You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting Power Redistribution: Cast Your Nominations For The Minnow Accounts Most Worthy Of Support...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It's come to my attention that there have been discussion about the potential for Steemit to have great impact in Nigeria - and given the difference in scale of opportunity my votes may provide between distribution to those in the western world and those in Africa, South America, or southeast Asia, I'd like to allocate the majority of my voting power towards those regions where it'd have the largest impact.

However, I might still consider certain nominees from the first-world if the quality of their writing is very high and of a nature that I could see it being a worthy long-term investment in the community, such that their contributions could better serve the community over time who has been consistently demonstrating strong leadership skills.

As an expat living totally local style in South-East Asia, I must request you make that not a primry requirment anymore.

Life in first world can be just as hard, and for many $30/month can make a true difference, there where in 3rd world nations or development nations, it could lead to laziness to be able to live of delegation/recommended upvotes, or even one supporter.

I doubt you would allow laziness, or entitlement, to happen with your vote, but as somebody living in such a country, I think we need not forget that in today's society even $30/month can make a big difference for many First Worlders.

Also, when you commit to (temporarily) upvote such person and make a difference, the day you withdraw such support you could possible kill their livelihood.

But I fully appreciate, and am totally supportive of your drive and initiative! No matter where the vote lands eventually.

Sort:  

As was stated elsewhere, I’m not completely ruling out everyone in the first world - though they’d have to be exceptionallygood to make the cut.

Also, when you commit to (temporarily) upvote such person and make a difference, the day you withdraw such support you could possible kill their livelihood.

You can’t put that responsibility on me. This site is what it is, and there are no guarantees. I may feel choked at times, earning 10% of what I was a few months ago here - but air can’t blame anyone for revoking their continued support. My livihood is MY responsibility, and I’ve been fortune to have a few good streaks here. And if I can pay forward some of the blessings, awesome. But that doesn’t guarantee the wave coming from my wave will last indefinitely or my small amount of support relieves anyone of the responsibility to manage their own finances wisely.

you made a conclusion, conclusions should never be made.

saying that members of the 3rd world countries would instead become lazy and depend only on the support is not nice, many strive to be self sustaining. Do not let what you see on the TV cloud your judgement, we arent looking for aid all the time.

I will suport the benefit to go round

you made a conclusion, conclusions should never be made.

There is a difference between would and could. Especially when it comes to things such as conclusions.

I do live in a development nation, in fact, I myself could benefit from that vote. Yet, I also daily work with people to help them find self-sustainability. I am also capable to stand back and make an objective analysis, assessment. None of my information comes from TV, I haven't had a TV since 2003 btw, one should never assume.

If you do that you will see that the central point was not to dismiss non-3rd world as such. Not a conclusion about laziness whatsoever but it could lead to a sense of entitlement. And that's something to consider when weighing both, especially given:

Also, when you commit to (temporarily) upvote such person and make a difference, the day you withdraw such support you could possible kill their livelihood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66546.31
ETH 3589.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93