You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 8 Mistakes I See Beginners Make on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

If you flip a coin 20 times and it comes up ‘heads’ each time, the odds of getting another ‘heads’ on the 21st flip is still 50-50. In a pure game of chance, past results have no effect on future outcomes. There is simply no way to change that.

But when a game includes strategy and you’re competing against others – as in poker – that’s an entirely different story. Chance or luck still plays a role, but better players who consistently make the right bets on the right cards do win over the long haul.

It’s the same in business… and in Steemit. Success and wealth are both about making the right moves, making the right decisions, over and over again. That’s all there is to it, like it or not.

We all need a little inspiration sometimes, thus this post. I know how easy it is to get caught in all the potential earnings. You see a lot of members making thousands of dollars on there posts and you want the piece of that cake, I get it. But hold on, don't post like crazy in hopes that something sticks!

Over the long haul, winning in business – and in Steeemit – is exactly the same as winning in poker. There are no differences. The rules of the game may be simple, but winning is by no means a slam-dunk. This is how you do it.

You can’t win if you don’t play the game. And by “play,” I don’t mean a post or two, here or there. You have to be in the game consistently for a long, long time to win. There’s no quick fix and no shortcuts. You CANT clickbait yourself to success here. If you try to win big with a few quick high-risk bets, there’s a very good chance you’ll get flagged, lose your shit and everything else. Don't get frustrated of your post make only 0.02$, remember you are here for the long run.

It’s a game of attrition and you have to persevere. It’s a marathon, not a sprint, and that’s how you have to play it if you want to win.

Learn how the game is played. In poker as in business, there are rules, strategies, nuances and lessons to learn. The thing is, everyone knows the rules. Posting content on the regular basis will only get you so far. The only way to outperform your competitors is from experience and research. Pay attention, browse trough the platform, chat with people, follow minnows as well as whales. That’s how you figure out what works and what doesn’t. Analyze your market - who is selling and who is buying, who is posting and who is reading. That’s how you develop your own skills, strategies and tactics. Get the feel for it. And remember, the number one rule is - ADD VALUE! Always.

It is a zero-sum game. Every poker match has winners and losers, but the game always nets out to zero because you’re playing against others. Granted, markets are elastic. They can grow over time. But every sale, every transaction has one winner and a bunch of losers. Competitive markets are essentially zero-sum games, just like Steemit is - if your voters give there votes to better content then your's, your potential payout is decreasing. Its one cake every 7 days, if you want a bigger piece outsmart your competition, and you will be doing that by ADDING MORE VALUE!

If you have to win at business and be successful, and the only way to do that is to be consistently better – to make better decisions and have a better product or service – than your competitors. That applies to Steemit as well.

Blow your reputation and you’re out of the game. Get caught cheating in poker and you’re done. Word gets around and you’re out of the game. That goes for anything. Your reputation is the key, so I advice you not to cash out our earnings, but invest them into Steem Power.

Your work ethic is your reputation. If you’re known for playing clean, for being a good sport, for showing up and meeting your commitments, you get asked to play again and again. Opportunity comes your way, your post get upvoted from somebody influential. If you show of as great guy, providing valuable content on a regular basis, people will start noticing that, and will start following you. That's how you earn respect.

Never bluff yourself. Short-term success can be a dangerous thing. When you start to think the deck is stacked in your favor, that you’re lucky, that you can’t lose, that’s when you make risky bets you shouldn’t make. That’s when your ego writes checks that the laws of probability can’t cash. You can sometimes bluff others, but never bluff yourself. I get it, you would like to see a couple of hundred dollars for your post, and maybe in your mind you think: hmmm can I find something on the internet that was viral and repost it here, maybe it will rub it off. And maybe it will, but don't bullshit yourself. You know whats good content, and try to follow that inner compass. Keep your feet planted firmly on the ground. Keep it real. The more real, sincere and genuine you are, the more people will want to follow you. Someone once said all other rolls in life are already taken, so why not play yours.

The most important thing to remember is this: To win at poker, make the right bets on the right cards over and over. Winning in Steemit is exactly the same: consistently make good posts. Simple as that.

An on the end note, this shit is still in BETA, and you joined early enough, so you already won :)

Sort:  

I don't know what it is about poker, but I've came across so many players sharing fantastic words of wisdom, just like this one. And the fact that you are willing to make such a great effort to add value to another post shows that you will do just fine on the platform.

That point, about adding value, should have been on the list. Thanks for this!

Pozdrav! Sve nas je više. :)

Poker is life. It makes people look at a person and the particular situation at hand. It asks you to call on all of your resources. Your logic is weighing every if and or but.
Thirty-five hands ago he mad a a breath just it that; a short whiff through his noise as he lifted his head by a few degrees what is he thinking why does he do that. Am I even aware that I am thinking this? Six books of common tells fly through your had at once, so yeah I am aware. Is this logic or instinct at this speed though? Should you hold him to that or just let it go? There is something inside you saying don't let him do that! What is he holding his breath for? You can be sure that no one but you is on your side. He has his self interest in mind. With a rush of sudden clarity that comes sometimes when you just know you can win this hand. You know he read it on you. You had missed your flush and he wisely made the play that you had to fold against, but he held his breath just for a second and you knew that there was still fear there, it gave him away, as he thought had has to fold....(pausing breath) but what if he doesn't?? As you go for your chips you get the confirmation you need. He leans back in his chair exhaling. Your ace plays and he is ready to leave.
For some people it is the only time they stop to notice all the details in the world. There is only one thing that can give me such a rush. It is not love, fear, victory, or another emoticon it is all of them all at once, cards is the only situation in my life where I have to face all of then and make a choice and the outcome at times will change someones life.
You realize whats at stake when you play cards when you log on to your favorite site. To play your favorite game, and you hear the "bloop" of a message sent. Oh sweet its that guy, he must be rich as hell, "Hey do you really want to get beat again." I say goating him into a game. I just get a reply, "He can't play he is dead. This is his wife. You killed him."
I have never had to think and weigh so many things as when I play poker, you relay can learn a lot about life. Every now and then you lose a hand because you human. It is not charity you folded for you. You could tell he needed that bad. Perhaps his kid or wife is sick and that is who he held his breath for. You saw the win but you knew that he need to win that and you were right he got up and left. He deserved it too he played pretty perfect.
You don't always win at poker by winning the hand. You have to weigh everything and you may have even just got played you think to yourself. If you made that call you didn't really need that money and you still got a stack you didn't call. You may have saved him or he may be way better at cards then you think. But really with out cards all I would have to do is stare at a wall and blink. Sometimes card players relate a lot of things to cards. It is the only thing that makes them think. When it is pretty much what you do poker really is life and you learn a lot about people as you fight to stay alive; quite literally you sometimes learn.
If you see a really good play and you don't need the money. If you think your that good that you give people the win. Some times it is a lot more then money at stake. You feel like you won when you see them get up and walk away. If you were wrong they would have stayed to play some more. They needed that. Poker could be life to him too. Some times the only way to win is to see things so deep for that hand you see to you that money is just a score to you. He needs it sometimes wining is how everyone loses, its is not winning, I guess it depends on what winning is to you. You can kill people with cards and if you blame them for that I say your a killer and you have no heart. To truly be a great card player you play the man and sometimes you simply understand them, so you both win. They could have just asked, maybe I'm too kind, but it is not like I am behind.

thanks for the informative post & reply pointing us newbies in the right direction.
good read

Thank you so much I am a newbie I just joined steemit and I didn't know anything and by reading your article I learned a lot

Woooow!! This is soo inspirational especially for new people on steemit like me! Very creative post! Good job

Yeah,have really learned a lot from it

@drumsta hands down the best comment I have seen since I started here.

@munchell I m wondering how he write all this in one shot #respect .

Ja, I agree munchell. Nothing in life comes easy or quickly (nothing worthwhile at least) and if we persevere with enthusiasm and faith in that ability which we have been granted, we can only but succeed. Positivity invites more of the same and breeds further enthusiasm and energy which then, in turn, results in sweet success. Sweet success is derived only by hard, honest input. Quick makes invariably leave a bad taste in one's mouth, if one is a 'genuine one'!

@munchell as i was reading the comment i was thinking the exact same thing :)

Thanks guys :)

This post and the first comment are very helpful for us newbies. I haven't read all the way through all the comments but I've read some and skimmed some more. I am so new to this all that I'm not even sure exactly what Steemit is. LOL. But I figure as I read more, I'll figure it out. I've already gotten a very general idea from these types of newbie/info posts.

I ended up here by Googling something about cryptocurrencies and the result was a Steemit post that I just wanted to give a thumbs up to and follow that person for more info. So I had to join. ;-)

For now, I'm a sponge.
Thanks for educating us!
kt

No worries Trelevek! I'm also new to steemit! Just afew week here! Still learning a lot how it all works! Let's gooooo!!

trelevek - Although you and I have come to this spot in very different ways I still find that at this spot I am now in possession of your thought. LOL. But like you said I'll figure it out. Thanks for the encouragement. Now I am off to fame and fortune, full steemit ahead.

Hello drumsta and @alcibiades. Both the post and the response to the post are totally helpful. I have just signed up. This is the very first post I read and wanted to say thanks and compliment the article. It is very encouraging. I am very excited to be here in Beta. I did sign up to express ideas and learn from others. I also want to be apart of the block chain for serious aggressive learning. I also hope to have alot of fun too.
So far I have started an account to share pictures and start setting up my page. But I think I will do more reading, learning, and exploring for a few hours before I finish my profile. I also need to learn to Markdown. The main reason for responding to both the article and the comment is really because they both touch on being yourself and genuine.
I am not 100% sure how this all works yet and what variety of content is here but I do know my content will vary from my adventures in self learning Linux, Block Chain, Encryption, and Building small fun electronics to past adventures that were nothing more than living life for fun. So thank you for the great start and giving me the feel goods so soon. I know this is a bit of a ramble but you guys inspired me and I could not keep reading with out saying thanks and getting my first comment jitters out of the way!

I wish I could save this comment on here...

@drumsta Words of Wisdom....reading your post felt like I was sitting down with ma family like may be my uncle..:), whose telling me about how to navigate through the maze of life, as whatever you said can be applied not just to steemit or business but to every aspect of our lives. Thank you so much for this comment.

Very useful comment. I'm on my first day and this is just the sort of thing I need to be reading. Thanks!

Today is my first day as well! Excited to be a part of the future of the Internet.

My First Comment:

We liked everything --- except for the "shit" in the last line. Even though it's true; we're in Beta.

Reading through the original post and then this comment, I finally could say that I made the right choice by joiming this community (the poker analogy is a total plus point, btw). Thank you so much for dedicating posts like this that greatly help us, newbies, survive through our first steps in our journey here on steemit.

thanks for the information....as one who is new in steemit i really find your post very informative...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42