Sunday Musings: Does Steemit have Kids Running with Scissors? No, WHALES running with FLAGS!

in #steemit7 years ago

Seems it's part and parcel of any community that there are going to be disputes and arguments from time to time. After all, we each bring to the table our own impressions and experiences -- call them opinions, ambitions, or our inner moral compass, or our sense of right and wrong, or whatever.

I guess that's probably just called "Growing Pains."

Leaves
Fall leaves

Steemit's Growing Pains

I have mostly remained an observer during the recent "Flag Wars" or whatever you want to call it.

After all, I'm pretty much a newbie to Steemit-- perhaps one step above "protoplankton," to use the popular ocean metaphors of Steem World. That said, I was inspired in part by a post by @dan-atstarlite which suggested the strongest asset of the community is our opinion, provided we also assume we are wrong... AND the fact that I suddenly found myself an actual participant in the "festivities" when one of my own posts was downvoted for being overvalued, I feel compelled to share a few words.

Let me say up front that I harbor absolutely no ill will towards @smooth for downvoting my post the other day... it wasn't all that brilliant, anyway. Had it been "War & Peace" I would possibly have pitched a fit. But it wasn't.

It's easy to get all caught up in our own stories... but the fact that some of the Whales think it is necessary to downvote content they see as overvalued isn't even about them, it suggests that the system isn't really working.

Or does it? 

Cactus
A Thorny Subject?

Is Steemit "Broken?"

What does "working" even mean, in this context?

Which leads me to the broader question of what exactly it is we want Steemit to be? And to become? If there's no real consensus on what this place is trying to be, then it's all but impossible to tell whether or not things are "working." 

I briefly entertained the idea of a "community wide writing exercise" in which everybody would get to sit down and think about-- at length-- and then write about what Steemit truly IS and MEANS, in their mind, followed by their impression of how we build a lasting community... and everybody tags their story with the same tag. 

My point being, we'd get a huge range of responses... developers, bloggers, artists, blockchainiacs would all have very distinct opinions.

Here's another thing: This current "flag war" (or whatever you want to call it) with "Whales" disagreeing about the best path forward, is not a new thing!

Butterfly
The blue butterfly of happiness?

Let's Travel Back, Waaaaay Back...

Please humor me, as I dial back the clock to 1999... when I became part of a fledgling project named "Epinions." What was unique (at the time) about it was that it was built around user generated content (product reviews), used "peer curation" to sort content in such a way that the "best" would be featured, and the "worst" would sink into oblivion. Oh... and the whole project was centered around the fact that contributors were rewarded (in cash) for their contributions to the community, through a system of revenue sharing.

Furthermore, in the earliest going, contributors actually got paid THIRTY CENTS per page view, if you can imagine! And, of course, there were a few of the very earliest web savvy members who ended up getting paid $6,000, $8,000 even $10,000+ per month for "writing reviews on the Internet."

"Oh. My. God! They are SO overpaid!" went the argument.

Sound vaguely familiar?

Flower
White flower growing in the desert

97% Death Rate: A Legacy of Failures

According to the old archive files on my writing backup drive (because I never throw anything away!), it seems that I have been part of approximately SIXTY web projects that started as "great ideas" with the common theme of being community content driven, often peer curated and involved some form of rewards or revenue sharing. Of those sixty, all but two screwed the pooch in one way or another. 

And these weren't just "Bob With A Server In His Garage" projects, but big time companies with tens of millions in venture funding, Wall Street backing and interviews on prime time TV. 

Keep in mind this doesn't even include the ones I looked at and went "This is obviously bogus!" on first sight.

Superficially, they all failed for any number of reasons from outdated interfaces, to security problems, to dodgy business models, to ill-conceived upgrades, to member attrition, to simply running out of money, to outright fraud and beyond.

Chair
Don't just SIT there!

Humans are a Bunch of Greedy Pigs!

The one thing they ALL had in common on a deeper level was the gross underestimate of the sheer destructive power of human greed when there's a reward involved

Please read that sentence again and commit it to memory! 

Regardless of which side of the Whale Wars you may be on, or supporting, the above is possibly the most important thing to keep in mind at all times.

Now, what makes Steemit unique is that it's blockchain based. And instead of a central company being "owner," we're all stakeholders, in a sense. Decentralization. 

That's nice.

Decentralization does not exempt us from dealing with the selfish sides of human nature. Human nature does NOT run on the blockchain... so we actually do know what we're dealing with, there, at least in a limited sense.

And we do have to deal with human nature, because here's the rub:

Even though there's much talk of bots, and voting bots, and algorithms, and hardforks and code, bottom line is that communities are created and built by people, not by tech. Bots don't "read" posts, they don't "agree" or "disagree" with them, they don't "like" them, and they can't tell if a post has that je ne sais qois that separates the brilliant from the mediocre.

So NOW What?

Before we can deploy tech to fix our troubles, we first have to identify the issues at a core human level. And if we don't do that, there won't be a long term Steemit... at least not as a vibrant and thriving social community that has a life of its own that endures beyond startup excitement.

From where I am sitting, that has to start with focusing on what it takes-- in human terms-- to build a community... and then worrying about how to deploy the tech in support of that. I know the Whales of Steemit-- in spite of their differences-- probably don't want the whole thing to go down the tubes, including their stakes. But that's going to require serious examination of our own motives (for everyone)... not just reactive and occasionally arbitrary retributions and playing tit-for-tat with barbs and flags.

For ALL of us. Not just for the person getting flagged.

And that would be a shame...

Sort:  

I'll tell you what it has done to my Steemit productivity. I absolutely refuse to spend over a certain amount of effort on any one single thing. If it takes too long, I cut it off, and save it for the next, better platform. This lowers the quality of my posts, but it doesn't matter, because I would only get flagged anyway, and the people who follow me are smart enough to take the subject and do their own research. I don't think I'm the only one affected this way. It definitely makes me want to come here less.

The inevitable slide towards mediocrity and the lower common denominator? Sad, that... but it seems we increasingly live in a world with the attention span of a gnat, which in turn seems to mean a reduced capacity to interface with "quality," in general... be that in a venue like Steemit, or in the greater world.

For now, I will continue to simply contribute content as would anywhere ("doing my best") and if that turns out to be a road to nowhere, I'll just pull up stakes and move elsewhere. As I said in the post, this "type" of gig is a road littered with destruction and failed dreams.

It reminds me of a Robert Heinlein quote, "They didn't want it good, they wanted it Wednesday." It's not exactly the same thing, but close.

True enough. I'm still "bullish" on the community, but a little more cautious. It's hard to build a great house on a rotten foundation, metaphorically speaking.

Commited to memory:

The one thing they ALL had in common on a deeper level was the gross underestimate of the sheer destructive power of human greed when there's a reward involve

I don't think that a dozen people yelling at each other and another dozen breaking off into their various for/against factions is destruction in any way. It all benefits the site.

Maybe we should have a flag war every week. Or every day! Or maybe we could CONSTANTLY BATTLE EACH OTHER for rewards 24/7!

We should build a site just for that, where everyone is constantly AT WAR with everyone else over rewards ALL THE TIME!

Oh, wait.

You know you are absolutely right. There is a part of me that laughs when I see posts saying chaos, war, the end of steemit, bad for the platform if you look at the rest of the posts in the new category you don't see much sign of this war. It really is a dozen or so accounts talking about it.

I think a weekly war we can all get behind would be just the ticket... Win at war!!!!

"Welcome to FlagWars.com! The more inappropriately you flag, and the more people you alienate, the higher your rewards! As a special bonus, we might change the parameters in mid-stream and reset your rewards to ZERO! Have fun!" Reminds me of that pretty successful restaurant in Florida where people flock to be insulted by the outstandingly rude wait staff....

The code or what text says you "can" do needs to be related to the affect it has on the community of actual people who make up the platform the code is there for.

The code can change according to the betterment of the community. Ignoring the issues in the community while simply following the tech because the tech says "you can" is not going to create a lasting platform as it ignores the community of real people and focuses on what the tech says is "allowed". What is allowed is to be determined by people/community that can change the tech rules to better serve the community rather than harm it. The tech isn't immutable from change.

The community can recognize something is wrong and needs to change. The few powerful stakeholders alone can't decide to use tech/code/functions regardless of how it affects the community of larger users. If that's how things were run, then Steemit, Inc could take their steemit account and do anything they wanted, change any code without care for how it affected the community. But that's not how things are run for Steemit Inc, and they shouldn't be for how stakeholders think they can just do whatever they want either just because "its in the code" or "it says it in the text here".

Maybe my perception of the world is naive, but I always tended to believe that technology was something created to serve us (humanity) to help better the whole... and yet, it often feels like humans are ending up serving technology, instead.

It all gets back to examining and determining our purpose; the truth of what we want. When I found Steemit, my hope was that there could be some kind of synergy here... a venue for people to contribute, where their contributions allowed not only for their own growth and benefit, but for the greater benefit of building a community, to the benefit of the community... and by extension, participating in a greater betterment of the world, as a whole. Recent events make me wonder how capable people are of seeing beyond their own personal stories.

Thanks for your comment!

"Greed has driven the world crazy and I think I'm lucky I have a place on Steemit I can call home. We'll have to see how long that lasts.
giphy.gif

Greed... the "haves" who already have enough to support 100 insisting that they need "more" as the expense of those who are a whisker from having to live in a cardboard box...

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy contributing to Steemit and plan to continue for the time being. We'll see where (and if) the dust settles.

I totaly understand that. I've seen what it did with my family. Living in a cardboard box is a lot better than living with the greeding and the powerful.
102986-o.jpg

I started to write a comment here @denmarkguy and it got so lengthy I thought maybe I might be better to create a post. I hope you don't mind me plugging it here

Dang I missed this post early yesterday. It is a good one too. Resteemed, sorry I didn't see it sooner.

@dwinblood, thanks for stopping by, and for the resteem. No worries, by the way... after writing this, I realized that I also have my own metric for evaluating posts... to do more with the actual number of eyes that see it, and the interaction with the content, in the form of comments. Sure, it's nice to get a few cents here and there... but as much as anything, I just like taking out my brain and playing with it.

Me too. I am the same way, but if something is truly good I like to get it out in front of as many people as I can as early as I can. Just looking at articles they don't seem to get much love after the first day. It still happens, just not that often.

So the fact it said your post was 18 hours old I was a bit bummed I missed it yesterday.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82