Only The Beginning (Make-A-Wish Fundraiser Announcement)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In this past year a succession of some epic things have happened in my life. As I have mentioned before, I chased after success as a writer for almost two decades. Only after every conceivable door was slammed in my face and I still decided to write for the love of the craft did the doors begin to open. The thing that has become apparent to me this spring and summer is the real work begins when the success that you thirst for is attained. I can’t believe now how much more there is left to do at the end of every day but it is absolutely worth it.

All of the ups, the downs, and bouts of drama that have ensued in the past twelve months here on Steemit have taught me a lot. You can find whatever you’re looking for here, it's a true microcosm of the real world. Yes, the critics are correct in that there are crap posts, scammy comments, trolls, and every shade of (pardon the term) mind f*#kery imaginable…such is life.

But you know what? You can also find amazing content on Steemit, insightful comments, generous and helpful members, and a real cohesive community. I don’t see the latter anywhere else on social media right now. The real question is -- which kind of Steemit experience do you prefer? Once that question is answered, shower that content with your positive attention, upvotes, and most importantly resteems. Elevate good content ever higher on the trending page. This is how we shape the platform for the better.

The most important aspect of Steemit isn’t the money, it is the strength and richness of the community itself. Somehow, I hope we can maintain this sense of community as we attract more members. Voting with your attention, I feel, is the best way to insure we maintain our integrity.

This place has led me to some wonderful opportunities and souls. The list would be TLDR if I listed them all but, today, I would like to highlight one person in particular. I first wrote about Leon in February. In my article The Antidote to Negative News explained how I was impacted by his Netflix series The Kindness Diaries enough to contact him to thank him for his work and to ask if he would be willing to do a short interview with me.

To my complete surprise, Leon agreed to let me interview him (you can read it here.) He also endorsed my new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause. After my interactions with him I thought to myself, “Here is a someone who truly walks the talk.” At my age I realize how rare of a thing this is, someone who walks their talk.

What also struck me most about Leon was he was living the kind of life I have always wished to attain…world travel, experiencing other cultures, writing, and helping others. My wife and I plan to embark on a very similar transition soon. This will be a simple life where dreams and aspirations completely eclipse our fears, boundaries, and worry. Eventually we might get tired and want to put down roots but, for the moment, we can think of no better way to spend the next twenty years of our lives.

To kick all of this off I’d like to announce a very important initiative that we will be bringing to Steemit soon. We’ll be working with actor Edward Norton’s fundraising platform Crowdrise, to help raise money for Leon’s favorite charity, the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

Leon has donated two autographed copies of his latest books, The Kindness Diaries and Live, Love, Explore and I will donate two signed copies of The Perfect Pause. We will offer these books as a bonus, randomly, to those who contribute. The truly exciting thing is this is only the beginning.

It’s time to show the world what great things our Steemit community is capable of. I encourage others to follow in our footsteps. Thank you for reading! More details about this initiative are soon to follow.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Yeah steemit does have garbage posts and so on. But it's impossible for it to have only good content because it can't attract only the best people. But still, it's the best community I've ever seen or been on. There's so many interesting and generous people that are willing to do everything to grow steemit further. I just have one fear, as steemit will probably skyrocket in the next few years in terms of users, it could attract much more trolls and garbage posters and make it hard to find any new good content. I hope it doesn't happen !

One person's crap is another person's treasure. I love that Steemit is a true democracy!

Exactly. That was my point, Ann. Steemit is reflective of the real world.

This is so awesome Eric!!! Thank you for doing this! Very down to help and to spread the word! Your approach to life and how you manifest it on Steemit and the real world is truly inspired!

Thank you, Doug! I really appreciate the support and offer to help. Right now I'm trying to determine the best way to integrate Crowdrise. I'd really prefer not to have to handle the money part, if we could just have donations go straight to them to distribute to Make-A-Wish that would be awesome. I'm pretty sure there is a way to make that happen.

Wow, that's great news. I spent about eight months away from steemit but back now and do more reading than writing but loved your story and need to go back to read what I missed as the first time travel had just happened when I last read your work.

Welcome back! Thanks for the kind words about the novel. I'll be releasing the sequel soon.

I really appreciate authentic posts like this (from another aspiring writer) and I look forward to seeing more of your writing in the future. Hoping we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @ericvancewalton :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Thank you! What a cool gif!!

Sounds great, looking forward to this! Pretty exciting 20 years of adventures ahead of you and your wife too!

Thanks, Ruth! Hopefully it's more than 20 years but I'd definitely take 20. Neither of us have seen much of the world. Our trip to Amsterdam last November was our first time in Europe. We have our work cut out for us! Lol

great work I'd say ;-))

I'm so happy for you! Things are starting to come together and it couldn't have happened to a more deserving guy.

You get what you give, Eric and you give such a lot. <3

More power to your elbow, well done and congratulations!

Thank you very much, Michelle! I've been a lucky guy these past few years and I just feel an obligation to spread it around a little. I hope you and your husband are enjoying summer! We still haven't given up on Lisbon, we might make it.

I'm new to steemit ,this is my 5th week. What a fantastic platform and and an amazing community . I'm still learning so much on a daily basis and haven't had the chance to do many of my own posts Every one has been really helpful and i hope it continues like that.

There is tons of support here. Never hesitate to reach out to anyone with questions. I've found most people to be more than helpful. There is somewhat of a learning curve to the platform but it doesn't take long to learn.

This is such an awesome collaboration for a great cause!

Thank you, Ann! It's going to be fun. : )

I am so touched by your post. You wrote the very things many people are thinking about. I can relate to everything you said about Steemit, success, trials and tribulations, perseverance, critics, missing something within, life's desires, life's challenges, the ups and downs, etc. I know with great success there can be great disappointments. With abundance there can be false relations. But the beauty of this journey is that despite it all, you have been blessed with meeting Leon Logothetis and others like him. Sometimes it takes that one chance meeting of someone who is so grounded and spiritual like you, and it can lift you up so high that you fly. In this case you have been inspired to take a journey with your wife to experience real life out there with real people.

I am so happy you are doing something with Leon and Make a Wish. The beautiful joy you will feel will be so great that in turn, you will be richly rewarded in knowing that you made someone happy. I worked in a hospital for 30 plus years as an Occupational Therapist in Rehabilitation. Making someone whole again fills one's heart to last a lifetime. I've seen and felt the appreciation from these patients who were real and loving. I know you will experience the same in your endeavor to help Make a Wish.

Finally, your interview with Leon was very insightful. Because he was bullied when young, he must have know the pain and suffering a victim can feel. This experience has made him the man he is today. I will look for "The Kindness Diaries" and try to find his series on Netflix. You wrote an excellent post and I totally support and encourage your plans for your world travel to experience real life. Here's to the success of the Make a Wish program on Steemit! Congratulations! ......Cabbagepatch :D

Thank you! I'm glad you connected with it, @cabbagepatch. I really felt it necessary to be truthful about some of the negatives. As in real life, what you put your attention on is magnified, so I try to support good, positive content.

Wow, 30 years as an Occupational Therapist! I have a lot of respect for people in the healing professions. I'm sure you helped a lot of people yourself and have great memories of that. That sounds like it could be a great post, or a series of posts!

Yes, Leon was bullied. Isn't it amazing when someone takes a negative experience like that and succeeds in spite of it? You would love the series on Netflix. I was really down and out this past February after the election and all of the negative news that ensued. I found that documentary and it lit me up again. It really pulled me out of the funk to be reminded of all of the goodness in the world. You would never know it from watching main stream media. Thanks again for your comment! Enjoy your day!

Eric, the thing I really like about you is that you are so sincere, honest, good spirited and connected to your internal being. Not many people have the same level of awareness as you. I think that I was born sensitive and ever since I was around 8 years old, I wanted to help others. That is why I went into rehabilitation. I found that, in my job, when I inspired my patients to reach into their inner belief that they can get better, they did. A stroke patient who couldn't move his arm, regained most of his arm usage after exercise and more importantly being inspired to believe again. The love that I got from the patients and their families was so rewarding, that they refilled my soul with happiness and purpose.

I'm glad that you expressed your concern about the negative people who try to take advantage of the hard working, positive people. I agree, so what I've learned do to is stop following those who may be using me and turn my focus on the real people who matter. I am much happier that way and it has made a major difference.

Lastly, I am so happy that Leon was able to turn a horrible situation into a positive one. There are many bullies out there looking for victims to destroy so that they can feel powerful. I don't like the cruelty that people do to others so that is why I am so happy you are trying to inspire everyone you come into contact with. I also wanted to tell you that, I too had suffered from anxiety to the point where panic attacks almost destroyed my life. It was an arduous struggle to overcome the physical symptoms but with determination and support of my family, I was able to go on to have a better life. That is why I am so passionate to help others like me.

You've given me some excellent ideas for a new post. I will think about it and when I have my act together, I may do a series either on panic attacks or the healing arts. Thank-you so much for being you. You really restore my faith in humanity, especially during these terrible days of racism, hatred and tension. I also am looking forward to Leon's participation in Steemit. He sounds so amazing! :D

Thank you! That kind of work is what life is all about, contributing to something larger than yourself. The universe works in beautiful ways because when you open yourself up to that spirit of giving the universe provides for you, as I'm sure you've experienced. I really am excited to be connected to more people who "get" that concept. This "every person for themselves" mentality that is so prevailant today has the opposite of the intended affect--it keeps people from experiencing happiness and abundance. I so appreciate your comments, @cabbagepatch. It would be great to meet some day.

Yes that's true.. I have joined one month ago and even when I post something good.. most them never get upvotes for that.. I have 300+followers but they don't even look on my posts.. I mean I see those viewers on my post sometimes they are like 8- 10-20 but whats that 300 followers when they don't even look.. and I mean if I don't mind if they don't upvote but atleast 100 of them look at my post but never happened that from my day one. And hope to do good one.. because it's my starting and still exploring it's ups and downs... And connecting with people around the world ..

My advice would be to keep working and engage as much as you can with others. I know it can be frustrating when you are pouring so much energy and emotion into your posts and they're not getting engagement but the more you interact with the community, the more they will get to know you, and then the support will come.

Thankyou so much sir.. I'm trying my best I know sometime people might think I post anything just to earn.. but I have both reasons yes I want to earn too but first I want to connect them too... I dont know why but sometimes when I try to connect them through steemit chat then people think that I'm spamming them just for upvote.. and I got blocked too but trust me I always wanted to have some talk. I know it will take some more time but I will try my best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68