I'm worried about the reputation system

in #steemit8 years ago

Just yesterday, I wrote this post about STEEMIT and STEEM.
The recent update made my post obsolete.
Now, there is more to an account than STEEM POWER.
I'm worried about that.

It is a good idea, to encourage people, to think twice before posting.
However: Many times this 'filter', that we force on ourselves, blocks out some powerful insights.
When you have to worry about your reputation, you will not speak openly.

What if a scientist came in here, posting a scientific breakthrough ?
Imagine he did and then got misinterpreted, or flagged somewhere else for being rude.
What would happen if a new age Kopernikus came in here ? Would we hear him ?

The reputation system feels patronizing to me.

According to this post by @dantheman, I'm in the moral top 10% with my reputation score of (6).
I'm part of the moral elite now and feel like being watched by Big Brother.

What if we could turn the 'rep' filter on and off ? Would that help ?

I see the good intentions, but what faszinated me here was, that every post had a chance.
I see this freedom endangered now.

I hope you don't find this offensive; I checked it only once before posting.

Sort:  

I love that the reputation system has silenced many notorious trolls. Right now they are reaping what they have sewn and will have little to no success.

I think you still have the ability to speak openly, but it will be more like talking to a person face to face than people without limitations typing across faceless platforms.

As long as someone brings up their opinion and does not try to instigate, it should be welcome. I see the potential for someone to get upset and see a lower rep person flagged their post and to go on a rampage downvoting all content of that person. The beauty is though that the blockchain makes this transparent. Someone will see what you have done and your reputation will be tarnished.

And to your point about the scientist, if you say something that gets misinterpreted, most people here will allow you to respond and may reverse their vote. I have done so myself.

Overall the reputation system is a lot better for steemit than what we had before with the increasing prevalence of trolling and spam bots littering the ecosystem. It's not perfect but I much prefer it to the alternative.

Im glad i never doing something reckless . phew number 7 is great man :p

This meme has a Fresh-Koolaid grade level of the 1930's and reading please of "you bet your life". This puts the satire level on a par 5 with Groucho Marx and Harpo.

I get you. Sometimes, a great idea is killed because someone say that it's stupid. Unfortunate, very unfortunate.

And on that note,
here is a quote:

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win. (Gandhi)

yes, it takes great effort to transform people.

And sometimes they transform by themselves.
Are you being transformed? Or are you changing by yourself.
Have you ever watched Invasion of the Body Snatchers?

never, old film but have heard of it. I've seen alot of STNG though.

Well I screwed up my first week here. I'm already at -5.
This reputation system is orwellian.

do you know, which one of your posts got flagged ?

Probably most of them. You see I'm like a wise guy, and like cracking jokes. So like I pretend to be that isaac.asimov bot that rates writing. But I change the wording based on the content of the article. So if you just look at the reply it's seems be a bot, but if you actually read the reply you think WTF, understand the joke then laugh your ass off.

P.S. This is for AI new subruotine: Look (don't forget to)Read: Look different from Read =WTF: satire, LMAO

I see what you did with my meme, then.
I like it. I upvoted.
Maybe that helps.

Well Thxs a lot. You really lifted my morale. It's good to hear real people with real thoughts and not just "Wow, Great, Shot U a upvote bla bla bla".

P.S. This for AI: Find Real=Good: Emotion +

"When you have to worry about your reputation, you will not speak openly."

When you must worry about reputation, you're forced to be more thoughtful about what you say which tends to lead to more productive conversation. Look no further than anonymous social networks like Whisper and Secret, which both flopped because of the low quality conversation that went on as a result of the anonymity.

I generally think reputation is a good thing for Steemit but you pose an interesting perspective -- will be interesting to see how it evolves.

You seem to ignore, that the STEEM POWER is a form of reputation, already.
This is not an anonymous network. People invest long term into their accounts.

btw, sorry ... I'm not native english, so my language is a bit inaccurate sometimes
English is mainly a hobby for me

good point!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.4 and reading ease of 77%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43