I write to overcome the pain of recurrent epithelial erosion - and get a share of that reward pool

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm still finding my niche on Steemit. I was noticing over the last few weeks how I'm starting to build a following on Steemit. A few cents here, and a few cents there, and it starts to add up. I might even say it compounds over time.

This trend has increased my determination to post every day. I'm really experimenting with different ideas and themes on Steemit to see what works for me. Just about every week, I think about publishing a short story or even bringing the start of a serial story that I did on Blogger. I really want to write a short story, I do. I know how to start one, I just don't know how to stop it. How do draw my short story to a close?

Anyway, this morning, I woke up with an episode of corneal erosion. In this episode, as I open my eyes to rise from bed, a small part of the skin of one of my eyeballs gets stuck to my eyelid and as I open my eyes, that part of my eye is torn. As you can imagine, that hurts like hell.

But I have an article to write. I want to follow the advice of @taskmaster4450 and just start posting 3-4 times a day to get my share of the reward pool that is generated every day. The reward pool is going to be created and distributed every day, regardless of the price of Steem and SBD. I might as well put my hand out and see what happens.

So I posted on Zappl and Steemhunt, and you'll see them on my blog. I'm dreaming of shooting some videos, too. I once dreamed that I would be a video editor as a young man, but stories of recurring playback of commercial theme songs dissuaded me from that effort. Then again, if I make my own videos...Dreaming of GoPro Hero5. Or 6.

Yes, my eye still hurts, but it's not tearing as much as before (as in waterworks), and a cool feature of writing is that writing seems to be a natural pain reliever for me. I get so lost in writing, that I forget about my discomfort and smack those keys to make those words come out. I'm writing this article to get that relief. I love to write that much.

I live in a dry climate, so what else could I expect? I could also get those really nice gel drops for the eyes that help protect against this sort of thing. But I never really know when it's coming. Best to just drink more water. I usually drink 3 liters of water every day now. One when I rise, two at work or during the day and sometimes a fourth liter at night when I watch a little Netflix or Youtube.

Eventually, I could get back into an exercise routine and drink more water there. Lately, my exercise comes form carrying my younger daughter when I'm out running errands or visiting the fitness center. If we got to the park, I get a bonus. I get to carry my younger daughter and her bicycle all the way home.

All I know is right now I have what feels like a grain of sand in my eye and I am sure as hell not going to let that stop me from writing.

Write on!


slogan by @tecnosgirl
Slogan by @tecnosgirl


Other articles you might enjoy by @digitalfirehose:



Plan B for Humanity

A basic guaranteed income in the context of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

A sort of political movie review: Star Wars: Rogue One

Happiness isn't getting everything you want - happiness is a skill

The opposite of love is not hate, it is apathy

Fate, impunity and altruism

A short but growing list of people I admire, who have helped me, and/or influenced me, my thinking and/or my posts:

  • @taskmaster4450 - The Age of Abundance is here
  • @scottsantens - The Age of Universal Basic Income is here
  • @gric - A very cool artist with some interesting perspectives
Sort:  

Although mine was not painful, I had a similar experience in that the skin-peeling erythroderma was also shedding the thin layer of epithelial cells on the eyeball - docs first thought it was an infection, but it wasn't and I just had to live with it for a few months.

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87