You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Best Steemit Strategy: "Persistence Hunting" or "One Lucky Shot"

in #steemit6 years ago

I think the chance of getting noticed by a whale are next to nothing so it's not something I would spend any time pursuing.

I'm definitely a persistence hunter and the hardest thing I find about that is the transparency of Steemit. That means it's easy for me to see what others are doing and then I get down when I'm see I'm not doing as well, especially looking at people who started around the same time.

It's also hard when you see them using tactics that you're no using e.g. delegation, memes, short steepshot posts etc.

I'm keeping on keeping on but I've hit a bit of a tough patch this week. Too much comparison to others. But I don't seem to be able to stop myself! 😊

One thing that helps in these troughs is having support like you give so I want to say a huge thank you to you. I really appreciate it! 😍

Sort:  

Comparing yourself to others is one of the most toxic habits you can have, IMHO. Not only on Steemit. We're each unique in our own ways.

Couldn't agree more. I didn't realise I had so much of that left in me until I joined Steemit. Now I get to practice letting here here as well. 😊

It's funny how much we learn about how we're REALLY doing with all those things we thought we'd transcended once we start blogging on this platform, isn't it? Yes, comparison is a lethal habit for self-esteem and satisfaction in life. At the same time, we do need some sort of measure and feedback so that we know when we should make some changes. It takes a lot of skill to learn from others so we can improve without comparing ourselves to them unfavorably.

Couldn't agree more! 😍

I fully agree: it is important to do your own thing, write and post about your own things and the things you are really interested in, only than you will be able to keep up and stay motivated.
Writing / posting about subjects you dislike is nearly impossible.
Just like trying to learn something you are totally not interested in as many teenagers have to do in high school, is killing their motivation to learn at all...

!! :D This makes me happy.

All the time I've been here, my only instance of comparing myself to others is setting them as goal. But I've never gotten discouraged by the fact that someone is going faster than me or that they're bigger than me. It just means I have something to learn from them.

i fall into that too sometimes @gillianpearce, and as dragosroua says, it's one of the most toxic habits. sometimes if i get in a mood like that i have to actually just stop myself and take a moment to feel grateful for what is already happening and realize each person is on their own path, including me... and i can only DO ME. <3

Glad I'm not the only one @mountainjewel. 😊 I love that phrase - I can only DO ME. Thanks for joining the conversation. 💙

Dayum, girl, 2900 comments and you've been here only one more month than me. I need to catch up, only 1200 so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65