Every One Of Us Can Help Steemit To Grow

in #steemit7 years ago

There are a number of things that every single one of us can do in order to try and help to grow the Steemit community.

Tell Others About Steemit

Marketing is about getting the information out to the world about your amazing product or service. In this instance it's a revolutionary new social media site that's based on the blockchain-Steemit! And there are still millions of people out there who have never heard about this site and this platform before. It only takes a second to take some time to tell others about the site, and it could be your mailman, your doctor, your friends, your co-workers, the stranger sitting next to you on the bus even, or the guy giving you your afternoon latte.

It's free, it doesn't take much time, and it's a quick way to spread the word!

Create Content

Every time a new post is created, you are creating a new avenue for someone to find there way here to this site. It could be a notification to someone about you linking a source from their site on Steemit that might bring them to the site, or particular search/key words that you have used in your post that brought someone here, maybe a great looking photograph pulled them in from the google searches. Every post is like planting a seed on the internet and the more, the better! Because it will help increase the opportunity for people to be able to hear about and find the site.

Use Steemit

Use the site! This is an easy way that you can help steemit to grow, by logging in frequently and commenting on other user posts or upvoting posts. It not only helps to encourage users by improving their user experience, but it also helps to maintain the popularity and value of the site. Even if you can't think of anything to post about, that's ok! You can still help the success of steemit by taking the time to browse through the content on the site and choosing to stay engaged via commenting and upvoting.

Support A Variety of Content

If we want steemit to succeed then that means that we want all sorts of different people to come to steemit and use the platform. If there is a wide variety of different content available then it only improves the chances to pull new users in. There is something for everybody: poems, food photos, farming tips, political rants, travel stories, hotel reviews, memes, finance market charts, insightful philosophy writings, and more.

Buy Steem

You can support the cryptocurrency STEEM itself by making the choice to invest in it and use it. The more, the merrier!

One idea that I have been thinking about is getting a bunch of pens ordered for steemit marketing purposes and leaving them in various places. At schools, in offices etc, in the hopes that those who find them will read it and come to the site. What do you think? Might such an idea work? If you have any marketing ideas or tips on how to grow the site, please share them below in the comments.

Pics:
pixabay

Sort:  

Marketing can be done in many ways. At this stage I would not spend FIAT currency into pens or whatever materials though. Reality is that with more than 130k registered users, the number of active users is very very low. The chance to get noticed by others with posts is very low as well, at least for most members. Quality of content is not that great accross the board. Too many auto voting going on with no power behind it (1% or less); Auto voting is not helping quality content and with the low contributions of much less than a dollarcent it does not help to distribute the money better, as some claim. I actually think many Steemit members are in it for the money only and only a few for other reasons. But hey, when money would not be part of Steemit, would you then still want to use Steemit as your prime blogging service? All in all, I think we first have to do something to make Steemit attractive to users and usage, make the platform stable (I had for days issues with login in from my iPhone and even after addressing Steemit CTO directly, got no response at all from the development team), do something against auto voters, make earning and using power and steem as fair as possible for everyone (include a social element, meaning a more fair distribution of Steem en Power and yes, that'll cost the people with success in effect power and Steem) and give newbees a fair change. When that is arranged, some big marketing campaign maybe in order, but let people behind all technology and also being the big Whales and high value accounts take some of their value and use it to setup such marketing campaign; I can imagine I will volunteer supporting such marketing campaign when that happens :) FYI, I'm still a great fan of Steemit, and would like to see this continued, but I believe things needs to change to make Steemit FAIR. Until then, I do my best to provide good content and hope I keep my interest in Steemit :)

that is the thing.. 'good content' is totally subjective. Some people might think what I write is crap, others might love it. Who is to say? = the market. I think this post/video might help you
Quick Answer: Why certain posts earn so much more than others: https://steemit.com/steemit/@piedpiper/quick-answer-why-certain-posts-earn-so-much-more-than-others

I agree 'good content' is subjective. Hence we cannot and shall not further discuss that point.
And I also understand that bringing in some unique content maybe rewarded by people with a lot of voting power. But is that really happening? Are members with high voting power indeed discovering new content, from newer users and upvoting them?

Personally I cannot complain! I got big support from @mammasitta who introduced my to Steemit and supported me from day one and I'm very very happy I got this support! It was for me quite a bit easier to understand the platform, how to deal with the platform, as well as her support in getting my posts noticed. I also get quite a bit if support from the Curie Guild (@curie), they upvoted quite a number of my post in the last weeks. Also @steemvoter Guild helped me out on one of my post. Big thanks to all of them!

As the guy in the video states: the platform is quite difficult to understand, how it really works. I have a technical background and know how engineers talk and how algorithms look like and understand them when I see them. But many of the people in this world are not that technical, will not understand all the complexities. For them it'll be quite difficult to get them on Steemit and even more important, keep them in Steemit.

The whole issue with Steemit today is the low number of people contributing to the service. The question is: how can we convert the 130.000 registered users to active users? I think we should focus on converting the existing members into active participants. No external marketing campaign is required for that :)

The whole issue with Steemit today is the low number of people contributing to the service. The question is: how can we convert the 130.000 registered users to active users? I think we should focus on converting the existing members into active participants. No external marketing campaign is required for that :)

Indeed one of the more important questions!

@kevinwong I noticed you are part of curie guild as well as you are one of the members from the early days and an active contributor and maybe even close to the Steemit developers. Are you on steemit.chat? Maybe we can have a conversation on how we can address the issue.

Not close and not in constant communication lol,but yeah definitely could use a good chat or two. Im on steemit chat with the same handle :)

Please do we need more of that.

I been saying the same thing @kevinwong I mean if things dont change most of all our new users will soon vanish also.

Cheers to @abit, actually gave me a idea, why don't whales vote on comments If the price disparity is so huge. And please let's have a discussion on the Hard Fork PLEASE :) we need at least 5 everything stated above is true and there is a discontent among the user base.

Currently as @son-of-satire pointed out to me the structure is that of a reverse pyramid, the fun thing is that all the weight is carried by the bottom and if the small flow of new users get broken (which it has) there will be "leaks" on all levels. Currently the power is above everybody weighing down on them, the price is low and the activity too. Whales are burned out as far as I can see and the "golden" days look to be over. Lets fix that :) I would say it's broken :) I didn't break it so the "powerful" need to take responsibility and grow past their differences, thus making a decent platform for themselves and the community around it, IT is STEEM IT after all
not steem me

I've been thinking about starting another #payitforward initiative with a twist - and that's by dedicating a specific amount of time to one or two people, mentor them, make myself available to them for any steemit related questions, and even dedicate a portion of my post earnings to help boost their SP and vote power while gaining confidence in the site.
I've also been thinking about a t-shirt design to wear around town to help market Steemit. There's a lot we can do without spending fiat.
Now that I have some spare time (I'm in between jobs), I will be completely overhauling my website to include Steemit as well as my paid services. Maybe it's crazy thinking, but wouldn't it be great if Steemit actually had a referral system? My thought would be that you'd only get paid once your referrals hit certain milestones and not just upon sign up. But I'm full of ideas...and hot air. LOL

these truly are some amazing ideas @merej99 i might copy you! thanks for sharing!

I can't remember who mentioned the idea to give proper credit but someone a few months ago mentioned using "STEEM" in their online gaming names in order to garner attention to the platform within those circles. I thought that was pretty brilliant.

Keep spreading the word and steemit will definitely grow!

Everone interested in growing the community are welcome over in https://steemit.chat/activism_in_practice
There we discuss marketing, developing infrastructure and much more.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think that we should all report where were from and see if maybe we can do like gatherings around cities and states and countries... if we all meet each other in person... that is an attractive thing about being social. Being part of a network that is truly social and supportive. I have heard about these "fest" that go on.. I wish we had one here in Las Vegas! I would go! I only know one other steemian here in Vegas but I wonder if there is more? How to know?

vegas isn't far... steemit would be a fun reason to visit! haha i wonder how many fests there have been so far?

Well... so far I only heard of one that happened in Europe somewhere... I remember reading about it somewhere.

none of it gona matter if berrniesanders keeps making people leave.
https://www.minds.com/newsfeed/681743255410319373
word is gettng out.

I would love to invite my friends to join Steemit, but this is just too complicated for the simple mind to grasp! Ha

i take a chance anyways! i thought it would be too much for me to grasp too in the beginning :)

Where do you see the state of steemit at the moment? Do you think we are still gaining momentum or are we in a slow state of growth? Some days recently seem very slow

it does feel like it has slowed down a bit but i think it's going to pick back up! :)

all should be in our hands :)

in the news price is dropping ~2 cents from last time I checked :D there are again + 150 users and -2000 active ones LOOOL - 40 authors mostly dropping as always :D ~120k traded with a market cap of 27.8Mil and 42.2Mil in Steem and 52.72 In vests just a overview Check it here @elyaque easy "news"

I guess everybody is working :D so activity is down

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64439.19
ETH 2775.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64