Please give new Steemians 5 MinutessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In recent weeks there have been a flood of new users here on Steemit. 500 to 1000 new users a day. There have been some great new additions to our community. This has meant there has been a flood of #introduceyourself posts.

 " "Hi""

Just Give 5 Minutes

One thing that stands out when you visit a place for the first time is the welcome you get.

Image Source http://www.irishcentral.com/

I am calling on all established authors, and Steemit veterans to spend 5 minutes each time they log on to go through the #introduceyourself posts, welcome some of our new community. Post a comment or upvote and point them in the right direction if they have some questions. I have been doing this the past few days and I am getting to know some great new people.

What is #introduceyourself?

This tag is used by people who wish to introduce themselves to the community. It is not required, but it serves two purposes:

  • It is a form of verification Some people post photos of themselves, other users can see your not a bot, or this account is not a fake.
  • It's also is a way for new users to get a boost with a good payout to start In the past many of these posts get a boost by being upvoted by a few whales. This is not guaranteed and unfortunately as there are so many users joining in recent days it can be a bit hit and miss. To get the best chance of a good payout you should do a good post, tell a bit about yourself and include some sort of photo. I think if you give a photo that gives an insight into your personality, that people can resonate with, you will do better.

It's never too late to do an #introduceyourself post.

Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics. Images from https://pixabay.com/ unless otherwise stated

Sort:  

I've shared a few posts where I highlighted the most interesting introduction posts I found. I think it's very important to give our new members a warm welcome. Equally important is to follow them if you think they'll be interesting later on, because not gaining any views after your initial welcome post can be very demoralising.

Foodie,
You make some great points. It can be demoralizing for the new user to start posting content that they put effort into and get zero attention. Obviously it is a jungle out there and new steemians need to grind it out for awhile to see some results, but any attention for the new user is appreciated.

Sheeps

Thank you! Luckily, many people take time out to give new members some extra attention. I have to admit though, for the longer standing user it's also hard to get the attention they were used to ;-)

I can perfectly understand that. On occasion I feel like I've entered a private club at steemit. I hope the noobs adhere to the standards that have been set here by more long term steemians.

Ah, it's basically a few members always receiving good payout, due to people following good curation rewards. Other than that, writing good blogs and comments will get you a nice following :-)

Thats a great idea. I have also resteemed a few which I felt hadn't gotten the exposure they deserved.

That's really good aswell!

I can't agree more @playfulfoodie. We need everyone's support on Steem to make it work. This isn't your typical Social Media Site. The amount of intelligent, and helpful posts here can't compare.

Thanks for this important post. I joined yesterday and spent quite a bit of time making sure my intro was just right in terms of the message I wanted to convey. Despite hardly any attention, I am not dismayed. I see Steemit as a long term project of spreading constructive informational content. I anticipate slow growth, it is not about money, but the message. I thought long and hard about following the guidelines provided by others - lots of pictures, peppy text etc. to maximize profit, but decided to stay true to the message I am going for. We'll see how it goes. I did notice there are many new additions and reading all of them isn't really possible, but for those of you that try to welcome us newbies: Thank you!

It can be hard to get noticed at first but you have done a great intro. I am following you now.

Thanks for your vote of confidence, I will try not to disappoint!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I have been so very warmly welcomed here in the past few weeks, I've gone on to do that very thing, @eroche! I look for new Steemians and point them in the direction of those that have helped and welcomed me so far. This is the most welcoming and helpful Social Platform I can say I've experienced to date. Thx, again, and Full Steem Ahead :))

It can be a bit of a maze at first. But its getting easier to navigate each day. Glad you had a good experience. 😃

Thx, @eroche, I certainly did, and will continue to! :)

Very important indeed. I am new myself, but spend at least 10 minutes per day reading some introduction posts and welcoming new members!

Well good on you @bart2305, and welcome to steemit yourself. I'll check out your blog too.

New members definitely appreciate you putting the welcoming effort in! @eroche

Thanks for mentioning us!

Thanks for stopping by and welcome to steemit.

Yeah ! Introduction Post are Great, personally done like 2-3 Posts to talk about myself. It has help me reach out to certain crowd, I have many Steemit Friends and know a lot of other Users because of this :) it really does feel like you connect with other people better by letting them get to know you better!

It is a great way to get to know people, even if you don't want to do one yourself, you can still comment on other peoples ones and you will get to know new people.

I'm new here and the thing that helped me the most were all the welcome comments I received in my first post. I also try to help new users like me

Keep it up. Everyone play a big part in building this community.

While some new once refuse to introduce themselves and choose to nose dive in.....

That is fine by me. I don't think everyone has to introduce themselves. Just for those that do, its nice to get a boost.

I think it's proper to do so.
Nobody knows you if you don't introduce yourself, except if you are a BOT!

Will do. A warm welcome is always pleasant and it's nice to make people feel welcome. I'm pretty new myself. It does sting a little when your introduceyourself post doesn't get a lot of views. So thanks for motivating others to get involved.

My first post, wasn't an introduceyourself post, I did spend ages on it though and it only got a few votes. It can be demotivating. The problem is even more acute now when we have so many new users on each day. It can be hard to get noticed at first.

Sometimes they miss the mark, and a few words of encouragement or suggestions such as using different tags may be welcome. Anything we can do to help the onboarding of new users.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39