Sort:  

It's absolutely my favorite part of Malaysia thus far - it's been loads of Indian food the past few days. I have some new dishes I'll be sharing pictures of in the next few days, I tried this vegetarian dish served on a banana leaf today for under $2!

That's awesome. Our currency is really week, so I guess it's really cheap when you're earning in USD. I believe there's a popular banana leaf rice at Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur or even at Brickfields. Haven't tried them myself but it was suggested but my ex-colleagues.

This is true and that's something i'm trying to adjust my mindset to - that it's not so much that it's "cheap" for locals, but rather that the local wages are different than what I'm paid in. It's just one of the aspects of travel that I adore since I'm a huge foodie, that I don't have to spend anywhere near what I would in the states to eat well.

I will have to hunt that down and try that too. This dish I had today almost had a "tex mex" taste and feel to it (not sure if you've had that, I loved it growing up as a kid). So in love with the food here :D

Remember to try bak ku teh @fatpandadesign !

What's that?

I tried this tea today call keh tal? Something like that - tea with condensed milk. So fucking good!

i think you might be trying Teh Tarik is it bubbly at the top?
Bak Ku Teh is pork soupy stew with tons of herbs inside. Eat with fragrant rice. It has a dry version which is spicy.
I think one of the Malaysian writers mentioned here not too long ago @fatpandadesign
try #teammalaysia to search for more food.
Where else are you heading?
@howtostartablog is in Malacca. Have you been there yet?

Ah yes! that's it. Couldn't remember the exact name - it was bubbly at the top like a latte :D

Oooo that sounds amazing, I'm definitely going to have to try some of that. Any good places in KL that you could recommend for it?

I definitely will search for more, I love trying everything I can.

I'll probably be in KL for a bit, looking to lay low for a little while and focus on catching up with design & crypto stuff. Afterwards I may shoot down to Singapore for a short bit just to check it out.

My friend did Malacca and said it was pretty nice as well. So I'm sure I'll end up there as well - I typically just 'drift travel' as I call it, I move slowly, explore all around the area I'm in, find the best food spots, etc.

I actually do not know anywhere in the central city that has A+ grade of Bak Ku Teh . I am asking friends as I reply you.
But the A+ grade is about 30km outside the city, a town called Klang where you can see it at @perennial 's blog post below:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@perennial/first-introduction
Klang is near the port so it is a little far and jam during peak hours.

There is a B+ grade of Bak Ku Teh closer to my area, where you can take public transport either by LRT or MRT and take a Grab taxi there.
Klang 's famous Bak Ku Teh is famous during day time because they have it for breakfast, while my area's famous during night time.

So take a look @fatpandadesign , and decide later. If you are still around in KL on Saturday, we can try to meetup for either breakfast (in Klang) or dinner (in PJ) of Bak Ku Teh! LOL.

Wow, I am loving all of these juicy details you're providing me! I feel like I have my very own pocket-Steem-tour guide LOL.

I actually saw a place there serves Bak Ku Teh yesterday, although now I can't remember which side street I saw it on ahahh.

I'll be here in KL on Saturday, yes!! I'd love to do dinner potentially, if you're still interested. Let me know - you can also reach me on Skype at: FatPandaDesign (I'll give you my WhatsApp # on there!)

ah I don't use Skype in the office! LOL.
Are you in discord @fatpandadesign ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40