Diving in to Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

You won't find many photos of me on the internet. I've had a personal policy against it for several years.

swim.jpg

Here I am leaping from the front of my aluminum rowboat into a cold Canadian lake, mid summer, 12 years ago. It would have been a fishing (drinking) trip with 3 or 4 of my friends. My family had a cabin on that lake (out of picture to the right). My Grampa helped my Dad build it when I was a toddler.

My grandparents died, leaving my parents a lot of money and stuff. This caused my family to fall apart. Somewhere in there, my parents sold the cabin. I guess they needed just a little bit more cash.

What I wouldn't do for one more evening sitting around that campfire. The cabin was there for me for 35 years. I don't remember my life before it. It's the only place (other than my grandparents' house) that has always been there for me. Grampa had told me as a child that I'd be bringing MY grandchildren up there, someday.

He was a quiet but fiercely intelligent man, a deep thinker. He served for Canada in that hopeless world war, the second, saving many lives as a medic. He came home with TB and was given weeks to live. Later, he was given months to live. He gardened, he read, he solved puzzles, he loved puns, he collected stamps, he whistled under his breath, he stood in the back of the room to watch hockey games, he loved my grandmother, and I never heard him say a negative thing about anyone. He lived until about ten years ago.

My grandmother taught me about unconditional love. She loved lillies, but hated her first name Lilly, instead preferring her second, Joyce. Grama gave me Smarties when I was good as a little boy, she came to all my graduations through school and college, and she flew to New Zealand to see me as soon as I was born. In my memory of her, she's smiling and ageless, and all I can feel coming from her is love. She fell on her kitchen floor 2 years ago, and died the next day. I was with her until the end.

They're gone, their house is gone, their cabin is gone, and their family is gone.

I learned in group therapy (it's free in BC, but it's almost totally useless) that everything changes. Nothing is forever. Nothing bad, and nothing good either. It all changes. I already knew that, of course, but having somebody tell me made it sink in. Even great families eventually fall apart.

But here I am, diving in to the blockchain, plunging into the cold waters of decentralization!

My mission is to spread love and banish fear. Thanks, Grama and Grampa!
And someday, I'm going to buy back the cabin, with Steem. :)
<3
DRutter

Sort:  

I saw your post featured on the Whaleshares Curation Show. Congratulations on that!

I appreciate you sharing such a meaningful part of yourself in this post. Even though your grandparents are gone and the house is gone, they are deeply rooted in who you are which makes your mission destined to succeed. I am following you so I can watch you spread that love! <3

Hi, thank you for reading and commenting!
Sometimes the unplanned from-the-heart posts are the best, aren't they? A good photo, some emotion, and a bit of writing can come together well. :)
I appreciate what you said, and it sounds like it comes from a place of personal understanding. I've had much the same thought myself, and been told that by others whose advice I respect. Thank you again.
Nice to meet you! Oh, my name's Daron if you prefer, I always just go by DRutter online and forget my manners. I sometimes even forget to spread love, too, and for that I apologize in advance. Definitely 0% hate though! I'm working my way toward forgiving my parents for what they did, even if they don't apologize. Pretty sure that's what Grama would want, and it's best for my sanity I think! <3

Your sanity is at the top of the priority list. I support you in the letting go. That unconditional love piece is the key. First we need to find it for ourselves and then the rest seems to fall into place and, yes, that does come from a place of personal understanding. <3

I miss the cabin! :(

Remember when I took that 45 minute high-resolution (for my old camera anyway) video clip of the entire cabin, inside and out? It was probably 2014 or so. I said it was "to recreate the cabin when we had the technology". I don't think we have it yet, but with blockchain and other advancements happening now, I can see it happening easily within our lifetimes :)
Or we'll just win the game here on Steemit, and buy it back next summer!

Great post to resteem to our excellent followers, thanks!!

upvoted... bet you could smoke a lot of weed off that boat.

Thank you for the up-boat!

Great read @drutter. When YOUR steem cabin finally opens, I'd love to come photograph it for you.

Thanks again @sloe. I'll be very honoured to take you up on that someday. It's a gorgeous area for photography just about every day of the year.

Oh, I TOTALLY understand! My parents bought a cabin when I was 5, I was told it would be part mine my entire life. It was supposed to be split into 7 lots, one for each kid. It never happened, and one sister inherited it. She kept it for a few years, then up and sold it without even offering to let any of us buy it. She sent me a check with a nasty note about how she did not have to do that... It was weird. After my dad died, my family really pulled together for Mom. After Mom died, we just hardly speak any more.

enjoy your dive down the rabbit hole of blockchain my friend!

Thank you very much. Glad to have such good company :)

Hey @drutter, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 16th March. (March 17th, 12:59 pm, here in BG.) Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/tonight-the-23rd-whaleshares-curation-show-free-whaleshares-for-all-listeners

Hey man, thank you for setting that up! I don't actually know much about it or how it works, but I've followed your link and I'm reading up.
Just a question, you said "Monday 16th March". Maybe I misunderstand what you meant by that. Thanks!

Ooops, wrong date :( Anyways, glad you made it!

I managed to attend the show and while I still don't understand Discord fully it was a good experience, thank you :)

Make us proud, now :)

Would you advise me on what to do next? :)

Specifically? I don't really understand your request.

Well is there anyone else to thank, for sharing my link? Did I miss anything in the first half of the show that I should find out about, such as how to get/use the whaleshares? I think another person who won posted a photograph of herself, should we all do a photo like that? Thanks again and sorry to bother you.

Oh, no problem. I was the one who nominated your post (as mentioned in a comment beneath it). Those who stay for the whole show get whaleshares. The posts get upvotes (as in your case, I believe?). If you were there for the whole thing, the instructions on the pictures (which is an altogether different contest -- just in play for the duration of the show) were shared both over the voice chat (which I was participating in as a guest-host, in case you didn't realize you were listening to me :D) and in the chat room, which was right above the show-room link in Discord. Hope that explains a few things. Don't hesitate to ask if you have any further questions!

Alrighty, well I did join the show as soon as I got your message about it. (Even though you gave the wrong date and month lol)
Thanks again for mentioning my post, I think I did get about 20 cents out of it, and everything helps!

Upvoted from the curation show!

Cool, thank you!

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39