Sort:  

Great post! I think that I am not alone with this. I am starting to use steemit primarily for my blogging. However, Steemit is quickly becoming my primary social network. So at times I will post feelings, jokes, pictures that I don't really expect anyone to upvote. I just felt like sharing these low value posts.

However, I also use Steemit as a blog intended to spark thought, conversation or education. Those are the posts that I think are upvote ready.

Thanks @joelfriedman68! It's completely replaced the others for me too.

There's nothing inherently wrong with doing that, if people enjoy them then you're doing a good job.

The blogs are king in my eyes, both the writer & the reader learn something when they provoke thought & discussion.

Thanks for your comment.

I found you via some low minnow account where you posted this link of help. You gained directly a follower and a vote. This are common sense things to follow and would help only increase the value of steem as a platform.

Thanks and keep up the good work.

Hi @alexvan, I'm really pleased that you found it useful.

I think common sense is a misnomer, it's way less common than the name suggests :)

I like how Zig Ziglar put it:

You can have everything in life you want, if you will just help other people get what they want.

Good ol' Zig. Very good quote, even now more actual then at his time. With the spread of internet you can reach almost everybody. I've read some of your posts and they are solid. You will easy climb to 500 followers in the next 2 months

Be Authentic

This is by far the most important I think. In a room where everyone is shouting, the one what whispers will be taken most seriously.

Sage advice if I ever heard it!

You forgot.

Make it as short as possible with no connection to the title or tags

Haha, my bad! Thanks for your input :)

Must. Not. Break. 500 word. SEO booster!!

Good advices! Thanks for sharing

No problem @tzimis, thanks for reading!

Congratulations @elliotjgardner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So that's the secret! I'm off to write some sh!tty content now. Thanks for the tips

But seriously, good post. Your joke is fun and your tips on writing good content are all valuable.

:) Can't wait to see what you come up with.

I completely agree. Even if my posts are low value low following to start, I can build them up. Granted the occasional "Hey look I made an awesome payout!" isn't too bad because it can serve to motivate others. Outside of that though, I resteem and upvote stuff if it's of value to me, and I post stuff that I find fascinating to share!

I always credit original sources, paraphrase instead of quoting where possible, and try to distinguish between opinion and source referenced information.

@timeshiftarts I'm glad to hear that you're doing all those things. Sounds like a recipe for success :)

Well, you just explained how people make more money than I do. Although it is too early to say if the fork made a difference. People will need to think more whom they up vote. Of course it can be that my posts just suck and people don't want to read them, but my impression is that crappy posts are easy to write, and you can push many of them out and maybe 1/10 is a hit and makes you a few bucks. But when you go for quality with a low reputation score, people aren't too inclined to read what you want to post.

Anyway, what I want to say with this is, that it comes down to consistent quality in the end. At least that is what I believe, and am therefore continuing with that. :)

I'm glad to hear that you're going to stick it out. It's much better to work up to the hundreds than to get yourself stuck at the bottom.

Congratulations @elliotjgardner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65