Did the Steemit users just lose some type of block-chain thought experiment? Or something Worse?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I was an early up-voter on this post about the girl who is no longer addicted to Heroine. I had commented that I had a very close family member in the same situation that I lived with.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@alexica/5-years-addicted-to-heroin-my-story-told-in-pictures#@alexica/re-exitmass-re-alexica-5-years-addicted-to-heroin-my-story-told-in-pictures-20160717t223754599z

this is my personal story with an addict to explain why I make the connection at the end - scroll past it if you'd like

I still remember the time like it was yesterday when I was taking a nap after work, several years ago. And this person(the addict) and their friend were playing video games while high. I woke up to my name being YELLED throughout the apartment "JOHN! JOHN COME QUICK HE'S TURNING BLUE!" I was half asleep and so out of it, I ran right out the back door thinking the apartment was on fire. Then I heard the voice again "come quick! help me get him in the bathtub!" then again "call 9-1-1!" We didn't have good service at this apartment so I literally had to stand out the back door and yell back and forth on what was going on inside with the dispatcher. Luckily it only took the ambulance and paramedics about 5 minutes to get there.
And this person did end up surviving the overdose but it was one of the scariest moments of my life - and I was not even the one doing the drugs.
In short, I experienced a lot on my own directly and indirectly from the pressures of addiction. Paychecks being stolen and cashed out in my name, video games being sold for cash, paintball guns given away for dope. So I think I'm allowed to make this connection.

So as for the thought experiment should we up-vote and give money to someone that it might not be in their best interest to receive a large sum of money? That was one of the keys to helping the person from my story off of the drug and keeping them off - by extremely limiting their amount of funds and access to it. You can provide free meals, a free place to stay, free transportation.. free anything. But giving them cash is one of the worst things you can do.

Even in NA meetings or any anonymous meeting - they are to admit, for the rest of their life, that they are an addict.

What do you all think about this?? as an early up-voter I feel bad. Not that I have that much weight. But I'm seriously going to re-consider how I up-vote. I think giving her positive comments could be great but simply throwing money at her, nothing against the girl she seems very sweet, just isn't in her best interest. Should we all re-consider the curation power we have, especially as early adopters?

#steemit #life #health #drugs #addiction #community

Sort:  

You're complicating things too much. You'll drive yourself crazy. :-) Your job as an up voter is to recognize good content, period. Weather this or any other person is better off with more or less resources is only for the Gods to determine!

I would rather drive myself crazy than enable someone else's addiction..
In an ideal world I would agree what you said. However with many people talking about quitting their jobs and to do Steemit full time or even have the ability to make a career out of blogging that they never thought before. We hold much more power as curators than just up-voting good content. I appreciate your perspective on it though.

I do greatly appreciate your concern for your fellow human beings. It is very admirable.
Here's my point. Just as you correctly stated that the additional resources could be used to continue an addiction (in this case), the resources you potentially provide could just as easily provide the turning point for the person to get their life together.... who knows, maybe move away from the social environment that is causing the addiction.. Point is, non of us of the omnipotence to see the future and make the proper decision.

Are you going to take off your upvote? It will now cost you value to do so since it is a popular post and you were one of the first to upvote

is that really how it works? where did you learn that so I can learn more?

yes when you downvote you lose your ëarnings" from the upvote as far as i understand it

Oh I'm sorry I understand now.. this whole time I thought you meant my own upvote on my own post.. I was like - it's not that popular haha

but yeah I went to and the post was already at $0 so I even posted to the author once more to explain the situation and even if they were not a fraud on why it was better this way :)

good point.. I actually upvoted it without thinking of that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48