3D Steemit Interchangeable Magnetic Bow Tie

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

20171004_102855.jpg

Have you ever seen a bow tie like this? I bet you never have seen something like this before! This is a 3D printed bow tie that you can change and combine the way you want within seconds!

gif_temp.gif

20171004_103319.jpg

I had a brilliant idea to attach magnets between the parts! I used two colours, green and black. The black one I named Honeycomb and the green one Trapped, you know like jail bars?

gif_temp-3.gif

Part 1

First I designed in Fusion 360

I started making a square and inserted the Steemit logo. This is the middle part of the bow, the sort of knot. The knot I made a little bit bigger than the sides. A real bow tie also has a bigger middle part. Because I wanted to have a strap I had to make square holes for the straps to go in between. I also made holes for the magnets, but somehow I forgot to add it in this picture below.

1507111844141.jpg

For "Trapped" I made first the frame and then made many lines. I extruded every other line. At the end I made the edges a bit softer/rounder using Filet.

1507111893107.jpg

For "Honeycomb" I made the pattern. First I made a hexagon and then I chose Pattern at Create and multiply the hexagon. I extruded most hexagon holes with Cut and some I left closed.

1507111941877.jpg

End result

steemit bow tie middle part.gif

steemit bow tie sides.gif

Part 2

Printed bow tie

20170930_230511.jpg

On the left side you see I removed already the support material. On the right side it is still with the support material from the 3D printer.

20171003_090927.jpg

I found out that the holes were a bit too small, so I had to drill bigger holes.

20171003_134836.jpg

20171003_135349.jpg

Time to attach the magnets with superglue. I had to open a door because the smell was very strong.

20171003_140726.jpg

Glueing magnets can be tricky! You have to mark the sides.

20171003_140918.jpg

Sewing the strap as invisible as possible!

20171003_144136.jpg

gif_temp-2.gif

20171004_103143.jpg

20171004_103406.jpg

20171004_102855_1.jpg

What do you think of this bow tie? Is it something you have never seen before or have you seen this already? . I think I know the answer! ;-).

Sort:  

"Have you ever seen a bow tie like this?" No @fathin-shihab, never.

"What do you think of this bow tie?" I think it is fabulous! Brilliant idea. You go girl, you are very very talented!

Thank you @diamondinform for stopping by and your comment. Have a nice day! :-)

Now I think I've seen everything :)

Nooooooo :-). Not yet, more to come! ;-)

Wow! This is epic!!! I love how you use your design and sewing skills to take it all to the next level. No I have never seen anything like this and I think it’s absolutely stylish, fresh and amazing!

Thank you for showing your process! How long have you had your 3D printer? You look amazing in your photos...keep on Steeming friend! Upped and Resteemed! 😊

I know this might sound crazy but one day down the road I would love to collaborate efforts with you. Working together to create a sewing/crochet design somehow. Mixing both of our talents together could be a fun experiment/post one day.

Awww, thanks again @crosheille. I just like to be creative all time. 3D designing is something new to me, I learned it few months ago. This 3D printer was first my husband's, but now he has upgraded and this one he gave to me 5-6 months ago.. It is a beginners 3D printer. Sewing and crochet together sounds like a cool idea :-). But unfortunately I live far away from you. But it's a cool experiment indeed ;-). Thanks for your up vote and esteem :-).

You are very welcome. Well you are doing a really great job for beginners work, I would never have known you only started a few months ago.

I guess it was a good thought but you are absolutely right. If only the distance wasn’t so far :) I was more so thinking of through the mail somehow but that would be crazy expensive.

yes, it's the distance. Maybe in the future where you can fly for the same price of a bus ticket and the speed would be not hours but minutes ;-)

Haaa that would be nice!! 😄

Its crazy indeed! Thanks for your upvote! ;-)

Your creativity is brilliant. Never seen the Steemit bow tie before until now. Maybe you should ask Daniel Craig to promote it for you in the next James Bond film? Thank you for taking us through your creative steps for making this too.

Thanks @makkizakki. I think it's an amazing idea! if you can get in touch with Daniel Craig and show him my magnetic bow tie, and he is willing to promote my bow tie in the next James Bond movie, I am willing to share 20% of my profit with you ;-).

The hunt for Daniel Craig is on haha. I could honestly believe seeing your bow tie design in a James Bond film. As it easily comes unattached perfect for the new latest James Bond gadget against his enemies. I`m sure it can be used to get him out of a tricky situation somehow. Your magnetic bow tie is something different and very impressive at the same time too.

Yes, lets do it! I will wait for a call from Daniel Craig, saying that he was send by you :-D.

Touch wood London can be a big but a small city at the same time.

wow that's creative use of it Interchangeable bow tie damm that's just mind blowing stuff and it really looks awesome :D

I am happy you like it too! :-)Thanks.

wow nice photos

your post is like my mind.very very nice to looking your image.
thanks for share..
upvoted

It actually stands out. I think the real bow tie is better

Art in general stands out. It is not for daily life but for fun.

That makes sense . Great effort!!!

great process images.

Yes, I like to show the steps for people to see how something like this has been made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64