Huge Obstacle to Steemit Uptake in Africa and The Developing World.

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

Hi

🙏

A huge obstacle to Steemit uptake in the untapped markets of #Nigeria (and other African countries no doubt) is the staggering data consumption of spending an active 10 minutes on the site. I know, I just noticed today myself.

Steemit needs an ultra-basic paginated no-java version for those of us in the developing world -- and really, anyone who just wants to conserve data. Something like the mbasic.facebook.com version of Facebook.

So for the meantime, I stick to Opera Mini for browsing/taking note of quality content and only dip into Chrome to post my already-composed-offline posts.

Those of you viewing this via the #nigeria or #africa tag, please please please resteem this so it can reach the eyes of people both willing and able to make it happen. To those of you that are coders that can actually do this, I don't have much to offer in the way of Upvotes as an incentive (being a brand-new minnow and all) but there are a LOT of potentially-grateful minnows out here waiting and praying for you to save them. Not to mention the Steemit ecosystem is built to reward exactly contributions like this.

So yeah. That's all I've got. Thanks so much for reading.

Sort:  

Dissable images. Its the images that kill you data, especially when people place gifs etc.

I do it whenever I am on an expensive data connection.

upvoted for vsibility...

Brilliant stopgap measure, I didn't even think of that 🙂

Excellent point.

I think many of us in the West don't even think of these sorts of issues.

Thank you for highlighting it.

Perhaps we need a "Steemit-Basic" website and/app exactly for this purpose - it would be useful for any place where bandwidth is restricted.

Exactly! Steemit-Basic! With an option for hiding pics and video unless you explicitly click for it AND/OR reduced quality images.

Wow nice article bro

Much appreciated, Mr @voski

Hi, thanks for your interesting post. Welcome to my blog @evgenya

Thank you. Ironically, you then posted a nice big gif just proving my point 😂

Oh, have a Follow anyway 😂

Good looking out for the community. Such a kind gesture. I resteemed and upvoted your post. Looking forward to more of your posts! :)

Thankyouthankyouthanksomuch! 😃 Here's hoping it reaches the right pair of eyes soon.

Hello, please follow the rules in the group Resteem to be Resteemed !

Ahhhhh ... okay? I will do so.

EDIT: I have resteemed.

I also resteemed this post 👉 https://steemit.com/travel/@jonsnow1983/game-of-thrones-impact-in-tourism#@edumurphy/re-jonsnow1983-game-of-thrones-impact-in-tourism-20170726t084914737z

to fully balance the scales and (hopefully) be fully in accordance with the rules. Thanks for correcting the error.

you are welcome to post now ☺

Resteemed done

Sweet! I am already seeing the benefits. Much obliged.

Of course you are right if the only option is mobile. Have you tried to browse through beta.chainbb.com? A different layout that at least feels snappier.

Excellent points...and re-steemed.

Thank you so much for the kind resteem! 😃

this problem in Nigeria has caused me problems with a contract. I was working with a professional accounting body in Nigeria, but my course online are video and rendering was a big problem. I can not offer a good service in Nigeria :-(

Yes oooo. Like most things in Naija, na money kill am. It shouldn't be that way but we fight with the army we have not the army we wish we had.

In the meantime, Steemit will help you, both in money and exposure to newer better clients 🙂👌👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86