tech savy people willing and able to go through all this trouble. Most of them just want to publish their work with a push of a button. Their energy already went into their writing and drawing and photographing, etcetera. So I think something will have to be done about that in the long run. Preferably before the bigger part of the population comes in ;-)

You seem like you have the complications well figured out. I had and still have these troubles. Because it is so hard to get started here, I wrote this old post with a lot of tips to help minnows get started on steemit. At least if you can get some rewards coming in it will give some encouragement in the struggle. I hope this helps you.
Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

Well, I don't know how well I've figured out those complications @fitinfun :-D
I am just thinking out loud here and experimenting and making the best of it. I am still 'struggling' with this thin line between quality content, commenting for gain (rather than genuine interest), making use of bots, etcetera. But the link you provided was helpful for at least one of those topics. I am a little wiser now. Thanks for that!
I am keeping trackof you now as a follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60505.16
ETH 2622.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61