It's a social platform...Comments are Key!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)





Necessary snacks for blogs, including the last batch of Christmas cookies thawed ;)

It's been a while since I've done a blog post, as I've been focusing my efforts on getting my fiction out into the world. The only problem with releasing chapters rather than just talking about general things, is the interaction on posts tends to be fairly low. Which I completely understand, many people do not have the time to invest in reading a novel, and even if they do, they may not feel like posting a comment about it.

I appreciate everyone who has been reading my work, more than I can ever say.

@jlufer for never missing a post and being a most honorable friend

@donkeypong for taking an interest when I was brand new and creating the enthusiasm I now have for steemit

@jedau for your constant support and brilliantly helpful insights, I look forward to every word you leave for me

@ezzy for being there for me when I was utterly green, staying with me, and especially for giving me the courage to climb out of my comfort zone and just write

@therealpaul for being my first friend here and the quietly encouraging words that create a glow that stays with me long after they're said

@merej99 for reigniting a passion for my series that's plunged me neck deep in the third novel ;)

@kiwideb for just plain being awesome (and making me think that kiwis can indeed fly)

@ryivhnn for your enthusiasm and some of the coolest comments I've received ;)

...- every one of you means more than even my words can express!!

For those who are reading and not commenting, know that I appreciate you tremendously as well...and...

...this leads me to the point of this article. I know that there are many out there who feel that unless they come up with something clever to say they shouldn't say anything. I would be lying if I said I didn't understand this mindset, but what I can say with a measure of confidence is that it's a fallacy. Because some of my relationships here? Started with something as simple as "Love this".

People have no idea how far two simple words can go, so I feel the need to express it. Two words can mean the difference between obscurity and a hundreds of followers The fact that you took the time to convey a feeling, any feeling, matters. It is a bridge between the silence of infinite cyber space and the colorful life of the real world. And it can create connections of infinite potential.

So whether you are new to steemit- in which case Welcome, and please stop by and say Hello, or you have been here a long while, I encourage you to step out of your comfort zones and give commenting a try. I guarantee you'll be surprised and delighted by the results, the friends you will make, and the worlds you will discover.

I'd like to end this piece by speaking to those who don't read most of my material, but will probably read this, and vote on me regardless ;) (And guess what people? Those votes are for me as a person, and they came from relationships started by comments...it's the truth, I have a feeling you'll see it down below ;)

@nonameslefttouse, for making me laugh on a daily basis and gifting the world with your colorful art and words

@writingamigo, for your incredible insights on a journey that is far from over (even once you're home)

@verbal-d for being a genuine guy and introducing me to the music community-much love xo

@papa-pepper-(this guy could write the post of all posts about the importance of comments, our community man ;)

@neoxian yes, I've noticed you, I'm glad we could help each other ;)

@ramta- you're a beautiful being, your kindness brought us together, your fairness makes this a better place to be.

And now, because it is Thirsty Thursday and a wine glass has suddenly appeared in my hand...I'm not apologizing, I love this song ;)

English version:

Non English version (Hungarian? If you know, let me know):





Logo made by the incredibly awesome @papa-pepper

Sort:  

One problem with just saying "love this" or "nice work". If you do this too much, you'll end up getting mistaken for a bot and flagged. Your comments should try to pass the human test.

Hm. I wouldn't assume that, but I can see how it could happen. Of course if I responded to someone leaving two words and they came back at me with the same two words, than maybe ;)

People have written plenty of bots that have done just that. It used to be a huge problem. You just make list of nice sounding phrases like "love this", "nice work", "thumbs up!", "great stuff!" And the bot just comments one of those everywhere, and often gets voted up. Good way to make money.

I can see how it was a problem...but these days? It wouldn't be worth their time, the money for curation has dropped too much.

Looks like the comment nesting limit will get removed for 0.17. Maybe that will make for huge conversations.

Nice! Maybe...hey, nice to see you! We did a service for the community and no one even knows it...steemit's very own batman and robin, fighting crime and trolls, haha ;)

I agree that comments are king.

That's part of the 'killer app' that makes Steemit work for me.

On Tumblr i blogged for a year and got one comment. Lots of people read my posts, but no-one commented. It's like talking to yourself.

But here I get comments all the time and it's great.

The key to success for Steemit is engagement and comments are a massive part of that.

Yes, exactly!! Everyone keeps talking about making higher monetary rewards for comments, and that's fine, but I don't need rewards to comment. I think that mindset has to go, that people should comment simply because it's what they'd want on their blog.

It's hard to find a good middleground on this. I've been here for almost a month now and I've seen a couple of people saying that these small comments don't contribute to anything and are just click-bait. Others say they appreciate all comments.

Myself, I appreciate all comments, because it mostly means people took the time to really look or read, before voting. It can also lead to nice conversations. But seeing how some people feel about this has kept me from commenting on some items, just because I did not have more to say than Nice work or Nice picture, or such.

Sometimes though, that's all that needs to be said. I can't always think of something insightful, but if I like someone's photography, is it wrong of me to tell them this, just because I'm expressing itin just a few words?

I'm of the mind that all comments are good. I understand neoxian's point, though I really think that pertains more to the glory days of steemit (I wasn't here yet) when even a comment could make dollars.
I think expressing it is important, with as few or as many words as you need :)

I think I've only gained anything from a comment once or twice and that would have been on a long and well thought-out comment. I don't think a simple Beautiful picture comment would gain me anything, but it is an actual compliment I would sometimes like to give :-)

I agree, well thought out comments gain the most, but sometimes just a couple words can get the dialogue going. If there is a response, the commenter might have more courage to leave a longer comment next time. I don't think we've spoken before, speaking of which...so I'm adding you because I'm sure we will speak again ;)

That's true! Hah, yeah, I don't think we've spoken before. I've added you too!
I'm sure we will speak again, but for now, I need to sleep, so good night (or day, if it's not evening there) :D

Making my point for me, haha, thanks my friend ;)

So I finally ordered the frame...I was given a time of delivery of ten-thirty days from now. Hopefully it follows the normal pattern and is on the lower end of that. I found a place near me that will print on high quality poster board, so...I'm pretty excited ;)

I really hope the print works out the first time. Those professionals usually know what they are doing. If you learn anything from them during the process, share it with me. I'd like to be able to point people in the right direction when this comes up again. We all know prints exist, we see blown up photography everywhere, and it looks great. I just want to make sure I'm setting up the files properly to make it easy for them. If I had my own printer, I could experiment. Unfortunately, they cost too damn much.

I will most definitely share whatever I learn with you...maybe I'll make it part of the post entitely Nonames is in my living room??!! Haha!

You know... 2017 is frickin amazing. I can make a bit of money on the side producing art. The customer can then go on to talk about it, get paid, and end up getting their money back (hopefully more).

So true...though I am happy to share! I'll make it a 50/50 post ;)

What's yours is yours! If you feel like trippin out, have a look-see at my recent post.

Ooh that song was fun, I hadn't heard it before!

This kiwi has been bogged down in the mud for a coupla weeks now, but the good news is we're finding some big bugs to munch on, so worth it.

And I've been keeping up with your fiction, and lovin' it, even if I am sometimes a day or two late. But this I found early as the notification popped up when I turned on this morning! x

That song is amazing! I know you've been with me my darling, and I'm grateful for it! Munching on bugs, yum, sounds very paleo!! xxoo

Luckily they are only figurative bugs!

Haha, I knew that, just having some fun ;)

I do read your stuff! Not all and not as much as I would want, but I still read :)
You are right about commenting thing, we should probably do it more often, I will try to now... or when commenting will have a separate reward pool (greedy bastards we all are)
I appreciate your friendship here on Steemit, @dreemit And I appreciate yours positive and encouraging words! Keep up the good work!

I appreciate you my writing friend, you rock ;)

Excellent post dear friend @dreemit, thank you very much for the mention, when I started on the platform commented on all the posts I voted for, but I had to stop doing it, everyone thought I was a robot,
I am of the idea that you have to comment the posts, at the moment I comment between 60 to 80 post diaries, which are not even half of what I vote.
It is a real pleasure to read, comment and accompany you in your work and I am very grateful to have found you to be a great person, a good co-worker and a great friend.
!!!!!!!!!Many successes!!!!!!!

Thank you my darling friend @jlufer!! I am so happy we met, and I always look forward to seeing you on my posts ;)

Haha! The importance of comments can never be overemphasized!!!

Absolutely! Thanks for throwing yours in here ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35