Review after one week on STEEMIT

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

First off: Thank you all !

My account is worth $105 after 7 days here.
In this short period of time I already went through all sorts of emotions.

I don't remember, how I stumbled upon STEEMIT.
My first memory is this post - I commented with some memes and @johnsmith just transfered 3 SBD into my wallet.

I immediatly spent it all on STEEMPOWER and have done so ever since.
Excited and euphoric, I felt inspired to write this post.
I felt like a gold miner in a Jack London novell and let my imagination go wild.

I then tried to put my understanding of STEEMIT into short definitions, or tried to find parallels between 'Moby Dick' by Melville and STEEMIT. That only made cents and I can now see why.

The only 'success' so far was, when @tombstone upvoted another meme of mine - generating 175 SBD at the time.
I tried to piggy-back on a trending post, that had only few comments and it worked out well.

I kept posting and commenting, but only got paid for the comments.
I kept crawling the trending section, to pick up on how to get exposure.
I got engaged, but it also stressed me out.
I thougth: If you put too much attention on one post, you might miss out on the one that goes viral.

Meanwhile I felt, like I was missing out.

This morning now I didn't get anything for my post, though it was at $0.02, just before the payout.
I will look into this, but I'm sure there is a good reason.

But at this point I am just not too concerned about my magic wallet here.

Looking back at the last week, I can say that using this platform had a positive effect on me.
I have learned a lot already - not about STEEM, but a wide variety of things.
Sure, I have a better understanding of #cryptocurrency now and I'm improving my english along the way, but the main realization happened somewhere else.

I can't produce a viral #introduceyourself.
There just isn't a lot for me to show off.
I don't have a degree, I don't have pictures of myself, I didn't write a book, I don't paint pictures.
I have a life, but I can't expose it for STEEM.
I don't have a network to promote my content.

When I got upvoted and promoted by powerful users on here, I didn't care about their public profile. What was important to me was their power.
I don't have to like the user - he just has to like my post.

That might sound wrong, but that's what I'm here for:

There are many ways to make STEEM and at the end of this adventure, that's the only thing that is relevant on STEEMIT.
That is very 'capitalistic' and I don't feel bad about it.
STEEMIT capitalizes on ideas and thoughts.
While I believe there are bad ideas and good ideas, I think all ideas should be subject to discussion.
Some thoughts are just wrong, but no thought can be illegal.
Some things you have to ignore, some things you have to flag but nothing can be deleted here.
The more power I get, the more I get to decide, who gets into power.

I can not imagine, what STEEMIT will look like in the future.
I'm excited to be part of it and to have 41 SP for making jokes.

TL;DR: [10/10] would recommend

Sort:  

wellcome

Thank you for this engaging and inspirational introduction! I remember writing on eHow back in the day and at first feeling very discouraged, and then my excitement when my first few articles starting earning pennies. I'd say once you hit the three cent mark, you are on your way!

Love the honesty! In the end the majority of the world is driven by money, with steemit you get direct compensation on the things you do. There is no "middle man" taking 40% of the revenue. Pure and simple, people like it, you get paid! :) Keep at it!

That's great considering u don't know what u are doing. :-)
But seriously, i think i should try to learn from u because i thought i know what I'm doing and my account is still behind yours.

Commenting worked well for me.
Thank you :)

Hi! A very nice post that made me think a lot. Good luck in Steemit and let it make you really happy!
Please, read my post too: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@knyaz/hi-steemers-my-name-is-igor-knyaz-and-i-ll-be-35-in-two-weeks

Perseverance will be rewarded! Good luck to you!

Good comments will be, too.
Thank you !

I know the feeling ...:-)

Hahaha, you funny, I eat you last! (c) Steemit whale.

I totally agree with your post! Capitalize on ideas and thoughts just brilliant!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44