EXCITED FOR FIRST POST ON STEEMIT & THE JOURNEY GETTING HERE

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Learning about Steemit
SteemitDerekGilson.jpg

A few weeks ago my friend John and I were discussing Crypto Currency’s, we discussed how great the value of Steem has gone up in the last few months compared to other Alt Coins. John enthusiascally explained to me how much he loves the Steemit Community, He pointed out how with Steemit he can post good content and get paid for doing so unlike Facebook which is now saturated with marketing algorithms. Of course that’s where the light went off for me! I had to know more, however I wasn’t sure what I was going to post about and to be completely honest I was still confused about how the Steemit ecosystem worked. I figured since I'm going to attend a Crypto Currency event in a week in Acapulco, that’s where I would learn more.28468759_10156282179713278_2136902094123171840_o.jpg
(John & I at Cryptopulco in Acapulco, we both live in Winnipeg AKA Winterpeg so you can see why we are Extra Happy to be here with Palm Trees & Sun)

Excited To Start My Steemit Account and then...

You may have had the same experience as I did if you are new to Steemit this year. I created my new account on Steemit and immediately an email responder stating I would have my account active in less than a week. I became impatient and frustrated after 10 days of waiting to get my free account, I mentioned this challenge to John and he told me their system is backed up due to a high influx of new registrations. I assured myself there is no harm in waiting, in the meantime I focused my excitement on the upcoming Cryptopulco event.
28467916_10156282131018278_4469136848442097664_n.jpg
(Excited and then.....)

Cryptopulco In Acapulco:

Going to Cryptopulco was one of the best decisions I made this year. Not only did I learn about Steemit’s Ecosystem, I met some amazing people from all over the globe, expanded my views on money and FREEDOM, and most importantly, I was impressed with how much people at this event wanted to see Humanity prosper much more and much faster. I will post more about my experience from this event in my coming blogs and vlogs.
I had the great opportunity of hearing from stage speakers perspective on how to use steemit and how its changed people’s lives, there’s a few stories I tock from this event and look forward to sharing it here as well.
So here I am, Excited and ready to Steemit in Acapulco, however I decided to wait till I got back home to get on the actual platform and study my purpose before just posting random thoughts and ideas. I can see a bright future with Steemit and this is why after a week of looking into Steemit in depth, today I’m Pumped to make this my first Introductory Post. What’s really driving me is hearing the stories of how others have used this platform to help others in their community, this really resonates with who I am and why I do what I do.
Thanks to meeting new people and some leaders from the Steemit community. I found out there is an easier way to get started whiteout waiting in line. Of course I jumped on this right away.
28378159_10156282137183278_747172271956688896_o.jpg
(Kirill & I attending The Big Event with Photo Bombers in the background)

My Journey the past year

A year ago I had lunch with a friend and business colleague who shared crypto currency and the blockchain technology to me in depth for the first time. I remember leaving that lunch with a lot of information I didn’t quite understand right away, at the same time very excited about the possibilities Cryptocurrency and block Chain from the little I understood. I have spent the last year digging into videos, pod casts, books, whatever I can get my hands on, to get myself educated on the early adoption of the new Industry of Crypto Currency Assets & Block Chain Technology. The past year has brought my closest friends and I an increase in wealth and more importantly, an understanding of the times we are living in, its a fact that we are in the era of the greatest transfer of wealth in human history.
28576746_10156281999458278_8161291637473935360_o.jpg
(Flew out to Vancouver to mastermind with Dennis & Jesse, in this photo I've recently just made my first few purchases of Crypto Currency's)

Cheers

So this is it, the start to new beginnings, I look forward to meeting more Steemarians and thank you to all who are welcoming me to this community. Here’s a little fun fact about me: I love living on the edge, that’s why I love to sky dive & I can’t keep a job, thats why I have been an Entrepreneur for most of my life. I am married and share my life with my best friend who I call my Zambian Queen. We are expecting our first child anytime in March and I can’t wait to introduce you to them, more to come and thank you again for reading my post. looking forward to growing with this community.!
28279258_10156282130953278_4905358826812735488_n.jpg
(Cheers Steemarians)

28279936_10156282134673278_3595343060789100544_o.jpg
(Thank you again for reading my post & I look forward to growing with this community)

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit! You are gonna like it really soon :D

I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thank you & Yes I've been following Ned Scott the CEO of Steemit and I'm very impressed with his team and the vision they have :)

Good to see more people join the community. Thanks for the thorough story and pictures. Makes for a much better read that way. Enjoy your time here!

Thank you @dimitri0610 this platform is great :)


Welcome to Steem @derekgilson.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you for the welcome and the tips @steemladder

Great to see you here! Keep it up and your account will easily make the rounds! ;)

Thank you Josh, Enjoyed getting to know you more on our flight back from Acapulco, Let's keep on Steeming and see you at one of the next events

Sounds good man! Cheers!

Welcome to steemit Derek! Great introduction. Think you have landed right at home. Looking forward to getting to know you better. How exciting you have a little one set to arrive soon 🐒 i lived a lot more on the edge before having children.i wonder if it will also settle you down some!!? ...guess time will tell. 😊

Thank You @yogajill 🙂 much appreciated. I’m sure having a child soon will cause me to think more cautiously, however There’s already plans in the works for multiple Sky Dives in a few months 😃

LOL 🐒😄

welcome to this community ...hopefully you can reach what you want on this community ...

Thank you @lopezdacruz, I've been inspired by this community already and look forward to sharing what others are doing here to help others

I feel a lot of your posts, the post is that

Welcome to Steemit!

Winterpeg lol Love it. I'm in Edmonton myself by way of Toronto but don't let that scare ya...Torontonians aren't THAT bad.

And yup, completely agree with you....The palm trees and sun are needed for us northern folk!

Welcome to the platform, this place is amazing!

Thanks for the welcome @jongolson, we have lived in Toronto however we came back to Winnipeg for the relationships however we love to Travel. The platform is amazing and I've been following Ned the CEO of Steemit, they have so much more launching this year!! Exciting Times :)

Absolutely. 2018 is going to be amazing. Huge things ahead and hopefully that translates into less time in the tundra during winter lol

Welcome @derekgilson! You were fortunate to have a friend to have pulled you soo far down the crypto rabbit hole before even owning a token! Wow.

My intro into crypto had a little more kicking and screaming involved. 😎

Thank you for the welcome 🙏 @novacadian
Always grateful to my friend for introducing The Crypto Universe to me, this rabbit hole has no ending 👌& full of prosperity if the right hands and minds push it forward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77