The Louvre and Maximizing the Value of SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The Louvre is the world’s largest museum and probably the most valuable storehouse of historical and artistic treasures on earth.

This amazing place has infinite value for two simple reasons:

  1. Content. The Louvre contains more than 380,000 objects. It includes a vast collection paintings, drawings, sculpture, antiquities, and jewelry from all over the world dated from prehistory through the 21st century. The Louvre holds many of the world’s most famous treasures such the Mona Lisa, the Venus De Milo, and the Code of Hammurabi fashioned by the world’s most creative minds. You can view works by Da Vinci, Michelangelo, Rembrandt and a constellation of other artists, known and unknown.

  2. Curation. Of the 380,000 objects, only about 35,000 are on display. That means that around 350,000 are in storage. The Louvre contains 652,000 square feet of display space. That is more that eleven football fields of space. More than 2,000 employees work to care for, secure, organize, and catalog these works so that they don’t deteriorate, get lost, or get stolen. They must display these items in a way that is accessible to each of 7.4 million annual visitors.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louvre

What does this have to do with Steemit? Well, I was trying to read the Steemit White Paper (https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf), as all good Steemians should, when I found a quote discussing the Steemit voting model. Page 6 of the Section entitled “Recognizing Contribution” includes the following:

“Under this model, members have a financial incentive to vote in a way that maximizes the long-term value of their STEEM.”

The quote made me think about our responsibility as members and how I should act to maximize the long-term value of Steem? It appears clear that our ability to create and curate, the same factors that make the Louvre the most valuable 652,000 square feet on earth, will determine if Steemit becomes the most valuable social media platform on the internet.

Imagine that Steemit is an amazing, infinite display gallery. The designer generously allows each of us an unlimited space to display our best content. We can fill this space with valuable projects or we can litter the space with attempts to grab attention.

The gallery designer then turned the gallery over to us. As curators we influence the duration and order in which work is displayed. We can arrange an endless exhibit of interesting work for millions of visitors or we can fill the space with nonsense that a viewer must endlessly dig through for valuable posts. We determine what work is on display and what goes to storage.

Which approach will maximize the value of Steem?

Now, I cannot paint a Mona Lisa. Earlier this week I posted a picture of a turkey outside my office window. I will never produce a work that changes the course of human history such as the Code of Hammurabi. My most valuable post so far is about how I hate my bathroom scale because he is a liar. But as I post and vote on Steemit I am going to try to take seriously the fact that we determine the ultimate value of Steem.

Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

I love the view :) nice

I have never visited the Louvre but I have visited the Orsay Museum. It was very worthwhile visiting but a bit crowded. I like the comparison you are making here.

I think one thing about all these great works is that they really were not created in a vacuum and some were not even recognized as such during the lifetime of the artist.

Some of us keep posting things on Steemit with an attempt to grab attention and work at it with limited success. Yet some of this stuff could be a catalyst for more elaborate works by others.

I really like the free flowing nature of Steemit and the fact that you can grow your abilities while posting things. Some of the less popular material could even become very interesting to view at some future point - it is hard to say.

I agree. I sometimes wish Steemit had a means of highlighting old posts so they don't disappear into oblivion so quickly.

Sorry to disappoint, but I can't take credit for the photo, although I think it is a great one.

absolutely the most valuable museum from Europe, I don't know if there is one in Dubai

Have you ever visited the Louvre? Some friends of mine visited last week, but I have never had a chance to go.

Nothing yet, I am planning to visit France next year :D

Very good points, and the comparison to the Louvre is nice, and I will try to follow your lead.

Hey thanks! I dive as well and my son @the-scuba-sherpa works for a scuba shop here in Omaha. I know seems like a strange place for a scuba shop. Check out his blog. He posts lots of scuba related photos and video. Where is you favorite place to dive?

Already following him. The wife and I spent five years in the Cayman Islands, so that is pretty high up the favourite list. Also love Bonaire.

Our first dive trip was to the East End of Grand Cayman. That is still our favorite dive trip. Have not been to Bonaire yet, but it is the top of everyone's list here.

I never do this, but I just posted a bunch of photos from the two times I've been to the louvre. You are right, a lot of the work in here may be on par, some may just be a zeitgeist. Only time will tell, but your my eighty year old self, so I'm telling you nothing you don't know.

I have some great friends that visited last week. Great photos! Everyone should check them out.

https://steemit.com/travel/@bleedpoet/bon-paris-pour-tu-part-deux

Great post, fantastic place!

Congratulations @eightyyroldself! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @eightyyroldself! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83