You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem Dying?

in #steemit7 years ago

I don't see it dying at all. The one thing that does slow it down is people want to be able to get on it instantly because they are excited about it and cant get there confirmation email for 3-5 days. In that 3-5 days waiting for the email you could lose a lot of people do to impatience. Almost did me. But I have been here now for a week and gaining followers every day. Post consistently and you will grow simple as that.

Sort:  

Good point! I forgot about the delay in getting approved. It took a friend of mine 3 weeks to get approved. That too needs to be looked at and improved.

Gaining followers is not everything. You can have a ton of followers, but if they don't look at what you post, your time and effort feels wasted. Not to mention that if they don't vote either, you don't earn anything.

Absolutely, you will grow. That isn't the issue. The issue is will you grow at a rate that will keep you here? I too thought I was growing real fast in the first few days and weeks. My reputation went up daily and my account began to fill with Steem and SBD. I was excited about getting my vote slider soon. Then when approaching rank 50, things slowed down. It takes much longer to get another notch in the ranking system. I also realized that I was a looong way from getting my vote slider. Plus, when I look at the vote power of those who do have their slider but not a huge amount of SP, they only add something like 4 cents per vote. So to be able to drop 50 cents or more per vote will require a lot of SP.

As I said, I don't think Steem is dying at all. I just think it has the potential to be so much more! I really want to see it reach its full potential and that is why I think it is important to discuss ways to improve the platform.

Its all about engagement with those followers. But yea followers are not everything but they are a majority of where your posts will start.

Have you got any tips on HOW to engage those followers when they don't read many of your posts?

All you can do is ask engaging questions, give them a follow it you like their content. And left comments that are worth responding to. The rest is on them. Make it a conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82