Panda in Malaysia - Foodie, Pod Capsule Hotel & Kuala Lumpur - Crypto Holdings & Growth (SP, BTC, ETH, EOS)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey hey everyone - it's been a minute since my last post!


I arrived in Malaysia 9 days ago and have been keeping quiet since then, mainly since I've been trying to find a new spot to set up camp and get back to a growth phase.


I started off in Penang, Malaysia - if you ever get the chance, and you like food, GO THERE. I had some of the cheapest and tastiest eats I've ever encountered there, and I already miss it!


They use the Malaysian Ringgit here as currency (RM for short), and the exchange rate when I traded was roughly 4.25:1 RM to USD (so every $100 gets you about 425 RM).


The photos I took suck, but you get the idea!

Rice & Pork Belly.jpg

Freshly squeezed orange juice and a pad-thai-esque dish (can't remember exactly what it was called) that cost me under $2 USD in total! (7 RM)

Pad Thai.jpg

Liquid nitrogen green tea - 8 RM (about $2 USD)

Simple dishes such as rice and pork belly are insanely cheap and bursting with flavor. My inner foodie died and went to heaven while I was in Penang!

Now, I'm hanging out in Kuala Lumpur and looking for an affordable condo/apartment/room to rent out for the next month or two.

US passport holders get a 3 month stamp upon arrival, which makes it a little cheaper to travel here, and also gives you more time to explore/slow travel, if you enjoy that like me).

I'm considering checking out the SIM Capsule Hotel, which offers pod rooms/beds - would run me about $260 US a month or $100 a week (I'll probably start out with a few nights, and if I enjoy it/am comfortable, I'll stay for monthly for now).

Pod Hotel 1.png

Pod Hotel 2.png

Built in TV, living areas such as a workspace and kitchen, patio, free wifi, etc - not a bad deal I'd say. I was spending a little less for my condo in Chiang Mai with utilities, but KL is definitely more expensive so it's expected I'll spend more.

Pod Hotel 3.png

Pod Hotel 4.png

Right in the heart of the city and walking distance from all sorts of attractions, such as KL tower.

The last time I lived in the city was Vancouver - which as many of you know from my previous posts, was really expensive and offered up all sorts of ways for me to get in trouble.

This time around, I'm in a different frame of mind and not looking to lurk as a trouble making night owl!


On another note, I've been keeping an eye on my crypto holdings. I'm currently holding EOS, Steem, BTC and ETH. I just traded some SBD that I had earned from my last few posts for some ETH today, as SBD was above the $1.00 line and ETH was trading around $185. Not a bad time to trade off some inflated SBD for some discounted ETH!

Still using the Exodus wallet as well. They recently just pushed out release 1.30, updated from 1.29, which looks like it offers some enhanced security and a few performance updates.

Exodus Holdings 2.png

I'm also now sitting above 400 Steem Power, after my last post got a nice little unexpected full whale upvote (thank you!) - long term, I'll be holding and growing my SP with a 50/50 payout scheme.

Then, the intent is on growing my Exodus wallet holdings by trading my SBD earnings for ETH/BTC and potentially diversifying into other coins.

SteemIt Holdings.png

Overall, SteemIt still looks like an amazing long term play so I have no intentions of tapping out any of my SP, and fully intend on growing for the foreseeable future.

I also have no intentions of cashing out my Exodus wallet - however, it is nice that anything held within can be quickly tapped out and converted to cash should an emergency situation arise.

I'll be looking long on those holdings, especially BTC/ETH - curious to see how SegWit pans out in a few days, though.


https://CoinPanda.io

Live on August 8, 2017 - sign up for our free daily email blast (starting up shortly)!

DQmRtvoxAQZoXNWGAMNW8twZGyXp9wb2FirwPwoGgZt4MEh.gif

Sort:  

yumy

Oh, it was so so yummy indeed. The panda gets a little fatter each day!

Just a gentle friendly warning @fatpandadesign ... in Malaysia, you can easily get fat.
My former uni mate came to visit Malaysia for 2 weeks. He gained 5kg.
mischief

LOL I can 100% believe it - so much food to eat here, so little time. I had this banana leaf dish today for 7.5 ringgit, oh so yum!

There is SO MUCH MORE LOL.

2nd food is char kway teow, u can check my post here. Welcome to Malaysia!

Will check it out, I've heard about that and seen restaurants that serve it! Thanks!

I'm glad that you made it to Penang and Kuala Lumpur. There's so many things to discover especially the food here!

Thanks man, I'm loving Malaysia so far! The food here is outstanding, especially in Penang - I would go back solely for that purpose haha!

Great to hear that you love my country!

Hey @fatpandadesign, you're in luck because I wanna hook you up with @steemitguide.

He's been a Steemian since forever [read: August 2016] and so happens to run a homestay in Penang if I'm not mistaken. Dude is a solid bloke but is as Malaysian as it gets.

If you're still looking a place to stay im sure he can help you out. But if you're set, you still definitely gotta meet him up.

Also, I happen to live in Malaysia on the other side of the sea, on the island of Borneo in the state of Sarawak. if you like caves and waterfalls and hiking or hanging out a day of two in the quite side of Malaysia, let me know!

Now I wish I can visit you @awesomianist ! Maybe I should plan that for a getaway during he long weekends!

Hahaha. Let me know! I have a dude that does travel agency. I can hook you up with him and guarantee you a steem-post worthy adventure!

Wow, how awesome @awesomianist ! I would LOVE to meet up with @steemitguide - I'm still looking for somewhere to stay with decent internet so I can focus on work!

Also, I'd love to come over and check out that side of Malaysia, too - probably in a month or so when I am a bit more stable financially and am caught up with stuff I've fallen behind on. You're incredibly kind for offering this up - add me on Skype if you wish! @FatPandaDesign

Cheers!!

OMG! I am in Malaysia and I didn't even though of the hotel pod!
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Malaysia, and thanks for updating us on this!
upvoted and resteem
#teammalaysia

We definitely have to check it out!! :D

Thanks so much - let me know if you end up going, I may not make it there as I'm potentially working out a workaway deal with a hostel. If that falls through, I'm going though!

Appreciate the love!

Good to see you back on your feet!

Thanks buddy! Slowly but surely getting back to normal :)

np, sounded nightmarish and dangerous.

Was definitely not the highlight of this journey, I'll say that!

Glad you're enjoying the Malaysian food!

It's absolutely my favorite part of Malaysia thus far - it's been loads of Indian food the past few days. I have some new dishes I'll be sharing pictures of in the next few days, I tried this vegetarian dish served on a banana leaf today for under $2!

That's awesome. Our currency is really week, so I guess it's really cheap when you're earning in USD. I believe there's a popular banana leaf rice at Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur or even at Brickfields. Haven't tried them myself but it was suggested but my ex-colleagues.

This is true and that's something i'm trying to adjust my mindset to - that it's not so much that it's "cheap" for locals, but rather that the local wages are different than what I'm paid in. It's just one of the aspects of travel that I adore since I'm a huge foodie, that I don't have to spend anywhere near what I would in the states to eat well.

I will have to hunt that down and try that too. This dish I had today almost had a "tex mex" taste and feel to it (not sure if you've had that, I loved it growing up as a kid). So in love with the food here :D

Remember to try bak ku teh @fatpandadesign !

What's that?

I tried this tea today call keh tal? Something like that - tea with condensed milk. So fucking good!

i think you might be trying Teh Tarik is it bubbly at the top?
Bak Ku Teh is pork soupy stew with tons of herbs inside. Eat with fragrant rice. It has a dry version which is spicy.
I think one of the Malaysian writers mentioned here not too long ago @fatpandadesign
try #teammalaysia to search for more food.
Where else are you heading?
@howtostartablog is in Malacca. Have you been there yet?

Ah yes! that's it. Couldn't remember the exact name - it was bubbly at the top like a latte :D

Oooo that sounds amazing, I'm definitely going to have to try some of that. Any good places in KL that you could recommend for it?

I definitely will search for more, I love trying everything I can.

I'll probably be in KL for a bit, looking to lay low for a little while and focus on catching up with design & crypto stuff. Afterwards I may shoot down to Singapore for a short bit just to check it out.

My friend did Malacca and said it was pretty nice as well. So I'm sure I'll end up there as well - I typically just 'drift travel' as I call it, I move slowly, explore all around the area I'm in, find the best food spots, etc.

I actually do not know anywhere in the central city that has A+ grade of Bak Ku Teh . I am asking friends as I reply you.
But the A+ grade is about 30km outside the city, a town called Klang where you can see it at @perennial 's blog post below:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@perennial/first-introduction
Klang is near the port so it is a little far and jam during peak hours.

There is a B+ grade of Bak Ku Teh closer to my area, where you can take public transport either by LRT or MRT and take a Grab taxi there.
Klang 's famous Bak Ku Teh is famous during day time because they have it for breakfast, while my area's famous during night time.

So take a look @fatpandadesign , and decide later. If you are still around in KL on Saturday, we can try to meetup for either breakfast (in Klang) or dinner (in PJ) of Bak Ku Teh! LOL.

Wow, I am loving all of these juicy details you're providing me! I feel like I have my very own pocket-Steem-tour guide LOL.

I actually saw a place there serves Bak Ku Teh yesterday, although now I can't remember which side street I saw it on ahahh.

I'll be here in KL on Saturday, yes!! I'd love to do dinner potentially, if you're still interested. Let me know - you can also reach me on Skype at: FatPandaDesign (I'll give you my WhatsApp # on there!)

Omg this is sick!!! Can you actually live in these cabins!? Ive never seen such thing omg Im mesmerized:P So cool youre in Malaysia now! And I can agree so much with you, Vancouver is so expensive like who the hell can afford this place:( Unless youre a millionaire lol:P I lived in Whistler and Yale town for a while so i can relate;)

Yeah, you can!!! I'm gonna check them out in a few days, I've been staying at this hostel in downtown KL but I'm ready for my own private little space pod :D

Vancouver was absolutely gorgeous but SO expensive. I lived right over by Yaletown on the west end and it was so so so pricy, but I loved it. Just wish I didn't make some of the mistakes I made there -_- You know the pain of that Vancouver life though haha, such an expensive life indeed!

Thats dope haha I actually did my research yesterday on them, thought it was so unique! Is there enough space for a bathroom in there or to stand up haha?:P

Awww so true! The scenery is breath taking but theres a price that comes with it:( I wanted to go to UBC but I gave up on the idea a while ago... Ive met some students in Vancity that pay for their schooling, their apartment, have 3 jobs at the same time and have to study.... Its not easy when mommy and daddy are not in the picture:P

Have fun in Malaysia ;)

Come visit Malaysia @steemityourway !

hahah ur too cute:P I wish i could!

You will never know. Years down the road! Who knows?
You could be the best blogger in Steemit and you can travel with SBD!

^^^ That's what I'm talkin' about! I agree with @littlenewthings - you should totally get on the Steemwagon and finance a Malaysian adventure with SBD! @steemityourway

awwww ur too cute!! Thanks for your kind words ❤❤

@fatpandadesign, I can see you're already enjoying the local food.Have a lovely trip

Thank you! I'm a sucker for street food and Malaysia has definitely killed it so far in that regard. More to come!

Welcome to Malaysia, hope you enjoy your stay here.

I appreciate that! Seems like a good amount of people I've connected with are here or lived here before, so I'm excited to meet a bunch of people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39