Fixing powering down and how to do partial powering down on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's my first contribution for Steem. Turns out when you delegated some steem power, it will not be possible to power down anymore. I stuck with that yesterday (when tried to delegate SP to @minnowbooster) and found out that other users are struggling as well.

Here's why it happens

When you try to initiate powering down via Steemit it will broadcast the total amount of vests, which will not be accepted by witnesses as you cannot power down what you've delegated.

How to fix

I've already sent a patch and it should be fixed soon. While it is being reviewed here's how you can get it work ASAP. Also it would be useful even after fixing for partial powering down which is not possible directly on Steemit.

  1. Navigate to your wallet page (steemit.com/@yourlogin/transfers).
  2. Open Chrome Devtools (you can just press F12, Ctrl + Shift + I or Cmd + Opt + I)
  3. Click on Sources tab and make sure that transfers page is selected. To unminify the script click {} on the bottom.
  4. Press Ctrl + F (or Cmd + F on Mac), type m.get("vesting_shares") and press Enter. Then after finding that line, click on the line number bellow that. It will set a break point.
  5. Time to click power down:
  6. The script execution will be paused on the break point we set before. Now press Esc from the keyboard, it will open the console.
  7. In the console type o = parseFloat(m.get('vesting_shares')) - parseFloat(m.get('delegated_vesting_shares')) + ' VESTS'; and press Enter to remove the delegated vesting share from the value above (2).
  8. Click play button (3) and you should be powered down with the whole SP except the delegated.
Partial powering down

Sometimes it could be useful to power down just a part of you SP, so the remaining can be either delegated or used to vote. For that use the same steps above, except that in the point 7 set an exact amount of vesting share you want to power down, for example o = '14858320.013539 VESTS'.

To see how many vests you own just type m.get('vesting_shares'), and to see how much you've delegated: m.get('delegated_vesting_shares').

Happy steeming! Please upvote if you found it useful and want me to contribute more.

Sort:  

Super useful and thanks for the answer. The only problem with me is that I would never dare to touch this. It's way over my head. Fortunately, I know someone who could do this for me. But like real oldtimer I will un-delegate first and wait for one week. then will try to power down. Just try, because I don't want to really power down. Thanks again.

Yeah me 2 lolz.. It takes 7 days to un delegate minnow support. I did that, if it wont work... Hacking time coming lolz...

@happy.man ty 100%juice for you:-)

Same! The biggest tell is this article is a year old already and I'm only now scratching my head. This is the most complicated shit ever and it's only 8 STEPS LOL!! WTF? Way to humble the level of knowledge I have for code.. pulls out axe and starts wildly hacking away to retrieve delegations

Awesome job! The dev team actually already has a pull request for a similar change though, which is adding a slider to the power down:
https://github.com/steemit/condenser/pull/1589

Thank you @happy.man. Upvoted!

This is awesome for a first contribution!
I am facing the same problem. I will try your solution and give feedback.

Congratulations @happy.man! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice, this is super helpful @happy.man. I was wondering how to do this exact thing

@happy.man if I use this to initiated a powedown, will I need to work around to stop the power down? I just want to power down for a week, but have several delegations.

Excellent, very good content greetings I follow you. I love you happy day, if it is your pleasure I invite you to visit my profile I am a girl lover of life and love I hope your participation until later

This is really over my head. Is there not a simpler solution to fix this problem?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73