O.M.Gods. I just bought something with the steem I earned through steemit. And it feels good.

in #steemit7 years ago

Enlight1 2.jpg

You know the story. You've seen it before. Local kid comes good and bought a car though his crypto profits...

Well, I didn't buy a car (and I wouldn't anyway - our family prius MoonRover rocks), and I didn't buy gold or a house. Nothing so spectacular.

But I did buy some thing real. Something outside the steemit system - and OMGods it feels awesome.

Steemit really works!

I remember reading when I was brand new (was it really only a couple of months ago??) someone saying that for your first really big rewards you should sell and buy something real, to make it real.

Well, I didn't. I powered up - which is still the best option at least until you reach an appropriate goal. Well, I recently reached a huge goal of mine on steemit (see: https://steemit.com/steemit/@drwom/my-2-cents-of-awesome-giving-back-to-steemit).

And yesterday I decided, finally, to reward myself.

You see, the fantastic @bulleth has recently drawn my attention to @dan 's new blockchain project EOS (Epic Operating System). Don't panic, he isn't abandoning steem/it, he's making it better (see: https://steemit.com/steemit/@drwom/the-steem-2017-roadmap-check-it-out).

Check out bulleth's post here - I totally recommend it: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@bulleth/eos-is-a-bloody-bargain-right-now-conservative-price-targets

So, I did my research, and watched the vids, noted that, as bulleth says, what Dan does actually works, and took a punt. I withdrew 133 steem I had built up on steemit, I sold a few other cryptos I was dabbling in, and I bought 186 EOS.

Screen Shot 2017-08-22 at 12.19.02 pm.png

Check it out - that's not insignificant. $243 USD is not insignificant.

This shit is real.

We can do it together.

We will succeed together.

We can do it!

Full steem ahead!

U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

Steem logo mashed with photo courtesy of pixabay.com, EOS screenshot from my Exodus wallet.

Check out my steemography for more posts on life, creativity and other subjects :-)
https://steemit.com/steemography/@drwom/track-your-original-content-through-the-steemography-hashtag-drwom-ograhy-1-74-days

drwom-01.png

@DrWom and #teamaustralia footers by the fabulous @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Awesome post! It's great to see all the things people can do with their Steemit rewards. As a beginner to Steemit, posts like these make me even hungrier to continue steemin' on. Thanks for sharing @drwom.

Thanks Dylan
We can all get there - keep posting great content!

Congratz @dewom! The is the best community ever! Cheers!

Hey there starttoday - it surely is :-)
Thanks for dropping by!

congrats @drwom .. I am planning to do something big with what I earned here too.. cant wait for the time to come :D

Ha yes - and this is just the beginning :-)

Good for you!! You deserve the reward. You've probably worked really hard for it. So awesome to see that. :) Thanks for sharing. It gives hope to all the minnows out there.

Thanks Boomshikha

Wicked! I like how your idea of buying something 'real' is buying a different type of "magic internet money" - that's about all I'm concerned with atm too!

Haha
I know, right?
And what's not to love about magic internet money?

Give a shot at buying something tangible with the funds next time, perhaps something you need and use daily, I purchased a mouse and keyboard, this makes me very happy. :)

Yep - my first real purchase is probably going to be to replace my iPad and iPhone :-)
Let's see how long that takes!

Nice job DrWom!

Thanks CN
Back at ya!

Nice. i did the same. First dabble in something other the main cryptos. Congrats.

Ha - cheers. Thanks Scooter

Big ballin'! I haven't bought anything yet with my Steem because I always power up, but this morning, I tried to withdraw and converted it to BTC. So far, no bids yet. (Maybe I set my price too high)

Anyhoo, congrats on your first reward. It's a great invested @drwom! :)

Yay us!
Well done pinaynomad 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53