(R)evolution - Part 2 of 3

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

(R)evolution  - part 2 of 3 


In the last post, I conveyed the problems as I see it.  It seems that we have a system that is set up in such a way as to allow abuse to happen.  I don't think it was designed to encourage abuse, I just honestly don't think that there will ever be a way to eradicate abuse in any human system.  There will always be people who choose to take advantage, if they are capable.  Because of this, the system will slowly degrade.   


New members to Steemit come with grand hopes of being recognized for their content, build a following, make connections in an international community, and earn money.  I don't think that they initially join with the expectation that it will come easily.  I do believe that people understand that they'll need to make an effort and consistently put time and energy into this platform to be successful.  I believe that mindset changes after the first week when they see that others can get far more money through bots, meaningless (or plagiarized) posts, and superficial interaction.  Their own sincere, intentional attempts to make a splash in the pond fail to impress them.  If their desire is to make money first and foremost, they are left to consider the only reasonable choice available to them.


I think a possible solution to this dilemma is to provide an alternate choice that is equally rewarding and that also puts value back into that system.  If it's more profitable to be lazy and greedy, the majority of the community will choose that.  If it's equally profitable to engage and connect with people, I believe in time the lazy will lose interest, and the people with integrity will stay to build a stronger platform.


I already see witnesses, communities, discord servers, and individuals who are willing to provide opportunities like this on a grand scale.  The problem is that since the community has grown so large, locating these “cities of refuge” is like finding a needle in a haystack for new (and not-so-new) members.  (Just to shine a light on places that I love and frequent because of their commitment to supporting the community and quality content  - @thesteemengine (and their discord server), Pimp Your Post Thursday (PYPT) by @shadowspub on the Steemit Ramble discord server, The Writer's Block discord server (for polishing your posts before you submit), @calumam 's NEW BuddyUp server (wonderful concept -  hope this will be another successful option for people!!)   I have other servers that I love too  - but they are targeted to specific audiences, and members should try to find their own niche that works for them!


I believe that the solution to the problems stated has to be :

  1. attractive to the individual
  2. valuable to the platform, and
  3. easily accessible for members, newer and older alike. 


In addition to attempting to address the three issues listed above, I will also endeavor to: 

  1. encourage Steemians to meaningfully interact with one another
  2. intentionally read posts that interest them
  3. support businesses (and members) that accept Steem in exchange for goods and services.


If my project is successful in accomplishing these six things, I hope that it can lift the platform to new heights, making it attractive for more people to join Steemit, which is a win for everyone involved.

I am a minnow.  It is extremely unlikely that my small-scale project will be able to affect the community as a whole in any meaningful way.  That was my intention.

The purpose of my project is to see if it's a success on a small scale so that others can copy my efforts.  I don't want to be (nor do I think I can successfully be) the only show in town.  I also think that this project has more meaning when it affects YOUR direct community, the people with whom you normally engage.  Any new person should be welcome to join any offshoot of the project – but hopefully at the completion of the project, that person will have been given the chance to become a part of a real, invested, connected community.



Back to Part 1


Part 3

Sort:  

I believe in time the lazy will lose interest, and the people with integrity will stay to build a stronger platform.

I hope so!

You will be heard by those who have ears to hear, unfortunately. Others believe their way is fine for them. Humans being what we are will do what's best for ourselves first...not all of us but many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53