The Art of Voting on Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

SteemStream

Thanks to @roelandp and his post showing off his wonderful work on SteemStream.com, I've been able to keep an eye on the site's activity here and there.  Seeing votes from different users come in with bot-like tendencies, I chuckled and thought that's not how you vote.  Then I felt an uneasiness. Do I really even know how to best vote on Steemit?

Currently

@steemship's post, How to Vote Smart and Profit From Steemit’s New Reverse Auction Voting Rewards (Just Implemented!), does a fantastic job running through where we stand today with curation rewards and voting.  This may have been lost on many of the newcomers, as I was one of them.  (Thank you @steemship for all of your efforts on the site!)

The Future

This is a complex issue for the team to continue to flush out, by aligning incentives in just the right way so that quality begets quality.  My guess is that the curation rewards system a year from now will look completely different than the one we use today, along with many other updates to the platform, of course.

Steemit is about supporting good content, no matter what.  If you like it, upvote it and smile as you just enjoyed something cool.  Sure there's money to be made by voting completely strategically, particularly if you hold a lot of Steem Power, but I think it would be best for the platform in the long run if we vote with our hearts first and our wallets second.

Steem on!
 

Sort:  

Nice post!
I tried to explain this as well a couple of times showing a screenshot of how it effected my voting power..

https://steemit.com/money/@stealthtrader/don-t-waste-your-steem-power-like-i-did
https://steemit.com/money/@stealthtrader/earning-money-for-voting-early-steem-power

Nice link! The funny thing is that this post is only upvoted by people with small voting power (0,25$ - 33 votes). We need to get better, guys!

I think your prediction is right. WAIT. I HOPE your prediction is right. We really need to de-incentivize the bots and the auto upvotes hoping to strike gold and make people actually...well..work? great post.

Thanks! I think bots can have a role to play on the site, perhaps they can be blacklisted from earning from voting or handicapped in how much they earn while still contributing useful bot activity. Things like bot remind me of my steem price predicion in 1 year will be very useful on the site.

Im also really curious what steemit is going to do long term, but i think it will benefit the content massively

The entire community, especially the leaders @dantheman and @ned, give me so much faith in this project, that I am convinced curation rewards will be tweaked until the process provides the site with as much value as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44