Why Do You Follow? - A 500+ Follower Appreciation Post.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

king

Today marks one month since I put out that famous steemgig story

I have been putting in the work ever since I joined and could be guilty of burning out a couple of times but I never expected to have the kind of success I've been enjoying on Steemit despite my bias for positive thinking.

What was supposed to be a simple business transaction between two Steemians became the birth of amazing things.

IMG_4740.PNG

With all the goodwill I was enjoying prior to this day (May 12, 2017), I had well under 200 followers and when @kus-knee said we had to increase that to about 500, I laughed it off.

I mean, I was excited when I hit 195 followers!

IMG_4742.PNG

"500? Yeah I'll eventually get there but not anytime soon."

Today the rest, like they say, is history. That tiny account that was so content with less than 200 followers now has over 500 followers amidst a handful of unfollows over the course of the month. This got me thinking...

Why Do You Follow?

I'm expecting you to give me answers in the comments but as usual I'll give up myself as a sacrificial lamb.

This Is Why I Follow.

On Steemit, I am here to basically do two things; learn from those ahead of me, and consume content I love.

Getting a follow from @fisteganos simply means you fall into at least one of these categories.

I see my self as very selective when it comes to populating my feed and maybe this is why i'm not a fan of asking for follows. It even took me a while to add it to the footer of my posts until I could include the fact that you should follow only if you want more content from me. Which means you already love the one right before your eyes.

Why Follow Content You Love?

You wouldn't want to be greeted daily by content you have no interest in. It's basically a waste of time on your path and also not useful to the author you followed as you won't be reading the posts and the authors won't be getting any upvotes from you.

As a follower, you've somewhat agreed to read, comment, and upvote content from the said author without being forced to do so because it's something you'll naturally do. If this is not the case, then you have no business following the account.

Why Follow Older Accounts?

I love to learn a lot even though I can be as lazy as anything. Part of my early boost on Steemit can be traced to the number of days I immersed myself in every article I could find on how to navigate the Steemit waters.

When you read posts from older accounts, you learn how to structure your posts, format it and how to generally package it.

If you truly want to grow on Steemit, learning should be your favorite pastime. Read all you can find and don't be scared to ask questions.

It's why you follow.

Why I Don't Unfollow

After going through these two steps and making sure I observe them diligently, it's almost impossible for me to later decide to unfollow an account I previously followed.

Whenever I see an unfollower, it's either they followed in expectation that I'll follow back or they didn't understand what I stand for and have since found something they disagree with me on.

Either way, I believe following the steps I follow will save you from having to unfollow users later on.

Now tell me, why do you follow?


I want to say a big thank you to everyone that has thought it wise and sane to follow me. Thanks for making Steemit beautiful for me!

Thanks @ned for following when I had less than 100 followers (about 50 I guess).

Thanks to all the amazing support I've received from everyone!

as a tiny little bonus, my dad will be joining Steemit very soon. This is just a heads up 😉

I'm an advocate for community growth and interaction. My posts are amateur attempts at sounding smart. If you like them, you could upvote, drop a comment, and resteem for your followers. 😉

image source

Sort:  

Why do I follow you ask?

I believe in spending time around people that care about excellence as much as I do.

We may not be talking face to face but in the Steemit world we are still meandering around ideas and thought processes that shape our mindset.

You are an individual that from your very first article I was hooked by your positivity and drive to succeed. I continue to follow because your integrity shines through in every article you write.

This is so so so nice!

Spending time with likeminded people and also people you wish to learn from is the way to go (I believe). And also subtle qualities like positivity that you mentioned are also important as they affect the decisions we make.

Thank you 😊

I love your attitude my friend!

You're most welcome!

I follow because we started within a few days of each other. You are active, intelligent, consistant, and you believe in what you say and do.

I tried for the past five minutes to
Come up with a suitable reply. None seems good enough. I just kept smiling.

Thanks for the kind words.

You deserve a:

Haha! Great!!!! Thank you 😊

You're welcome!!

Congrats on 500, I just started following so I guess I will figure out why I follow soon.

😊 cheers!

Loading...

thats always good topic to discuss about. I follow those blogs that seems to be interesting for me... if I don't follow someone it's only because the subject ...or quality is not for me... I'm not fan of follow for fallow... I believe that we can all learn new things from each other! Thanks for putting this topic out here ;)

I like the way you think 😊

I follow people that resonate with me, that probably sounds pretentious, what I mean is that if the post is good and interests me then I generally follow, I also think that comments and replies tell a lot about a person and those other two factors definitely play a part in my decision.

Awesome techniques you have there. I also believe you can tell from the comments what type of person you're dealing with.

Awesome contribution!

Well, I stumbled upon your post and I was not following you, but after reading this I will go to your page and see what else you have posted and then I either click follow or go onto the next members post. (But I already know, by this post that I will be following you because I love this your genuineness :)
That is usually how I have been rolling through on following others..by exactly what you said above. As a new member it is lovely knowing that I was subconciously doing the right thing in following great people who will help me grow and learn.
Thank you for sharing your words! VERY inspiring :)

You've started out on the right path! I'll be looking out for posts from you 😊

I followed you just recently as I got to know you in the minnowsupport chat on Discord. I wish to emulate the same attitude towards my fellow steemians as you exibit. You are supportive, encouraging and sharing and your writing is top notch.

I had loads of help climbing up so it's only normal I give out the same love I received!

Thank you 😊

congrats man

I appreciate! Thanks 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37