By This Time Tomorrow, I'll be Cashing Out on Steemit for the First Time Ever!

in #steemit7 years ago

My first week on Steemit has been an incredibly exciting journey so far, complete with euphoric ups and bleak-hearted downs. I think every newbie minnow like myself gets some decent upvotes for their introduceyourself post here's mine, incidentally :D and becomes starry-eyed at the thought of of every post being like that only for reality to set in once your next five go through with nothing much.

I've been fortunate enough to get one more high-ish upvote post - and you better trust and believe I will be doing some analytics on this later (exams start Tuesday, wish me luck :D) - but suffice it to say, posts that offer actual utility to Steemians are rewarded and that's awesome.

Anyway, analytics! Later! In the coming month! Because exams! For now, I just want to bask in how hyped I am again!

People are flooding into this platform every second (not the fewest of which are from Naija aka Nigeria, my country) and as they see posts like this one, more and more of them will get sucked into the Rube Goldberg machine that is the Steemit incentivization system (which turns us into better posters) until we hit critical mass and the rest of the social media landscape become ... altnetworks lol

As I have said before, Steemit is the premier way to turn literacy into lucre. Nobody is offering anything that can beat that.

Anyway, gotta go study! Peace out, see you on the moon! 🚀🚀🚀

Sort:  

I haven't made my introducemyself post yet, I've felt like posting other things. But congrats on you cashing out! I hope I make enough to turn into Steem. Of course, I'll have to learn how to do it first :).

When I do cash out, I'll probably post about the actual process of SBD>BTC>naira via Blocktrades or whatever. If the BTCpocalypse of August 1st 2017 affects it for me in any way (or doesn't), I'll post about that too :D

Be here for that and feel free to learn from any mistakes I make or don't make :D

Okay :) I'll look forward to it.

So, I'm super new to Steemit and I really love that we're incentivized to make quality posts. One thing I'm confused about by your post. You say you've been here for a week and you're already cashing out. I thought it made more sense (at least in the beginning) to build up as much Steem power as possible. Am I doing it wrong by keeping everything in Steem power?

Am I doing it wrong by keeping everything in Steem power?

Not at all! Depends entirely on your particular life situation! Me, I need cash, cash and more cash and I need it last year sooooo ... yeah. Also, I'm in Nigeria. Even $15 dollars (which is about what I'll be getting unless something magical happens in the next 24 hours) changed into naira is a ... useful sum of money.

Also, I really want to actually post about the cashing-out process from a first-hand perspective for other people who are waiting to join because they think Steemit is a scam ¯_(ツ)_/¯

But yeah, if I were more affluent, I'd be 100% Steem Power all the way. As is, I did go 100% on my very first post on purpose and a few others by accident. The rest, I'll be sticking with 50/50 for the foreseeable future.

Good to know! All of my Steem has come from doing some surveys and installing apps via a website that pays out in Steemit, so the money bit isn't real for me yet. :)

Congratulations @edumurphy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50