You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem Dying?

in #steemit7 years ago

There is a concentration of voting power with early adopters, but many of them have a genuine interest in improving the user experience and the quality of the content on Steemit.

Your point about new users getting frustrated with their rate of return and quitting its accurate; there are certainly people who make a few posts and lose interest. I think that is a good thing, though.

Think about what the quality of the dialog would be if the forum was full of people high on the thrill of unlimited, instant gratification.

Sort:  

Thanks for the response.

Think about what the quality of the dialog would be if the forum was full of people high on the thrill of unlimited, instant gratification.

I think you may have missed the point. Nobody said anything about unlimited, instant gratification (unless you are referring to those who will stoop to doing anything to make a quick buck).

I'm curious as to why you would think it is a good thing for people to leave the platform with a bad taste in their mouths?

I think that people who leave after a couple weeks don't really have the attention span to support the long term growth of Steemit.

Thanks. I agree. However, if they simply leave because they get bored is one thing. If they leave because they somehow feel tricked or cheated, that is quite another thing. Those who are upset when they leave tend to spread their dissatisfaction around and that is bad publicity the platform can do without.

That is one of the benefits of the two year power down. Anyone who invests in SP is going to be tied to the system for two years and is unlikely to bad-mouth it while they still have skin in the game.

Personally, I don' t expect to get a big return on my investment from the author rewards. 10% per year plus the pleasure of using the medium is fine with me. I am looking for a bigger return from the rising value of STEEM over the next two years.

I suspect those who would leave unhappy are the people who did NOT invest any money, so the power-down doesn't really apply to them. I guess there will be a whole lot more people who try to EARN their Steem rather than BUY their Steem, so the idea that they will not say anything bad would apply to a relatively small number.

Personally, if I had loads of money invested, I wouldn't even worry about making any money from author or curation rewards. I would be focused on building a sustainable platform so that it goes mainstream and raking in the absurdly huge rewards from the rising value of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71299.70
ETH 3793.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80