Bon Paris, pour tu, part deux

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

Ten years after, not just a great band. I returned to the city on much better footing, on my own dime and with my wife, Tashi and our two year old. If none of this is making sense, check out Part 1 (insert link here). Last trip I summed up as absinthe and cigarettes, this trip I would sum up as Sushi and elevators.

Day Un

We hit up the Louvre, cause I loved it the first time and wanted to share it with my family. Good news is, with a toddler you skip the lines, bad news, toddlers don't give a f*ck about art.

image.jpegObservest thou?

image.jpeg 10 years ago this was just another portrait

image.jpegMummies!! (sorry, my humour gets worse daily)

image.jpegOl' fashioned road rage

image.png Elevator!!

I'll admit two year olds love elevators, and it got to me. I wanted to share the beauty and wonder, where as Bear was running elevator to elevator, when not on an elevator he was searching for the next one, tugging on me to hurry through, after two hours of that, I almost snapped. It's laughable now, but I was starting to quit smoking at the time and my nerves were frayed.

image.jpegLuckily my wife carries patience where my runs thin. With me and him

image.jpegThere's an Italian chic somewhere over there, I found this old fella much more relatable

image.jpeg Tashi was the unfortunate victim of this panorama

image.jpegI'll lie and say this was the first time people saw TV

image.jpegFound my favorite piece of art and took it home with me

That was about the day, besides a gin and juice at a cafe, Bear falling off a chair and shit fitting, then heading home to sleep.

Day Deux

image.jpegLittle French breakfast

image.jpegCool car I saw at the Toyota flagship on Charles de Gaulle.

image.jpeg
Arc de Triumph, slightly photo bombed

image.jpegBack to Sacre le Couer, didn't remember a slide at the bottom last time.

With a dying phone battery I left my wife to take pictures for awhile, we took an obligatory moulin rouge shot then caught the bus to the Eiffel Tower, first visit I walked it no problem, this time they wouldn't let me.

image.jpegBus riders

image.jpegOne fine day

image.jpegOne tired Bear

Jour Trois

With everything we wanted to get done covered, this was finally a free day to explore. We went to get breakfast then ice cream

image.jpegMy wife in her lovely yellow sun dress she bought in Camden, London days earlier.

image.jpegSlides across Europe, feel free to comment with your favorite slide

image.jpegAt Palais Luxumbourgh, may look like a panorama fail, but he dropped I dropped his first cone by accident, so this double cone shot was fitting

image.jpegWe found an awesome park for kids, at Palais Luxumbourgh, definitely suggest it for kids 2-12, especially if you already dragged them through the Louvre
image.jpeg

Picture malfunctioned :( picture child chasing pigeons on cobblestone by a church, can't insert photos in re-editPigeons, entertaining kids since... Forever?

It's around this time in the blog I wonder if I wouldn't be better served with a computer, this post has taken me almost 2hrs to put together, and I'll be lucky if it cracks $20. I do this for love, and the fact I've been out of work since late May. I start a new gig Tuesday working for a company called STM... What are the freakin chances, eh? So I leave you with a few more photos, the next day we left for Zurich and the greatest surprise of the trip. For another day perhaps, I'm sure your as tired of this post as I am by now, unless, get this, you never read it. I hate to look a gift horse in the mouth, but when I get 10 views and 12 up votes, I wonder who benefits. Again, it's not really about the money, it's about sharing, I'd almost get rather have 12 views and 10 up votes, at least then I can assume the content was at least scanned. But if you are reading this, it's not for you, just food for thought I guess.

image.jpegOne of the most beautiful places in the world you can by roasted nuts

image.jpeg Switched to black and white, cause that orange jacket, while handy, sucked the color out of the surroundings

image.jpeg Proof of handiness? Spot the Bear

image.jpegThat was a very nice day... What's for dinner?

image.jpegRaw snails at sushi!!

image.jpegLeave a :b in the comments if you agree.

Bonus slow motion jump in the courtyard of the Louvre. mov

Sort:  

"Luckily my wife carries patience where my runs thin. With me and him"

That is beautiful!

In the end, it seems you realized that elevators can be just as beautiful as art... if you look at them through a two year olds' eyes.

Great post man. Good luck at your new job!

Thank you, gonna miss hanging out here, but alas reality calls.
I'm all for accessibility, but the louvre wasn't originally designed for wheelchairs and strollers, there is an elevator or lift between each small section. As a big believer that those elevators should be reserved for handicapped and the elderly, having my boy treat them like a merry-go round, tugging my shirt to go on to the next one, yelling 'Daddy Come' I got pissy.
My wife was a champ, she laughed it off and kept the bear entertained, off my shirt so I could at least observe what I'd hoped to share.
Thinking back later, the Louvre really is a wonderland, a veritable theme park of elevators. You're quite right, art is wherever you feel it.

I'm partly to blame for his fascination, whenever he was bored at airports, I'd take him on elevators escalators and moving sidewalks, a regular poor mans world fair, 7 laps on a moving sidewalk to tucker him out for the flight. 😄😴

Kids need to move!

"I'd take him on elevators escalators and moving sidewalks, a regular poor mans world fair, 7 laps on a moving sidewalk to tucker him out for the flight. "

Good for you!

But your desire to leave the elevators open for people who need them is really cool.

That is one adorable family @bleedpoet !

Glad you guys enjoyed Paris together :p

😜 thanks for reading @brainsick, I have to admit, the snails did have a gross oysters grit to them, but the flavor wasn't bad, like a dry clam.

10 years is like two different life times

And I two very different people and yet exactly the same in many ways, life is odd in its way.

Love the portrait with the guy whose pointing with the cowboy hat, lol. Looks like you had a great time aswell!

That's Joesph Decreux, and the best part? It's a self portrait 😄 Buddy built that beauty long ago out of paint, a brilliant piece ahead of its time.

Looks like you had a very nice and very different trip to Paris this time. I took my 3 to The Met this spring. They are 12, 9, and 6 and they still don't give a F*ck about art! Ha. I wonder when that will change?

Must be something that comes with time and knowledge, the more I learned about artists, the better I could appreciate what and why they painted like they did. When you realize Monet was painting when cameras were becoming popular, and he could capture the tranquility that no camera ever could, or Van Gohgs mental issues driving his brush strokes. All things in time.

What a better place to be with your loved ones than in the city of love?

Happy Friday ⭐️

You could say it was a lovely time 😄♥️ Have a grandiose Friday.

You too my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62