You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yet Another Attempt At Perspective

in #steemit6 years ago

Well you've caught me in a bit of a down moment @glenalbrethsen. (Maybe it's just cuz I'm a bit tired and haven't had dinner yet! 😁)

Not about the price of steem or the other stuff you mention but more about how shitty people can be here at times. I didn't expect I'd need to grow a thicker skin to operate on this platform but it seems that that is the case.

Other than that. I'm just plodding on and blogging on. Getting myself primed to buy some Steem maybe.

Looks like we're getting a bit more when we power up SBD now so that's good at least. 😊

Sort:  

It sounds like to me you should get something to eat. I guess it's 8 pm there so getting kind of late. I'm getting ready to eat lunch myself and will probably carry on from there for another 8-9 hours. :)

I'm sorry about the people you ran afoul of. I must have missed that, but then I'm kind of behind. Maybe I'll catch up to it. I kind of skipped over my feed to read this. Do I need to go rough them up (verbally of course)? :)

I suppose it helps to have thick skin, but that doesn't mean people need to treat others badly. It's a two way street. Civility depends on both ends communicating politely, regardless of how they think or feel.

I'm going to try to get some more STEEM if I can manage it myself. The problem is, the avenues I've been taking keep shutting down, which means I need a greater workaround than already exists to make it work.

Anyway, let me know if there's anything I can do. I'm pretty sure you can fight your own battles (if that's what this is eve), but it never hurts to have backup, right?

I'm waiting for John to get home. Shouldn't be long now. He went to pick up our son who's going to be home for a few weeks.

Are you referring to avenues where you can earn fiat when you say shutting down?

Thanks for the back up. It's not really a battle. Just a bit of nastiness that I seem to have ended up a part of. It's been interesting to hear what some people think of me here. I'm just a bit shocked but I'll get over it.

What some people think of you? Okay. So, they're making it personal. And just how would these folks know exactly how you are in the first place? Have you met them? Or are they just drawing conclusions based on what they see and read?

re: shutting down

I had a business account attached to Coinbase that now they want more verification or info to use. It probably would have continued on, but the card number recently changed (something the bank decided to do) so the old bank card wasn't going to work. At any rate, I need to figure something else out in order to take advantage of the lower STEEM prices, because who knows where else they're going to be in a week. :)

Oh. That's not so bad then if it's a Coinbase thing.

No. It's not people I've met. It's more drawing conclusions on what they've seen and read.

I'm not going to dwell on it. It just came as a bit of an unpleasant surprise that's all. 😢

Well, I'll change the subject then. Not sure if you've ran across galenkp or not, but him and his wife are currently in the UK and was last hanging out in Bideford. I think they're more or less in Devon if I'm not mistaken, but I thought I'd let you know in case you might be interested in looking at his travels thus far (that is if you haven't been already). They're on holiday from Australia and will be off to Finland (I think) where his brother and family tarazkp live.

I have been i touch with him @glenalbrethsen but thanks for letting me know.

He was going to Boscastle yesterday so I sent him the link to my post about the pasty lunch. 😊

They're on holiday from Australia and will be off to Finland (I think) where his brother and family tarazkp live.

I didn't know any of that though. 😁

aww people can be shits @gillianpearce. I'd like to say just ignore it, but from what I gather reading here, I'd let it bother me as well. Sorry you're experiencing it though.

I've been having a bit of a down week myself and haven't had too much interest in writing much here. I'm around reading, but more often than not this week, I've closed my laptop and read an actual book (gasp) or watched tv...which is even more depressing :)

Hope things get better for you my friend. My turn to send heaps of love your way :)

Thanks @lynncoyle1. I'm fine really.

It just seems to go in phases here doesn't it? Everything slows down and I lose interest a bit. And, having such beautiful weather outside doesn't help. Who wants to sit at a computer on days like these?

Mind you, it must be "days like these" for you most days I imagine. 😊

Hope you've been enjoying reading a book. I still do that quite a lot and watch TV most evenings, mainly iplayer.

If you're looking for a really good yarn that's easy to read and just the right balance between serious and fun I recommend "The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry" by Rachel Joyce.

I don't recommend books very often but everyone I know who's read it enjoyed it.

We've looking after the grandkids today so hoping to get out in the sun later.

Hope you have a lovely day too.

Much love 💜

@gillianpearce I love that book! I read it sometime ago, and have since read "The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out The Window and Disappeared" by Jonas Jonasson and it reminded me a bit of "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry" :) It's nice to get my nose back in a book for a change. I actually have an e-reader and love it; I have a library at my fingertips! I also use a website called "Book Bud" where I get daily emails of books that are free or next to nothing; because I am a very fast reader, I hate spending piles of money on a book :) You should check them out, it's pretty awesome!

Hope you had fun with the grandkids! After I look at Asher's Sunday post, I've been taking the rest of Sunday and part of Monday without even looking at steemit. It's been nice actually 😂

Much love back ❤️

Thanks for the book tip @lynncoyle1. I have made a note of it.

"Book Bud" sounds good but I don't have an e-reader so not sure I'd have much use for it.

I buy my books from a charity shop that sells them for 30p and then when I've finished them I take them to a different charity shop that sells them for a couple of pounds, so almost 7 times as much.

This makes me feel I'm doing good business for the charities.

Glad you're enjoying your time off from Steemit. I find it hard not to post if I'm at home. When I'm away it's a different story.

I'm really missing being around people since I got back from the retreat. The first week was OK because I had a couple of things in the diary and a fellow Steemian came to visit at short notice which was a lovely surprise.

This week I have more time alone and I'm finding that harder after such a wonderful time away.

The malaise that @glenalbrethsen referred to seems to still be around but hey ho it will pass of course.

Lots of love to you. I wish you were closer. It would be great to hang out with a glass of wine and watch the world go by! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58