1 YEAR ON STEEMIT & 1000 FOLLOWERS: My Story and Tips For Everyone

in #steemit6 years ago

Ahh I remember it like it was yesterday!


I was searching around the net at December 2016 for ways to make money online and literally i have seen everything. Affiliate Marketing, Selling on Ebay, Amazon, Etsy, take part in surveys,blogging,freelancing, even writing speeches for politicians and stuff. With further research i understood that it will be extremely hard to reach a decent level, a decent level that still i couldn't live by my own but just have some extra $. 

Some of those ways for extra money seemed to me as pretty boring and that the earnings would be close to nothing for the work and effort you put so i kept searching and searching. I came across some articles about bitcoin and i remembered than i have seen it back when the price was 10-15$ and i was really hesitated to make a move back then, so i decided to give it a go and start finding cryptos that are promising and i could spend only a few bucks on them.

Steemit soon stood out from the other cryptos and as i was reading and reading what is it about i couldn't believe that you just login and to be more exact, you just get paid to login and you can write about everything without spending a single $ out of your pocket. Believe it or not it took me 2 months to finally decide to join in. After successfully joining in another problem hit my door.

What Should i write about?

I really had no idea as i am not good at drawing, or had some specialty in stock markets, crypto markets, photography,design,coding and i am not the type of person who just go out take a couple of pictures of himself and his glamorous life in hotels and restaurants either. So literally i had no idea where to start (Note that no @Dtube @Steepshot etc etc were available that time). Meanwhile, i said to myself  ''let's go over the trending page and see what others can do''  and the top post i saw was from @sweetsssj  with a very well made travelling post that obviously i couldn't do or even something near that level so i was back to zero step :P and thought it over again.

Ok let's start with the intro post!

What could be a better way from that? People will get to know me and i will get some followers....................but i didn't want them to see my face or know my real name :P ( something most of you already know that is considered a bad tactic) and just make a simple post without giving them a hint of who i am and check how that went in terms of $$ :P

Then i decided to write about things i really like with the mindset that writing about those things will be fun and not tiring so for the next 4-5 months 90% of my posts were about Series Reviews and Anime Reviews. Some were going pretty well, others don't, a bunch of them were highlighted in @curie but i kept going on, cause i knew that at least i earned something from this instead of wasting my time in Facebook!

I made some posts about my country as well and there i met @liondani a Greek Witness, (i really had no idea there was a Greek community till 1-2 months ago :P). When i wrote posts about Greece i just put the Greece tag and that was it. The sad part was that because i had to do my internship and i was lucky enough to do it in a big corporation and in the position i wanted, i dedicated all of my time for that so for 4-5 months i was completely out of steemit. 

When i came back i researched a bit more and found out that everything went better for steemit and the community as well. From 0,07$ and 40.000 accounts we now had 1-4$ (steem's price) and 500.000 accounts so i was pretty happy about it and motivated to write more and more. I came across the Greek community which i found out later that it had members older than me in steemit years and took part in some Meetups. I met new people and expanded a little bit the variety of my posts too.

Some Quick Tips

In case you are bored to read all of the above some quick tips for success are:

  1. Write about stuff you like
  2. Try to make your posts quality ones and don't copy/paste or steal images
  3. Don't worry about your payouts, it's still something, just think of the idea to spend the same amount of time on Facebook and Instagram with total payouts of 0$$
  4. Ask For Advice: If you don't know something just ask, everybody will help you out
  5. Interact with others: Talk and Talk with others in here, write them a meaningful comment and don't just beg for upvotes and followers. (This one i think helped me the most in steemit). Check in the screenshot below how many posts i open per day to read and comment

and that's only for the morning :P

Conclusion

After a year or to be precise 5 months i have 1000 followers, close to 63 Reputation and i really don't care about the $$ that much. I am really intrigued by the growth of steemit and just wanna be part of this. I have met people throughout the world, i am trying to help newcomers by giving them some help and tips and ofc welcoming them and i don't know why or how but all of this made me more active as a person too.

I literally knew none and nothing about steemit when i first joined. I worked hard and dedicated quite some time to write my posts and interact with others and i suggest to newcomers to do the same. As i told you these last 2 months i was very active with mostly everyday posts, attending to meet ups, interacting with more and more people so i just wanna say my thanks to some people that helped me and inspired me along the way so sit tight and check below!


@skapaneas: Literally whatever i asked him about cryptos and steemit he was there for me!

@rouketas: Same as @skapaneas he is always willing to answer every question i have and also helped me out with my first sbd to bitcoin transaction without asking anything for return

@trumpman @ruth-girl: what can i say about these guys, they really enlightened me and it's because of them i started having a variety in my posts! They are way too cool, just click on their names, check their posts and if you so do check @trumpman replies to the upvote beggars :P

@liondani: He was one of the first people that commented on my posts and in general i wanna thank him for what he is doing as a witness and for how much he loves his country and it's people!

@makishart: Another amazing person that was with me since the beginning, supporting me and commenting my posts!

@uwelang: He was one of the first persons that greeted me in my intro post and for quite some time he was supporting my posts and made some really good comments. It's thank to him i think, that i started interacting with others more and more so once again thanks a lot!

@onceuponatime: That person is more Greek than we are. He really inspires me as he is the true meaning of generosity and kindness!

@jedau: I really don't remember how i found him :P but except the fact that his posts are amazing we share the same beliefs and we both tend to write long long posts and comments :P He is really amazing and every time i see i have a comment from him there is this smile all over my face :P

@janicehung: Last but not least Janice is truly a genuine and unique person. i don't want to say much about her, you can just click the name and see by yourself what i am talking about, what i want to say is that she is so damn clever and funny :P as well as an inspiration for many people myself included!

 


That was a very very long post but i can't help it, i had and have so much memories and things i wanted to share! If any newcomer read this and want some help and guidance just let me know! 

images and gifs 1 2 3
Sort:  

Congratulations on your first anniversary. Wow didn’t reallize I am clever and funny until you said so. Sincerely, I am thankful to you how you help me out with so much things here. This is the beauty of social media it led us to many people it connect us and bridge the gap between countries and shall I say distance. Despite time zone difference we manage to connect. Thanks so much for all the time and patient with me ahahahah. Now it’s time for you to show us some of your kicks you brag on my post ahahahah 😊😀

and sarcastic i should have added :P
I honestly appreciate your words and i really like as you mentioned too that social media can connect people throughout the world. I was so glad i took the time to doubt you :P and i will be there for you, you know it! If i show you some kicks James will show me some punches :P and i value my life!

Congratulations and um... Happy Steemit-Birthday!! :P

You 're doing a great job here! Isn't it fun looking back at how you started and how you evolved in the platform? I wish you all the success in the world! You've worked hard for it and you deserve it! Thank you so much for the mention! It means a lot! :D

thanks a lot! it was really fun and i was able to read again some of my oldest posts and check how those people that helped me and interacted with me back then are now. Now it's you turn for the 1 year anniversary :P

Haha! We'll have to wait until June for that :P

i have my birthday at june so along with @trumpman and you we gonna have 3 celebrations :p

Congratulations @filotasriza3 .You totally deserved it!Slowly you will be one of the oldest around here!!

hahaha kanonika 8a prepe na dine to steemit k kana doro gia ka8e xrono :P

hahahha you couldn't find a better video!

Should I say happy bday then? :P And also a thank you as you were among the people that helped me when I first got in one month ago and besides my "weird" posts you are still very supportive! :)

haha wish me health and i will be ok :P Don't mention it, i really like a lot your ''weird'' posts and i can say the same, you are supportive too, you always comment and upvote!

Genuine comments and posts mean genuine people, and you are one of them.

Thank you for your support, I got to know you from a @greek-trail post "Greek Steemian" or something like that and I feel grateful to have met you.

It feels great to be part of this team, I wish you many more years to an even bigger steemit :)

💐 Here's to friendships 💙 inspiration 💙 dreams 💙 joy 💙

💐 Happy Birthday @filotasriza3 💙

After a year or to be precise 5 months i have 1000 followers, close to 63 Reputation and i really don't care about the $$ that much. I am really intrigued by the growth of steemit and just wanna be part of this. I have met people throughout the world, i am trying to help newcomers by giving them some help and tips and ofc welcoming them and i don't know why or how but all of this made me more active as a person too.

thanks a lot for your kind words katerina! you are a really amazing and hardworking person that helps a lot the greek community and generally the community here on steemit with your posts! you are really valuable and we are so happy to have you among us!

Congratulations, brother. You are a great guy and a great writer. You FULLY deserve all the success you have :)))

thanks a lot bro i really appreciate it especially from a writer and an upcoming celebrity here on steemit :P

Συγχαρητηρια αγορι, σου ευχομαι να φτασεις τους 1 000 000 followers γτ γραφεις πολυ ποιοτικα αρθρα και πραγματικα το αξιζεις!!!

hahaha se euxaristo poli! an ftaso 1ek followers ka8e mera 8a kernao :P

Θα κερνας σπιτια... :)

Great progress for one year! What I really liked in your post is the one tip about "Write about what you like". I see people writing posts about trending things to get more upvotes etc.

Just write about stuff you like, stuff you know and you will get your following.

I too really looking for interaction in my posts but to be honest I don't comment as much as I want to other posts too so I get why it's difficult to get quality comments.

first of all thanks for your comment! especially now if someone tries to write about something that is trendy when per day there are over 70.000 posts then probably mostly none will see it :P The key here is interaction in order to build some loyal followers or friends ( name it as you please). I get what you are saying as everyday i open over 40 windows with posts and i have a rule to read or read most of it each and every post i upvote.

The hard part is that i don't have the time to make comments to everyone too but as you build a base of good people around you, they will understand it so later on you don't have to worry much about it, but now in order for more people to find you out then it's a must!

Συγχαρητήρια και μπράβο!!! Και οι συμβουλές πολύ χρήσιμες!!!

se euxaristo na eisai kala!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54