How to tag Steemit articlessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A lot of new users are joining Steemit and that is great! Recently, however, I noticed one of these users making the same mistake I made when I first joined. I wanted to make a quick post to help new Steemians have a successful launch on the platform!


What was my big mistake?

Tagging

When I first joined the platform I wondered why I was not getting any views or upvotes. It took me awhile to realize it was because I was tagging posts incorrectly. I would use one or two tags I made up that I thought were relevant. This is not the best way to tag posts. Hopefully this post helps new Steemians avoid my mistakes.

Here are the tagging guidelines from the Steemit quick start guide...

Tags

Tags will help people find your posts.

Each post can have up to five tags, separated by spaces.

The first tag in the list will be the main category that the post is in.

The tags should all be relevant to the content in the post.

You can browse content by tags, as well as see a list of popular tags that other users have used in their posts here

 

Example: The Wrong Way

https://steemit.com/introduction/@swenger/introducing 

Check out this introduction post from @swenger

He tags his post with one tag "introduction" and his post only got 8 views

So how could he have tagged this post better?

First of all he should have used the #introduceyourself

Introduce yourself is number 5 on the Steemit "To Do List" and is recommended tag for new user introductions.


Steemit is still growing and because of this it is best to use already established tags where people are likely to look mixed in with your own.

He would also have been better off if he used the maximum number of tags to connect with users of similar interests.

Swing by and give @swenger an upvote :)


Example: The Right Way

Check out this post from @planetmindbody

Let's see how he uses tags...

First off, he uses the maximum number of tags (5).

Second, he uses the correct #introduceyourself tag and places it first, making it the main category for the post.

Third, he uses a mix of well established tags like #introduceyourself and Bitcoin.

Lastly, all of his tags are relevant to his post and will help him connect with users who share his interests.

Conclusion

Remember, when tagging posts to use the following guidelines for the best result...

Tagging has a big impact on the success of your posts so take the time to do it right

Use the maximum number of tags

Use a mixture of well established tags and your own

Make sure all of your tags are relevant to your post

The first tag will be the main category of your post



I hope this will help you make the most of your posts!

Swing by and give @swenger and @planetmindbody an upvote

You might also find this post helpful

Now get out there and Steem!


 

If you want more Steemit tips and crypto news follow my blog @digicrypt.

DASH: XgQ9NBonMoCPKhF37agY4W8zk7gwQFnwGV

Litecoin: LfqygtBxy3AJgEpTnTMUYGEoTYEcED8YPZ


Sort:  

Thank you so much. I know this post is older but it was quick to the point about the tags and helped me get my intro post out. Upvoted gracias!

Thanks! Welcome to the Steemit community!

Me too! Thanks for the article.

Same here..
Kindly follow me back

I'm still learning, thanks for the info.

You are very welcome! Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the info! Let's see if we can make it work... :)

hi didgi...can i change the main cattegory of my first post that i already published?

Thank you so much for this. I'm a newbie and trying to get my head around Steemit. This has really helped me get started.

Thank you for using my post as an example. And so happy to be here on Steemit. :)

Glad to have you here

Welcome to the club! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

We think alike! Upvoted!
My analysis recently nailed the Bitcoin Cash bottom and surge, please check it out:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@haejin/bitcoin-cash-update-wow-a-great-call

Excelente información, estare traduciendo este post para mis compañeros de hablahispana si no hay problema :D

Thanks for the info! I googled this to find out how to add the tags. In the box where we type the tags, do we write introduceyourself or #introduceyourself?

introduceyourself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54