Is Steem Dying?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

SteemDeath.jpg

Introduction:

Steem is a crypto-currency with a social media platform to generate its currency. Unlike precious metals, Steem has no residual value; it is simply a ledger of numbers created out of an idea. In order for any currency to succeed, it needs to be trusted by the masses. If trust is lost, there is nothing left to give Steem its value.

According to the Steem Whitepaper, it seems that Steem is generated at 100% per year. 90% of that is re-distributed to content creators. If I am correctly interpreting what I have read, then if 1 person contributes posts the 1st year and 2 people contribute post in the 2nd year, then the reward pool has grown roughly proportional to the number of contributors and the rewards will be about the same in each year. However, if the number of contributors outstrips the growth rate of Steem, then as the number of contributors grows, the rewards will be proportionately less for each contributor. What this means is that those who discovered Steem early on and began contributing work had less competition and more chances of being rewarded than they do today.

Let's do some math:
If 100 people were Steemians prior to Hard Fork 19 (HF19) and each of them had 40 votes, that would mean that there were 100 X 40 = 4,000 votes to be distributed to 100 people. I should think that chances are real good that each person would somehow manage to get around 40 votes per day. Also, because each of those 100 people voting are all new, there will be a lot of equality between them and each vote received will be rather close to the votes being given. Overall a pretty fair system it would seem.

The problem:

People new to Steem see the whales and dolphins making a lot of money and aspire to reach those same lofty positions. However, after a while they realize that making 0.001 Steem per post isn't going to get them anywhere very fast. Even earning 1 Steem per day will only get them 365 Steem by the end of a year. That won't even get them a vote slider! To earn 500 Steem will take nearly 2 years! And to make matters worse, as new Steemians come on board, it gets harder and harder to earn rewards because the reward pool is not growing at the same rate as the membership is. On top of that, we have HF19 that reduced the number of votes down to 10 votes per day at full power. Of course those who have tons of SP will generally want to vote for someone else who has tons of SP so that their curation rewards will be maximized. We also have a lot of self-voting going on which reduces the number of outgoing votes and the chances of actually picking up a vote from someone other than yourself, especially if you are a minnow.

We can see that it is impossible for a minnow starting out today to make any appreciable gains without the support of dolphins and whales. Out of desperation, many minnows and redfish begin stalking the bigger fish in hopes of catching their attention; often getting negative attention due to their inappropriate behaviours.

One whale came up with the brilliant idea that he can actually earn easy money by selling his votes. Others see the genius behind that idea and follow suit. The only problem with this is that it defeats the original idea of this being a social media platform! Instead of people reading the content of others and upvoting based on the quality of the content, we now have many who post anything and simply buy votes! The site has become a free-for-all with SPAM and garbage being voted on by bots.

Those very early adopters have been able to amass a great deal of Steem Power (SP) and since SP determines rewards and control over changes to the system, the entire operation is controlled by a small handful of people. They realize that the system is rigged in their favour and they don't want to change it and lose any of that control, nor the money that comes with it. This, however, is short-sighted thinking. By retaining all that control and keeping the status quo, the platform will never reach the critical mass required to become a commonly used currency. If Steem was allowed to grow to the point where one could purchase practically anything with it without the need to convert it to fiat currency, the long term effect will be that these early adopters will have gained far more than they will if Steem never reaches that critical mass.

The following link is a very good article about self-voting and that same short-term thinking that is hurting the Steem platform:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@denmarkguy/about-the-whole-self-upvoting-debate-let-s-examine-the-bigger-perspective

Edited to included this post in my article as well. It has some good discussion in its replies too.
https://steemit.com/steem/@liberosist/idea-rethinking-the-voting-power-system-for-a-better-steem-network

My conclusion:

No, Steem is not dying, but it is very sick. Steem is a great idea and it holds a lot of hope. People will come and people will go. A few will get rich and a lot more will become frustrated. Those who leave in frustration will tell others about their failure, which will stifle the growth of Steem. Negative publicity is much more powerful and convincing than positive publicity, so even if a handful of people sing the praises of Steem, the majority will be saying negative things. Critical mass can never be achieved this way. Steem needs the MAJORITY of its members to be happily successful and promoting it. That will never happen until some serious changes are made. Stop thinking short-term and start thinking long term! Lets make everyone happy and change the world together.

What can YOU as an individual do?

Don't

 
make SPAMMY posts attempting to get the attention of the big fish; it doesn't work anyway and will likely get you flagged. Refrain from using bought votes. If everyone stopped buying votes there would be no reason to keep flooding the platform with more vote-selling bots. Stop delegating SP to bots that sell votes. Think long-term and what will make the platform as a whole successful rather than short-term and what will get you to whale status fastest.

Do

 
talk about this problem and spread the word. Tell witnesses that you don't believe vote-buying is good for the long-term health of the platform and that you will not vote for them if they support vote-buying in any way. There are other ways of supporting new members that are better for the life of the platform. Pressure witnesses to address the real problems with the current voting and rewards system and the fact that 1 person can own over 1,000 accounts! What is the purpose of the authentication system if an individual can abuse the system by owning multiple accounts? Consider a 1-person, 1-account rule. Think long-term and support initiatives that encourage participation and engagement such as the many contests and games that are currently under-utilized and under-supported. Create and join groups that cater to specific topics that interest you.

NOTE that the above is simply my opinion based on my own observations and understanding of how things work here. If I am mistaken, I appreciate being corrected.


I sincerely thank you for your interest!
signature.gif
Footer.png

Image source: Pixabay
Pixabay License
Free for commercial use
No attribution required

Sort:  

@happyme, this is an excellent article. I am sorry that I didn't get to see it when it was still active. I will upvote your comment on my post to contribute to your growth and acknowledge the value you have brought to the platform by writing about this important topic.

Much appreciated. The truth needs to be told.

I am only one month and few days old on Steemit. I am consistent and I am growing slowly.

Wonderful! You must have a lot of followers or help from the bigger fish, unless you bought Steem. It is good to see that there are some who can grow as fast as you.

I just spent around 10 hours daily, engaging with others! Wish you good luck!

10 hours is a lot of time. I used to do that too (probably more), but now I spend only about half that amount per day. Thank-you and good luck to you too.

I don't see it dying at all. The one thing that does slow it down is people want to be able to get on it instantly because they are excited about it and cant get there confirmation email for 3-5 days. In that 3-5 days waiting for the email you could lose a lot of people do to impatience. Almost did me. But I have been here now for a week and gaining followers every day. Post consistently and you will grow simple as that.

Good point! I forgot about the delay in getting approved. It took a friend of mine 3 weeks to get approved. That too needs to be looked at and improved.

Gaining followers is not everything. You can have a ton of followers, but if they don't look at what you post, your time and effort feels wasted. Not to mention that if they don't vote either, you don't earn anything.

Absolutely, you will grow. That isn't the issue. The issue is will you grow at a rate that will keep you here? I too thought I was growing real fast in the first few days and weeks. My reputation went up daily and my account began to fill with Steem and SBD. I was excited about getting my vote slider soon. Then when approaching rank 50, things slowed down. It takes much longer to get another notch in the ranking system. I also realized that I was a looong way from getting my vote slider. Plus, when I look at the vote power of those who do have their slider but not a huge amount of SP, they only add something like 4 cents per vote. So to be able to drop 50 cents or more per vote will require a lot of SP.

As I said, I don't think Steem is dying at all. I just think it has the potential to be so much more! I really want to see it reach its full potential and that is why I think it is important to discuss ways to improve the platform.

Its all about engagement with those followers. But yea followers are not everything but they are a majority of where your posts will start.

Have you got any tips on HOW to engage those followers when they don't read many of your posts?

All you can do is ask engaging questions, give them a follow it you like their content. And left comments that are worth responding to. The rest is on them. Make it a conversation.

Fully agree that there are potential cracks developing in the Steemit armor. I've written a few related posts you might enjoy.

~ UV and RS

Much ❤️
@tayken

The articles you re-steemed would have made good links for this article.

I see you don't flood your page with junk, so I'm now a follower of yours.

Thanks @happyme

I will always keep it clean, simple and occasionally profound :)

@happyme, I don't think Steem is dying, but it's somewhat "endangered" due to some trends here on the Steemit platform.

Part of the problem is unrealistic expectations created by those who actively market the platform. They go out there and say "Blog on Steemit and earn money!" and then use Jeff Berwick's infamous $45,000 post from last year as "bait." Which sets up utterly unrealistic expectations.

I've made pretty good progress here... but that progress includes spending three hours on a post that ended up making... a bit fat $0.00... and numerous posts in my early days that made less than $1.00.

What threatens Steem isn't so much a shrinking rewards pool or rapidly growing membership... but the expectations of many of "money for nothing." And then the willingness to spam and game the system, rather than simply USE the system to build a following around your own unique quality content.

To make a more fair comparison... I used to "time waste on Facebook" for maybe 2-3 hours a day... in applying that to Steemit for six months, I have gradually gained a decent following, I stick to following real people (no trading follow-4-follow BS), and I'm pretty much here every day. So I could be on Facebook, making ZERO... or I could be on Steemit making $5 to $15 a post... it's a no-brainer to me.

But it is not... and never was... a "money for nothing" gig, for me.

Hello denmarkguy and thanks for the response. I'm glad to see people are still reading my post.
Have you actually read the full post or did you simply skim over it? The reason I ask is that you seem to suggest that I think Steem is dying. In my conclusion I specifically said that I don't think it is dying, but it is not well either.

Jeff Berwick made $45,000 on 1 post??? Wow! I never knew that. The most I ever saw was close to $3,000 and even that is outlandish money! I doubt the author spent anywhere near 2 months to write that article.

Anyway... to get back on track... you stated:

the willingness to spam and game the system

was what is hurting the platform and I agree with you 100%. This is also what I was trying to say in my article. If you look closely, I go so far as to say that all those who partake in vote-buying (either buying or selling votes) are hurting the platform. Buying votes is just one more way to 'game the system', but many don't want to see that as a problem. My comments about the shrinking reward pool and rapidly-growing membership were simply back-ground to why there is frustration and a desire to 'game the system'. Now there is word coming out about possibly illegal or at least immoral pre-mining and that just enforces the notion that greed is good and doing whatever it takes to get earnings fast is just simply being SMART. Anyone attempting to 'play by the rules' or at least earn rewards without 'gaming the system' is just not smart. So in the end, anyone with a conscience is left feeling frustrated as those who use all the 'tricks' shoot past them in earnings.

You should feel fortunate that you started on Steemit when you did and were able to earn less than $1.00 on numerous posts. I started just before HF19 and noticed a huge difference after it. Anyone starting after HF19 or just before is lucky to make 10 cents on a post. It takes a lot of minnows to add any real value to a post even with the VP increased by 4X. Essentially, without the votes of a few dolphins or whales, it is almost hopeless. It is that feeling of hopelessness that makes people feel like the only way to succeed is to buy votes or otherwise game the system. After HF19, the social side of Steemit seems to have lost the battle and the bots have taken over.

My mission is to try and alter the perceptions of the public and attempt to re-instill that feeling of community. I am trying to get a group of people to think differently about how they vote and to spread their votes amongst the participants of my weekly give-aways so that everyone supports everyone else and we all grow together. With pay-outs of 10 cents or less, there is not a lot of monetary incentive to go for the prize, so I'm trying to get people to up-vote each other for a guaranteed gain. Hopefully I will succeed and as more and more people see the benefit, their attitudes will change. As we all grow, our VP will begin adding more and more to each other's rewards. After several weeks of seeing the same people, perhaps some friendships will even develop!

Thanks again for commenting and I hope I have explained things better now.

I actually ended up here in a roundabout sort of way at the recommendation of someone else, and was slightly surprised to notice that you had linked to one of my own posts about the same issue... so yes, I did read your entire post... and I think we're on the same page in agreeing that Steemit/Steem is feeling a bit sickly at the moment. However, there seems to already be a groundswell building in the community (mostly among the "dolphin" layer of users to both re-educate and otherwise flag obvious spam and copy-pasta.

I look at this through two sets of eyes... in addition this (my original) account I also manage a far "younger" (about 50 days) old account for my wife's and my independent art gallery... as it is very much a "niche" account, I am building it with a completely different set of (art focused) content, and trying to build a following among a different (and very specific) set of users. My point being, I get to see the site through the eyes of this "junior dolphin" sized account and a "minnow" account, simultaneously.

What I have noticed most since HF19 is that many people have gotten stingy with their upvotes, especially on comments. I curate quite a bit, and I upvote loads of comments... other people not so much; I check steemd.com regularly to keep up wth my voting power... try not to finish the day with it any higher than 85%, as that would mean I'd start "burning" votes before morning.

Anyway, kudos to you for your initiatives... ANY effort towards building community and encouraging engagement is good; anything to highlight people and push bots into the background is good.

What I have noticed most since HF19 is that many people have gotten stingy with their upvotes

Absolutely! I think this is what I have noticed most. Before HF19 I was able to give out multiple awards of 5 SBD from one post! Since then, rewards are declining drastically.

Being able to see things from a minnow's perspective, I'm sure you noticed that even the minnows are not voting on each other much any more. It seems they are all trying to impress a whale or 2 instead. I honestly believe the reduction to 10 votes has really hurt the platform a lot. Yes, I've read about how some whales write that they are not bothered by it because they simply adjust their sliders to get more votes. That's like a billionare adjusting his tip from a quarter to a dollar (or more accurately, the other way around). Of course its no big deal. But the minnows don't have a slider. Even if they did, what good is it when their 100% vote is only worth 1 cent anyways? Reading that sort of comment just makes the minnows feel worse. Now if they had 40 1-cent votes, they might feel better about themselves and start to hand more of those votes out! After all, 40 cents is a lot more that 10 cents.

Keep in mind the fact that Steemit is still in beta. Thanks for taking the time to make a post like this to bring attention to the devs. I'm sure there are things that can be done to make the platform more inviting to noobs.

Thanks for reading and commenting. I know Steemit is still in Beta and that is a great time to survey the users to see where things can be tweeked. I truly believe that the user experience should be one of the most important aspects of a social media site. In the world of technology, one needs to adapt quickly or someone else will come out with a better product and nip at your heels.

The white paper is out of date on that point. See the faq for the updated inflation rate - https://steemit.com/faq.html#How_many_new_tokens_are_generated_by_the_blockchain

But your point is well taken about the community growth vs money supply. It's something I've been pondering in my week here too. At some point I'll get the calculator out and do the compound interest equation to see how it could play out.. ;)

THANKS for pointing that out! So just by that alone (100% inflation rate dropping to less than 10%) means that earning a share of the rewards has become more than 10X more difficult! Add the fact that there are now only 10 full-power votes per day instead of 40 and we exacerbate the inequity even farther as people are now hoarding their votes rather than spreading them around.

One of the things you need to consider is HOW YOUNG STEEMIT is.
Another thing, STEEM is the cryptocurrency used by THE STEEMIT platform to pay its members and NEITHER are sick or dying.
People should (as you established), look into STEEMIT as a long term investment.
STEEMIT doesn't deserve people that are looking for quick and easy cash, they should leave this platform, learn blockchain technology. Experience the dozens of other social media platforms out there and come back to STEEMIT when they learn about the future of BLOCKCHAIN SOCIAL MEDIA where STEEMIT will reign.
THERE, I SAID IT 😍 😘

Actually, a year and a half is a long time for computer technology. In the fast-paced world of computers, you need to move fast. Steemit is also the first to do this sort of thing, so there is bound to be a teething period where adjustments will need to be made.

Unfortunately Steemit IS attracting those looking for quick and easy cash and that is why we need to discuss the topic and figure out how to deal with it.

You have bought to light some very interesting points here indeed. I have Re-steemed this post because I feel that other people need to read this. 👌 keep up the good work @happyme. All the best @crypto-expo

Thanks! Hopefully the ideas will be discussed seriously and an improved Steemit will evolve.

There is a concentration of voting power with early adopters, but many of them have a genuine interest in improving the user experience and the quality of the content on Steemit.

Your point about new users getting frustrated with their rate of return and quitting its accurate; there are certainly people who make a few posts and lose interest. I think that is a good thing, though.

Think about what the quality of the dialog would be if the forum was full of people high on the thrill of unlimited, instant gratification.

Thanks for the response.

Think about what the quality of the dialog would be if the forum was full of people high on the thrill of unlimited, instant gratification.

I think you may have missed the point. Nobody said anything about unlimited, instant gratification (unless you are referring to those who will stoop to doing anything to make a quick buck).

I'm curious as to why you would think it is a good thing for people to leave the platform with a bad taste in their mouths?

I think that people who leave after a couple weeks don't really have the attention span to support the long term growth of Steemit.

Thanks. I agree. However, if they simply leave because they get bored is one thing. If they leave because they somehow feel tricked or cheated, that is quite another thing. Those who are upset when they leave tend to spread their dissatisfaction around and that is bad publicity the platform can do without.

That is one of the benefits of the two year power down. Anyone who invests in SP is going to be tied to the system for two years and is unlikely to bad-mouth it while they still have skin in the game.

Personally, I don' t expect to get a big return on my investment from the author rewards. 10% per year plus the pleasure of using the medium is fine with me. I am looking for a bigger return from the rising value of STEEM over the next two years.

I suspect those who would leave unhappy are the people who did NOT invest any money, so the power-down doesn't really apply to them. I guess there will be a whole lot more people who try to EARN their Steem rather than BUY their Steem, so the idea that they will not say anything bad would apply to a relatively small number.

Personally, if I had loads of money invested, I wouldn't even worry about making any money from author or curation rewards. I would be focused on building a sustainable platform so that it goes mainstream and raking in the absurdly huge rewards from the rising value of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71