OMG! Who UNFOLLOWED Me?! See Who Unfollows YOU + Why You SHOULDN'T Stress About It!

in #steemit7 years ago


So I was getting ready to hop in the shower to get ready to go for some drinks with friends on Friday evening (working from home you have to seize the opportunity to go out and drink with friends whenever possible so you don't run the risk of becoming a hermit). I was procrastinating on Steemit, and before I hopped in the shower I had 378 followers.

However, once I jumped out of the shower, the number had gone down to 377. I had lost a follower in the time it takes me to wash my hair.

This has happened before and it's always one of those moments where of course you wonder why for a second....


And then you move on. But this comment on my post about why you shouldn't quit Steemit the other day really got me thinking...

... @philogyny is so right, if someone unfollows you, it shouldn't matter to you. It may be that you just don't share similar interests. Some people just follow a whole bunch of people hoping for a follow back, and then go and unfollow all those people (weird).

But I still wanted to know: who were you person number 378, who just stopped by while I was in the shower to say a permanent goodbye?

I was on a mission to find out, in the hope that it might give me some clue as to why they made that decision.

I came accross this amazing post by @shaunmza who has created a site that allows you to see who just followed you, who unfollowed you and even who muted your posts. If you want to see how to do that for yourself... go and check out his post, but I will show you what it looks like for my profile.

What I realised from looking at @shaunmza's site is that people unfollow you a lot more often than you even realise. I thought it had just happened a couple of times, but now I can see that people unfollow me everyday. I just never realised because people follow me everyday too.

I used this site as well to look at other peoples profiles that I love and admire on Steemit, and I realised that exactly the same thing is happening to them too. If you are like @philogyny and feel disheartened sometimes when you see a number drops, and realise that someone has unfollowed you, use this tool to look at big steemians, and steemians that you love, and know that no one is immune to being unfollowed, no matter how great and interesting they are.

If you are ever in the position where you are loosing your motivation for Steemit and are taking the unfollows personally, just remember:

💜 You have some really great people who DO follow you! Connect with them in the comments and say thank you!

💛 There is a whole sea of people out there on Steemit who share your interests! Go out and search for them in the tags, on Steemitchat and on Discord!

💚 It takes time to build a good blog. Put your positive energy into creating good content and reaching out to others who's content you enjoy.

💙 Invite your real world friends to join Steemit too!! The more the merrier!

Do you guys ever feel sad about the unfollows? Are you going to check out @shaunmza's tool? Let me know in the comments!! 😍

Sort:  

Since the beginning I've been writing down the names of people that unfollow me for later use...

A re-follow goes a long way people ;)

hahaha @mynameisbrian... that is so funny... and also a little ominous :)

Thanks for following me @hannahlicious! Oh... And consider yourself warned ;)

hahaha!!! I actually thought i'd already followed you @mynameisbrian, so it is good that you jogged me to check. I was telling my friend at a party last night how great your blog is, cuz she is an artist as well, told her to go check you out and think about making a steemit account herself for her doodles! :)

Flattery also helps to remove your name from the list

Don't mind the unfollows so much, but a mute feel especially cold.

Yes! @jasonstaggers... I agree... I got my first mute this weekend and i was so confused... like why not just unfollow me if you don't like my stuff? I really don't understand the purpose of muting someone haha :)

I've had to mute a few people who were flooding my streem with their Resteems. I didn't unfollow because i hope at some point they won't do that.

Absolutely agree

Super giddy right now, just because you mentioned me in a post. Great words of wisdom, that will hopefully encourage many people!

aww @philogyny I was wondering if you would see this haha :)
thanks for starring in my post and for stopping by as well! :)

That's great info now I am going to see who unfollow me I also have the same experience in the past when I was reaching 100 follower suddenly my followers drop down to 99 than again 100 and again 99 it happened three times so I was struggling to get my 100 followers in the past :p

hahaha we have all been there :) I was wondering when I made my 'thanks for 99 followers' post if suddenly one would unfollow and i would be down to 98 again haha, would be awkward :)

I will never-ever unfollow you, @hannahlicious!! <3

awww hahaha thank you @oleg326756 :)

Yeah I noticed an unfollow the other day, but I bet a lot of people just follow people like crazy when they first start and then realize that they don't have any shared interests. The fact that people bother to curate their own feeds is good because it means people actually care to use steemit as a real social networking site.

Yeah for sure, people starting out doing the whole 'follow me i'll follow you back' thing... and then realize their news feed is just full of random stuff, haha :) Yeah I use Streemian to get notifications now when people i like post because sometimes its hard to keep track of the people that you really like :)

I like your post and this is good info. But now I feel conflicted about being able to see who follows/unfollows me . Hmm...

haha yeah I get the conflict... it made me feel way better, because I realised that the people who unfollow usually are the people doing the mass follow/unfollow thing, and seeing that it happens to everyone made me feel better too. I probably won't be checking on it every week to keep tabs though, that might be a bit too much! :)

yeah, i have felt the same and used the site several times

ah cool good to know you are using it already @doubledeeyt... it made me feel way better once i looked at it (even though way more people unfollowed me than i realised) but i like being able to go to their profiles and kind of work out why :)

Hi @hannahlicious ! Hispano hablante? So... Cómo es eso, lo aprendiste viajando?
No había pensado en los unfollowers... hasta que he leído tu post. :(
Te sigo! (Al menos hasta tu próxima ducha) Hahaha
Cheers from Barcelona.

Hola @chicosonico, si! aprendí viajando. Pasé 3 meses en Mexico, y tambien vivia en Madrid por un año!
He ido a Barcelona 2 veces y me encanta!!
Gracias por seguir hasta mi próxima ducha hahaha 😅

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hannahlicious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82