(R)evolution - Part 1 of 3

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

(R)evolution  - part 1 of 3


My friend said I'm trying to start a revolution, but I beg to differ. Revolutions are much too messy.  I prefer evolving.


There have been a lot of posts lately regarding whale wars, voting bots, self-voting, flagging obligations, voting abuse, lack of meaningful commentary, absence of fellow Steemian support, and the general degradation of our growing Steemit community.


I've read some extremely intelligent and motivating posts. While the posts were engaging, some of the comments were even more inspiring. I felt stirred, invigorated, and primed to join the movement!  But there was no movement – just a lot of talk without action.


I encouraged the Steemian who posted the most compelling post to take the next steps, because we would surely follow.  Clearly, there was power and influence in the post!  Looking around the comment section, the post had rallied support and a hunger for change.  


But isn't that always the way?  We're always looking for someone else to be the answer to our problems.  After the rally dies down, we walk away dejected, hoping that the next rally (or post) will not only stir us, but equip us with our battle armor and give us a leader to follow. I decided the next day to stop waiting for a savior to rescue the platform, and began to formulate something I could do to help. 


In MY opinion, here are the dilemmas at the forefront:

  1. Voting abuse (and the whale wars that ensue because of the abuse).  From what I've seen, the only people who are immune to real consequences of flagging retribution on Steemit are whales.  Minnows have low reputation and face daunting challenges to make significant amounts of money on their posts. To expect the lower ranking members to offer themselves as martyrs is unrealistic. The structure of Steemit seems to be such that voting abuse is within the bounds of “legal, albeit immoral” behavior.  As long as the system stays as it is, voting abuse is likely to continue.
  2. Voting bots.  I am neutral on this matter.  I've seen people contribute significantly to Steemit, while using voting bots.  I've also seen people take advantage of Steemit in using voting bots.  The problem isn't voting bots.  The problem is complacency and disconnect from the Steemit community.  
  3. Self-voting.  The problem isn't self-voting.  The problem again goes back to abusive, selfish behavior that is rewarded.  If the minnows are allowed to vote for themselves, then dolphins and whales should be able to as well.  If the post was a quality post and fed back into the value of Steemit, I don't think anyone would have a problem with the self-vote.  The issue at hand is that greed and laziness are being rewarded.  When everyone gives up and follows suit, the platform will be destroyed. Abolishing self-voting doesn't solve the issue, as Steemians can easily create secondary accounts for the sole purpose of upvoting their primary account's posts.
  4. Since the stage has been set for greed and laziness to rule, comments are becoming a way to collect extra money as fast as possible.  Steemians are beginning to use the comment section as a way to make a quick profit, instead of using it to encourage, connect and support.  
  5. Closely related to point 4, since the interaction between Steemians is becoming more superficial, the community is left growing more isolated and fractured.


I still stand by this attempt being focused on adapting and changing (evolution) – rather than “blowing up the system” of Steemit (revolution).  If we don't adapt, we die.  There are only two directions that we can move: ascending towards the peak (process of growth and life) or descending from that peak (process of decay and death).


If Steemians really believe that we have no more room to grow and adapt, and the only thing left to do is “get as much as you can, as fast as you can”, then the platform has already begun it's descent to becoming obsolete.


Though I have seen members who have succumbed to apathy and defeat, I have also seen a vast number of Steemians that still believe that Steemit is worth the effort. 




Part 2


Part 3

Sort:  

Yup, 100% with you and @countrygirl so far... moving along to #2

Well said @dreemsteem. I particularly have issue with number 4 and 5. Simply because I see it more often than the other abuses....well I do see many abuses with bots, yes and big flashy advertising in order to take advantage of comment rewards.

Steemians are beginning to use the comment section as a way to make a quick profit, instead of using it to encourage, connect and support.

This is superficial and if anyone is practicing this method in order to piggyback on someone else's rep or post, stop it. Your comments are NOT adding value. You are only there to make a couple of cents with an upvote from the poster. Take time to grow yourself.

I see this a lot and have tried to address it with a lot of crying and punch back.

I know - I've seen it in the comment section on your posts! (and many others!!!) We've tried to tackle it with a bit of humor, but as days pass - it becomes annoying and is really unfortunate.

I hope that people start to realize that MEANINGFUL comments are more rewarding! With the superficial comments - you have a penny or two,( if the author isn't paying attention and mistakenly upvotes the insignificant comment)

but if you take the time to actually post something with meaning? you would probably get an upvote, a potential follower or two, and if other people find your comment meaningful... then you might even have a trail to follow to a welcoming community.

People are terribly shortsighted when greed is involved.

They are. But what you haven't seen....bc I removed my comment to avoid more upset and drama....I was sort of mentoring someone and they got their feelings hurt because I told them that they needed to upvote posts and not just comment. She was making more money this way than on her posts so this is what she wanted to do. I tried to explain it nicely but she took it badly and broadcast my meanness all over steemit - and fell into a depression that she hadn't experienced in years. (can you say drama?)

Commenting does add value if it's accompanied by an upvote. (Sucking up is an entirely different story) If the person is new and their vp is low, I get it. But if they aren't even making an attempt to upvote their ten for the day that's an entirely different story. And if they say their intention is to follow whales and dolphins and people upvote comments, then I take a bit of umbrage to that because those are my friends who are being mooched on.

Can you tell that this is something I am passionate about ?? rofl.

I have to scoot....I've been summoned by my GP.

I'm sorry you went through that. I love comments! But courtesy would dictate simply that if you're going to interact on that post.... surely you could show support for the post! lol I think minnows think that since their vote is so low - it doesn't matter if the upvote or not. But it's about the principle. If you enjoy the post, show it.

'zactly! They need to learn to budget and allow themselves to comment on the 10 that the "rulz" say. And take their time building their business. Oh, if only we ruled the world....that story is in Revelation somewhere I believe !! lol

I'm back from my GP. Now on to more important things. Like spending my tip!!

ohhhhh. i can't wait to see what you buy! LOL

are we all limited by 10 comments a day?? hahaha that's something i did not know. :O

No, I think I read for newbies ... seriously, they don't have a slider so all their upvotes would be 100%. When I came back I had to borrow $5 from John to be able to even post. lol I had zero in my account. So I built it up slowly since October I think. He takes my SBD and cashes it out so we have some savings. It might not be the best way to use Steemit, but we all need different things.

I just ate too many cookies and now I feel like 🤮. Emo eating is the worst.

my niece and nephew sent us GF girl scout cookies - they weren't bad! :)

yeah - all my upvotes are 100% LOL the only way i'll be able to get my VP back up is if I stay away. just... stay... away.. hehehehe

you need money to post?!?!?! oh my gosh - so many things that i have no clue about anymore hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45