The Fuckup Files Series - Episode Seven: "I Will Die For This Business, It's My Child, I Can't Let Go"

in #steemit7 years ago

2-3 years after I started my own business, I became more conscious about how deeply involved I was. To be honest, during the first 2-3 years I was mostly in survival mode. When I wasn't into hyper-excited mode, that is. But once the processes started to run without too much intervention, once there were more than 1 person running the show, once I could finish the work day before 8PM (a huge accomplishment in and by itself) I started to see some patterns.

One of these patterns was related to how much I was identifying myself with the business. Because I was putting so much time, energy and creativity into it, I felt somehow that I was entitled not only to it, but to some sort of inherent success. "Well, I did worked hard, you know, for the last 2-3 years I didn't have holidays, of course I care and of course I expect this thing to go to the Moon." That was my mental talk, roughly.

It took me a lot of time to understand how things really are. I was fortunate to "hit it" with my first business, meaning that after 9 years, I could sell it for a profit. It was a good timing, a relatively good price, but, most of all, that deal was my escape into the real life. It allowed me to "close the book" and move forward in a way that was congruent with my expectations.

But, surprise-surprise, the next businesses weren't so predictable anymore. I tried a few more, but none with the extent of energy and duration of the first one. Some of them were successful - for a while - some of them died in the first two months. It was a mixed bag, to be honest.

And that mixed bag offered me the perspective to look at - and to correct - that very toxic mental talk that followed me in the early years of my first business. It's a mental talk that I encounter many times in discussions with young entrepreneurs, who get so entangled in their own dream, that they can't understand reality anymore. Or at least they can't understand a reality in which the business they created won't exist anymore.

News flash: the world will continue spinning without you very well, my friend. The Sun will rise and set, seasons will come and go and people will continue to grow up, fall in love, make mistakes or be happy. The usual stuff, you know.

There's nothing good in identifying with your business so deep, that your own sense of meaning will come only from that source. It's great to be useful to other people. It's even better if you can make some money out of it. And if you can become a millionaire at some point, well, congrats!

But your business is not you.

It's just a collection of processes you run and which can be managed, if need will be, by somebody else too. He or she may not be as charismatic as you are, but hey, the world will keep spinning, seasons will come and go and the Sun will continue to rise and set.

Find a few moments to enjoy that part of life too.


This post is part of an experiment I run on Steemit.

Each of the posts related to the entrepreneurial mistakes will be set up as "Decline Payout". But if you like the post, you may contribute directly, by sending me whatever amount of SBD or Steem you consider appropriate. I will keep 20% of the proceedings and the rest will be redistributed equally among all the contributors.

I will publish the reports in the following day, in a separate post, which will NOT be setup as "Decline Payout". The proceedings from that post will be redistributed equally to all the contributors as well (minus what I get as Steem Power, that I will keep).

You can read more details about the methodology and metrics of the experiment here.

Previous posts in the experiment:

So, if you like the experiment, if you think it will bring value, you can start participating in it right now, by sending me Steem or SBD using the following memo: "fuckup files episode seven".


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Sort:  

I think that is true not just for running a business but for other parts of your life also.

If you are consumed by a sport of hobby, it's the same toxicity.

I think one of the big secrets to longevity in any activity you do that you are passionate about and really want to be deeply involved in, is getting out of it for a while.

Have something else that you enjoy that takes you away from this for a day or two and gives you a different focus.

For me at the moment the thing that takes me away from the grueling hours of writing code, is running (when we are not having bloody cyclones, again).

It's an activity that is completely removed from my day job. It frees my body and mind, so that when it is time to go back to work, I'm actually itching to get back into it, with the same enthusiasm I had when I first started.

As @dragosroua says, you are not your project, your project is something you do. If you want to keep doing it, stop doing it for a while and have a rest. Then get back into it. You'll be surprised at how effective that strategy is.

the grueling hours of writing code

I feel you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71