Do you want to know who followed / stopped following you on Steemit?

in #steem7 years ago

header.png

I did, so I created a small site where I can get some visibility in to who is following me, stopped following me and who is ignoring my posts.

I thought other people might find it useful, so I have made it publicly available, head on over to https://steem.makerwannabe.com and check it out!

The How

First, head on over to https://steem.makerwannabe.com
When you land you will be shown data for a random user, to see the data on your followers, type your Steem username in the text box next to Username. In the image you can see it has steemitblog in.
Next choose the period you want to see the data for, from the drop down.
There are four choices, 1 month, 2 months, 3 months and all time.
Finally click the search button and off you go!

You should get a graph, as well as a table with all the activity for the period you chose, each user has a link to their Steemit profile, as well as a link to see their follower data as well.

I hope you find it useful!

If I get enough of a response I am going to register a domain for it, make it legit!

The Why

I am no social media guru, only giving the number of followers on my account a cursory glance, until one day I noticed the number had dropped.
That made me ask, 'who stopped following me?'.

I tried digging into my followers on the Steemit interface, but so pretty quickly that it did not show historical data. 'No biggie' I thought and carried on...

But a seed had been planted, if, when someone follows you, it is recorded on the blockchain, then surely you can look back through the transaction and accumulate the data, finding out who stopped following you in the process?

Turns out you can!

The What

So the data is available on the blockchain, but I am very green when it comes to that, so I chose a different path.
In a previous post, I wrote about how to access blockchain data using the STEEMSQL service kindly created and hosted by @arcange.

I can work my way around SQL, so I spent a bit of time figuring out how the follow data was stored in the database.

For performance reasons (and to be a good citizen), I extracted the data I needed and stored it on my own server.

Next I wrote a quick PHP script, to crunch the data and spit it out in a way it can be used in a graph.

The graph took me some time, but thats another story for another post!

Conclusion

This is far from being a polished site, it has a few warts.

I am also want to add more functionality, firstly I want to add a trendline so that you can see how your followers have accumulated over time.

Next would probably be to filter the table, so that you can see more easily who followed, unfollowed or ignored you.

For now I am happy its (semi) done.

What do you think? Please leave a comment.

What functionality would you like to see?
What can be added to really add value for you?
Would you recommend this to a friend? Why? Why not?

Follow me!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post!

Sort:  

2 months later and I found the answer to my question! Thanks this is really awesome!

Awesome, that's great to hear it helped!

I don't seem to have the option of resteeming this? Post is too old?

Yeah, think once it's past the 7 day window, you can't resteem anymore.

Appreciate the sentiment though!

But this kind of posts are a good habit to place a link in a new post and renew them with a little info there?

That means with quotes from your post. Because there are things that can't be said better than the one who made it :-)

I always wanted to do that but i stopped myself from doing that because didn't know if it is ok. Don't want to be just a reposting blog, but to share good info i see. There will always be new people here that will not see such posts at some point.

Thanks.

Very impressive man. Thank you

Much obliged! Thanks for the compliment.

Hello, thank you. Its very useful.

Every new follower gets an 0.10$ upvote on his latest post. But please make sure that you are interested in my content.

Great service you have rendered to the steemit community and you will not go unrewarded. Congratulations.

Thank you for the compliment.

I hope that you get good use out of it!

Awesome, it's a good tool. I'd love if insted of a month, it can give a daily or weekly data. I want to check who followed / unfollowed me every day. Is it possible to get a notification of the same?

I am hatching a plan for an update to the design, so you may get to see it by day / week etc.

As for notifications, right now there won't be any, but this is definitely something I want to build in, in a future version.

Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to leave a comment!

Thanks for your reply. I came to know that esteem mobile app has a feature of giving an alert notification for every follow. I currently use Steem notification bot Noteefi on Telegram (https://t.me/noteefi_bot). It gives all notifications like comment, mention, new blog posts, subscription to tags etc. But I couldn't figure out any way to notify me for follow. Otherwise it works fine.
But when I want to anaylse in detail, your tool comes in handy.
Thank you for such a nice idea!

Just found this from someone else's post! So cool... I've never played the follow unfollow game and it's pretty neat to see who does. Following you!!

It is interesting is it not?

When I first joined it was not much of an issue, but with the recent influx of users I see many people following others without vetting them.

Followed you back, you can verify with a neat little tool I know of ;)

Very interesting. I was looking for information like this. Thanks. Sadly, I'm almost 2+ months late to upvote.

No worries, from your other comment, you can boost your SP using @minnowboost pay a bit of steem and get a major SP boost for a week.

I am boosting mine now, if you vote often you should be able to make your money back in the week. Just don't flag too often 😉

Great tool. I just found this today and i can say it is a very useful tool . It solved a question I have been having for a long time.

Found it in steemreports... very useful, thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18