Steem Power: How to increase Steem Power faster and easier through your blogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Good day my fellow Steemians! I am a newbie to all things Steemit being about 2 months into this site. Some of you will know this trick, but others may not. I want to share what I recently discovered to help you maximize your Steem Power from your postings.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.25.34 PM.png

The standard way that your posts are awarded to the author after the 7 days is an author reward that is 50-50 split of SBD and Steem Power. This is the default it seems when you begin. For some this works well as they have posts that make a decent amount of money. And if they have a large amount of Steem Power they can focus on receiving SBD to help monetize and make some money from their efforts. All the following images are what you see when you create your blog post.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.15.31 PM.png

But, there is the case for newbie minnows like myself that start with the account balance of 50 cents and you have the rating of 25 that all beginners start with. After your intro post, your posts tend (at least in my experience) to trail off and decrease in amount of SBD/Steem generated from future blog posts. To build up the potential to monetization for your posts you need to also build up your base of followers and continue providing content (or have the luck of a whale upvoting your post).

But, I digress.

After the 7 days has past, you get you reward from your post and it is split roughly 50-50 between SBD and Steem Power. Then after your SBD is building, if you want to convert it to Steem Power you have to go through the process of converting the SBD to Steem and then convert that Steem to Steem Power. This is a long process and you have the potential of losing some value going through the conversion process. To avoid this, do the following:

Go to your rewards field of your post when creating your post.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.15.31 PM.png

Click on the field and select “Power Up 100%”.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.15.47 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.16.01 PM.png

Now when your content is posted your post rewards will be given all in Steem Power!

The advantage to making this change is that your Steem Power will increase a lot faster. And, if you are a minnow you will see your 1 cent upvote move quicker in value as your posts are converted to Steem Power! To know when your post is designated to go 100% full Steem Power, your blog/post title at the end will have the Steem emblem after it.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 1.25.53 PM.png

Thanks for reading!!! If you like this post please provide an upvote! And, if it’s really something special feel free to resteem the post! If you like the content I’m provide leave a comment and follow so you can get future updates and posts from me. Thanks again!

Sort:  

Thanks for the info, I did this myself going to see how it goes in the next few weeks. I hope you can follow and read my posts some time I followed you and upvoted yours :)

thank you very much for the tip!

Very helpful, will do now.

It's very useful article ... thanks for sharing.

Great advice for everyone @drstevegilbert Thanks

Nice tip! I have already changed it since my last posts to see what results. Btw, you shouldn't use the introduceyourself tag for something that is not for that; you can get your post flagged.

Beep beep. Hi @drstevegilbert! I am @tipU - a service designed to make sending tips super easy.
I also share my profits with the users ;) Click here if you wish to learn more!

This is a bot that posts when someone says tip?o_o

That sends tip if you write tip with exclamation mark :) but only if you made a deposit first - otherwise it will just inform you about its existence :)

the tip is .001SBD right? LOL I will check anyways :P

I read it and now I understand. It's a nice service =)

You are absolutely right @fabiyamada. But, this post is aimed for the minnows in the introduce yourself postings though. Changing the reward section was never explained too much to me when I began. This is only meant to help the small folks looking to get their Steem Power up quicker. It'll take forever going the 50-50 route. Thank you for the advice. Hope this post helps you out with your future posts and Steem Power accumulation! Thanks!

I see. It's really helpfull :)

Thanks for sharing and welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

Welcome to steemit. Im part of the process you speak of . Im content with that decision.

Hi my friend , welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

Hello @drstevegilbert! I upvoted you and resteemed this post! Great to know as I just started Steemit yesterday. I just changed my rewards. I am also going to be blogging about random things as well. I just followed you so please follow me back @katjelynn! Thank you for the information! :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44