Powering down. Leaving Steemit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

power_down_slide.jpg

Some people have noticed that my account has been powering down these past few days. What's happening? Is GMuxx leaving Steemit? Has he grown weary of this community?

TLRL: No, I am not leaving Steemit.

Slightly longer version:

As some of you know, I won plane tickets to Steemfest in @theprophet0's competition a while back. I am eternally grateful not only to @theprophet0, but also to all the people who backed me and managed to get me past the post and win them by 1 vote. The plane tickets have been bought and my hotel is booked.

Capture.JPG

Last week @roelandp announced that the Steemfest tickets are now on sale. See his post HERE. I didn't take these into consideration when planning my trip to Portugal and was surprised to see the price; I am not sure what I was expecting to pay so slightly panicked when I checked out the site. For the minnow ticket I will have to pay 191 Steem or 272 SBD. From what I gather this includes drinkies, lunches, dinners, activities and shuttle service to the various venues. This I didn't expect, and I was pleasantly surprised by it. But it does mean I have to get my ticket as soon as possible, hence I have less time to save before November.

Although I have done far better on Steemit than I ever could have expected, I am on a fixed income due to disability (MS). I therefore have to generate the necessary funds for my trip to Portugal through my account here. Therefore, I began powering down last week. Once I have enough to cover my trip I will end my power down.

ccfbf33473b7778f685c61bbe81a8a79.jpg

I love Steemit more and more each day. The opportunity to earn through my ramblings, my 3D artwork and my new found love of writing fiction has enabled me to buy those little extras for my family that ordinarily I would not be able to do, and for that we are extremely thankful. Overall, the community here is fantastic. The community at Minnowsupport however is very dear and special to me. We are like a family, doing our best to help each other out. I love being a moderator at PALnet and assisting newcomers where I can.

In summary, no - you don't get rid of me that easily. I am here to stay, through thick and thin, price drops and rises.

ADDITION: I have had some very generous donations and I am extremely thankful for them. In no way was this post meant as a fundraiser for my trip. I fully intended to cover my trip through my power down. Saying that, I feel blessed with love today. Thank you.


Image Source 1, 2



Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

I played whack-a-mole on your post/comment history with upvotes.
I also started a power down so I can send you some if you need it.

Dude...

I appreciate it and I am humbled by the love. There really is no need to, my power down will cover it - but I am truly thankful.

Enjoy your trip!
Thank you for all you do!
Namaste

Thank you very much. Your donation to my funds is very much appreciated, although my power down will cover it.

Namaste dude.

Just threw you my 100% upvote. Only worth 50 cents or so, but every bit counts. I did not know you only won by 1 vote! Guess it's good i voted for you hehe!

Keep up the great work on steemit and at MSP brother. You're doing awesome and even if you did decide to leave, we'd pull you back in :P

Thank you very much, I appreciate it.

I do not plan to leave EVER =D

I am sure if GMuxx every actually tried to leave steemit that the #fiction-workshop family would send out a posse, track him down, and tie him back to the computer. Hope you have a wonderful trip, GMuxx! We will miss you while you are away.

I'm sure you would send a posse, headed by a raccoon.

I am probably closer than the coon. I'm learning to rope, so they can send me with my lasso. Unfortunately UK laws are a pain with dogs so I couldn't bring Molly.

Enjoy your well earned trip my friend.

My friend, that was quite unexpected and humbling. Thank you very much, really appreciated.

You've earned it.

I'm not sure how many people really appreciate how much of what minnowsupport has become happened because of your and @swelker101 's time and work.

Even if I came on here and searched @gmuxx and it returned nothing, I'll be rest assured that's a technical hitch and you'll be back in no time. You hold the torch for most of us. I gave my 11 cent upvote. I wish it bought anything 😉

Thank you, much appreciated.

You deserve it, doing great work here and any good luck is well deserved.

And in glad your not leaving ☺️

Thank you very much

I am hoping the best for you, hopelt you could get the money you needed to the steemfest.
and congrats for winning thw contest. 😃😃
my upvote is not worth much, but i hope it help.

Appreciated, thank you.

upvote.

Upvoted to add to the pot. :-)

How far off are you @gmuxx?

Thank you.

I currently only have 49 SBD, my first power down week isn't over yet.

No problem!

Just sent you some loose SBDs I received too.

(Not much sadly, but hopefully it adds up!)

Well thank you. You didn't have to, but thanks.

No prob, hopefully you won't have to power down so much. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56