Don't waste your STEEM POWER like I did..

in #money8 years ago (edited)

I'm sure as some of you may know if you click on any steemit.com website and change the "steemit" part to steemd.com you can see more information. So like mine is steemd.com/@stealthtrader as you can see below.

If you want to see how much STEEM POWER you have look at your Voting Power.

Now as you can see I am only at 50% voting power.. and you want to be around 100% so your upvotes have the most influence and reward.. (Which regenerates every 36 minutes I believe you can read more details on A Bit About Steemit by @teamsteem here https://steemit.com/steemit/@teamsteem/a-bit-about-steemit)

The big mistake I made as a newbie was just liking everything on the new page hoping to hit a winner, but after 2 days I saw nothing and wondered why. If you read the full post above by TeamSteem you'll see in full detail on how to maximize your curation rewards.

So I had liked so many posts that I had absolutely NO STEEM POWER and was earning nothing.. and now another 2 days later I still am waiting on my Voting Power to get back up and I'm having to choose my upvotes VERY carefully until it gets back to 100%

But on a better note as I started to respect the site, and actually getting to know the real people on here I realized this isn't some hit and run site.. Steemit's a family here and as long as you get people's backs they will support you as well.. So reach out and get to know other people and forget about the money and you'll start getting more money than you expected from stuff like random likes on comments or even people sending you some :D

Sort:  

I read somewhere that you want to try to keep it up above 80% then allow it to regenerate and then continue upvoting. Doing this would be better than voting down to 50% power then waiting. Basically while you are at a higher %, the regeneration time is also faster allowing you to hit 100% faster. I'll post again if I can find it.

Found it, its called intermittent voting. A graph is shown highlighting the differences of voting to 0% vs voting to 80%. Please refer to this:
https://steemit.com/help/@r4fken/steemit-basics-how-long-does-it-take-for-voting-power-to-reach-100-again

100% might not be the best strategy. You might want to spread some of your voting power.

What would you consider a good % to stay above :D

Really hard to say. I always wonder. If I look at @wang I would say 50%. And he has a bot voting for him. He plays the number. Lets say you vote at 100% each time so you wait 36m in between each vote and by chance you make the best possible upvote every time you have the best reward but reality is you,re going to have some miss. Better to cast let's say 4 votes. You end up 2 good one 2 bad one then it's the average that count and the chance are more in your favor that way. The more people will use their voting power the more the good post will tend to have close to the same payout.

To have a better strategy go back through all your curation reward. Look at the 3-4 most paying one. Then study in what rank came your vote. That's mostly what will determine your curation reward and also you won't make money on curation unless you have a lot of SP. You shouldn't even bother much. Try to upvote great content with only 1-2 vote. But even then you would be better writing than curating.

https://steemd.com/steemit/@teamsteem/the-ultimate-guide-to-steemit

On this page, click on advanced mode right next to the post’s title. Scroll down. Under the first white rectangle is written, vote detail. Click on it. Displayed are everyone who voted for you, in the order they voted. Rshares are related to the voter’s Steem Power they hold and their voting power which is explain above. Weight % is the % of the total reward each voters will be getting. You can only see it if no payout for this post haven’t been made yet. You can find the authors % of curation reward on the last line of the white rectangle. The line’s called author curate reward.

Very helpful thank you!
Sorry just saw this btw :/

Thank you! Great for my understanding what matters the most for our community. Creating great content is always the way anyone should think because that makes steemit sustainable for the long run. To create value one must do something valuable for the community, upvoting great content independend if someone is a minnow or whale is important but always create something new and unique. My rule of thumb is 20-30 votes per day as recommended by dev. If you look at my voting power then you can see what happens if you massively vote. I'd done that as experiment and see now how it slowly regenerates which makes no sense. Above 50% it should much better for regeneration i think because it's not linear regeneration.

Omg I'm at 56%... what have I done?!?

I had no idea voting power even existed so this is a great informational post on your part! I am over 99%. I think it is great that spam voters are punished. You are correct, you have to respect the site! For those interested my latest post is here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@bitcoinmeister/video-from-january-where-i-recommend-that-twitter-incorporate-a-cryptocurrency-system-into-their-platform-and-where-i-describe

Right on brotha add it into your videos if ya need to.. Maybe you can be the SteemMeister in your YouTube videos too !

what is a witness account?

@TeamSteem may be able to answer that.. I haven't been able to find anything on it :/

Use the search function! There's lot of great article about witnesses. I might do one in a couple of days.

Thanks. Your post gives me more perspective. An upvote well deserved!

How do you get more than 5 tags?

There used to be more tags possible back in 2016, but they changed it a while back.

Wow!! I'm glad I ran across you're post. I've been upvoting everything I read or watch. I thought it was the 'polite' thing to do. lol Thanks for the informative article. I've only been here 2 days, so I only feel a little stupid. ;-)

Very good post, very helpful :) thanks

trying to figure out why I upvoted my newest post with 100% upvote this morning and I got nothing. before my upvote was worth about .05 but I got a nice upvote payout from curation rewards so I figured I would see an increase but infact it gave me nothing at all. is this a glitch or am I missing something?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33