Maintain And Manage Account Authorities

in #steemit6 years ago

maintainmanage.png

With all the exciting and new things that are endless being developed to make our lives easier on Steemit some of us give out a lot of posting permissions to varies apps, sites, and other entity.

After recent events, I noticed some people have a lot of apps that have access to using posting permission. As we all should; but, usually forget to check in on our witness votes to make sure we are currently happy with who we are voting for. The same needs to be done for other elements of our accounts such as authorities.

Do you currently have a bunch of applications and sites that have posting key rights to your account that you no longer use? After asking some people this question I got another question back “how do find out?”


No one else is listed along side my public keys

The easiest method that I know is using a site like https://steemd.com/@enjar (change the last bit to your account name) where they have an Authorities section listing public keys and who has authorized access to such things like posting key on the left-hand side as you scroll down a little.

Keep in mind that that this is not foolproof by any means. You could have used an application or site that request your private keys and they did not become listed in this section. I’m not an expert by any means on this.

Recent Event

upvote.png

Recently I was informed that a 100% upvote went towards a post that I myself did not place and I did not want to support that post.

In the past, I did sign up for a site to try and automate my voting with hopes of using some of their other services it provided. With that came terms of use and while I don’t recall them ever using in the past my upvote for themselves I was not happy with their decision to do it now.

I never really used them much and I failed to maintain removing their posting permissions. As such, they decided to use my upvote to promote a post.

I was just going chalk this up to my mistake and life lesson learned and move on.

Except I found out not only did they announce the service first was going to shutdown but then they found a way to reopen and they use my upvote to promote that.

Since I don’t use the service anymore and I am left wondering why now use my upvote if they appear to be on the way out. I felt the safest thing to do was just revoke permissions. I can always re-enable those permissions down the road if and when trust is earned back and confidence is built on whatever future that site has.

I did so using this so I did not need to log into their site.

https://v2.steemconnect.com/revoke/@streemian

Please remember to maintain and manage account authorities . If you are not using something then why let them have your posting key or more? You never know what they might do with it even more so if you are not paying attention to updates or ownership changes.

Information

Screenshots taken, art created, and content written by @enjar

enjar_blue_footer.png

Sort:  

This is some damn good info. And why I have never give my keys to anyone. Yes it can cause unintentional shit to happen. I hope people take this More seriously. Resteemed

Thanks, I noticed we had a few members that where using the one mentioned.

There are allot of people handing their keys out

Really useful post. I had streemian use my vote the same way today without my permission. Revoked their access immediately. I signed up for them a long time ago as part of the minnowsupportproject. I don't like giving permission to outsiders to use my account and this showed why it is good to keep an eye out on your account.

I have always been rather heisted to install applications that run on top of Steemit or try many other services just due to the risk.

Many of them are wonderful it just becomes a risk vs reward and having to keep an eye on things.

I have given my key to shadowbot
Is there any precautions i need to take care of?
Or is there anything i should know?

I have no idea what that even is there are endless amount of things out there. It is up to you do have own your own research and weigh the risk vs reward in using what ever service they provide for sharing your key with them.

If it was something like your posting key then it never hurts to check in on your account from time to time make sure you are not up voting anything strange that you did not authorize or where not aware of that they would. Along with anything being posted you did not write yourself.

If it is somthing you are no longer using then its best to remove them. Most sites provide that option on them to unhook the account.

Thanks for the info! I used it to revoke permissions from Streemeian which was really easy. Didn't realise I could use it to revoke others too. Very useful!

Really great info and good to shar eit and get the info out there

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Steemit all the way.
Great post tnx for sharing I just upvoted.
Check out my new posts if you can plz
upvote resteem comment @gclipse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63